Zaborg the Thunder Monarch


Thunder / Effect  LIGHT / 5
If this card is Tribute Summoned: Target 1 monster on the field; destroy that target.
2400/1000 
CARD ID: 51945556
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Zaborg the Thunder Monarch

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Ancient Sanctuary AST-023 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN132 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN132 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Revelation Volume 2 DR2-EN135 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 2010 participation cards DL09-EN009 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Emperor of Darkness Structure Deck SR01-EN005 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series 2009 GLD2-EN006 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Tournament Pack 8 TP8-EN006 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artwork of Lightning Crash, Icy Crevasse, Fake Explosion, March of the Monarchs, Domain of the True Monarchs and Tribute Carnival.
Each Attribute has one Monarch - Barring Mega Monarchs. The only exceptions are LIGHT and DARK, with 3 Monarchs each (LIGHT Monarchs being this card, Kuraz the Light Monarch and Ehther the Heavenly Monarch, and DARK Monarchs being Caius the Shadow Monarch, Delg the Dark Monarch and Erebus the Underworld Monarch).
This monster resembles Thunder Knight, with which it shares some visual elements and its Type/Attribute combination. Thunder Knight even appears together with Zaborg on the art of Fake Explosion and was introduced as part of a Zaborg-themed Deck in the anime.
This monster has an upgraded form in Zaborg the Mega Monarch.
In addition, this monster bares a strong resemblance to the Match winner monster Emperor of Lightning, which might be considered an unofficial upgrade or retrained counterpart.
This card has a Vassal counterpart: Mithra the Thunder Vassal.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



If "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch" is Tribute Summoned by the effect of "Ultimate Offering" in the middle of a chain, then you will still activate "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch"s effect. This is because the effect is not optional and you cannot "miss the timing

Previously Official Rulings


You have to
destroy 1 monster. If there are no other monsters then you have to destroy "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch".

"Zaborg the Thunder Monarch's" effect targets.

If you target "Chaos Command Magician" with "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch"s effect, the effect is negated.

If you Tribute Set "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch" the effect is not activated.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Light and Darkness Dragon: When a monster is Summoned that has an effect that activates at the time the monster is successfully Summoned (“Zaborg the Thunder Monarch”, “Breaker the Magical Warrior”, etc.) while “Light and Darkness Dragon” is face-up on the field, the effect of the Summoned monster will be Chain Link 1 and “Light and Darkness Dragon” will be Chain Link 2. Because of this, it is not possible to use “Pulling the Rug” to negate the effect of the monster if it was Normal Summoned.

Mausoleum of the Emperor: A monster Normal Summoned with the effect of "Mausoleum of the Emperor" is NOT Tribute Summoned. So if you pay 1000 Life Points and Normal Summon "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch", its effect will not activate.

Judge List Rulings

Monarch's" effects activate at the time they are successfully Tribute Summoned. Their effects are Spell Speed 1. If the opponent wants to activate a card like "Bottomless Trap Hole", it will be placed onto the Chain with the "Monarch's" effect. But "Monarchs" don't need to remain on the field to resolve their effects, so destroying them with "Bottomless Trap Hole" will not negate their effect.: Bottomless Trap Hole Vs. Monarchs