Vanity's Fiend

Fiend / Effect  DARK / 6
Cannot be Special Summoned. Neither player can Special Summon monsters.
CARD ID: 47084486
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Vanitys Fiend


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Astral Pack Six AP06-EN018 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge BLLR-EN047 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Champion Pack: Game Seven CP07-EN009 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Cyberdark Impact CDIP-EN017 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Cyberdark Impact CDIP-EN017 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duel Devastator DUDE-EN034 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
OTS Tournament Pack 1 OP01-EN002 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Lair of Darkness SR06-EN010 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card has two counterparts: Vanity's Ruler (this is supported by their names and the fact that each monster has the other's roses underneath their robes) and Majesty's Fiend.
This monster appears in the artworks of Vanity's Emptiness and Sinister Yorishiro.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Infernity Reflector: You can activate "Infernity Reflector" even if "Des Wombat" or "Prime Material Dragon" is face-up on the field. You cannot activate it if "Vanity's Fiend" is face-up on the field.

Mysterious Triangle: If “Vanity’s Fiend” is preventing Special Summons, and it has an A-Counter, you can destroy it with “Mysterious Triangle” then Special Summon an Alien.

Starlight Road: You can activate “Starlight Road” even if you cannot Special Summon due to the effect of “Vanity's Fiend.”

Trap Eater: If “Vanity’s Fiend” or “Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo” are on the field, but “Skill Drain” is preventing their effects from blocking Special Summons, you can Summon “Trap Eater” even by sending “Skill Drain” to the Graveyard.

OCG Rulings

Versus Specific Cards

Black Garden: If "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field, the effect of "Black Garden" will still activate when a monster is Summoned. No "Rose Token" will be Special Summoned, but the monster's ATK still will be halved.: Will the effect of "Black Garden" activate when you cannot Special Summon a "Rose Token" because of the effect of "Vanity's Fiend"?

Black Garden: "Black Garden"s effect to Special Summon a monster from the Graveyard cannot be activated if "Scapegoat" was previously activated, or if "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field. If you activate this effect of "Black Garden" and "Call of the Haunted" is chained to Special Summon "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo", then all Plant-Type monsters are destroyed, but no monster is Special Summoned.: When the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is active, can you activate the effect of "Black Garden" which destroys monsters and Special Summons a monster from your Graveyard?

Chimeratech Fortress Dragon: If "DNA Surgery" turns "Vanity's Fiend" into a Machine, you still cannot Special Summon, so you cannot send "Vanity's Fiend" to the Graveyard to Special Summon "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon".: Can "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon" be Special Summoned by sending "Vanity's Fiend" which is a Machine-Type Monster to the Graveyard?

Majestic Star Dragon: The effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" which returns it to the Extra Deck during the End Phase and Special Summons "Stardust Dragon" is mandatory, so it will activate even if "Vanity's Fiend" or "Jowgen the Spiritualist" are face-up on the field. In this case, "Majestic Star Dragon" will return itself to the Extra Deck, but "Stardust Dragon" will not be Special Summoned.: Will the effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" activate during the End Phase even if "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field?

Monster Gate: If "Vanity's Fiend" or "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" is on the field, then "Reasoning" and "Monster Gate" cannot be activated.: Can "Reasoning" be activated when the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is being applied?

Reasoning: "See above; listed under "Monster Gate"."

Starlight Road: "Starlight Road" may be activated even if a card like "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field, or if there is no "Stardust Dragon" in your Extra Deck. The effect of "Starlight Roadfrom the Graveyard the "Stardust Dragon" which was Tributed to activate its effect.: Can you activate "Starlight Road" while "Vanity's Fiend" is preventing you from Special Summoning?

Starlight Road: "Royal Oppression" may negate the effect of "Starlight Road", even though it is unknown at activation whether or not "Starlight Road" will Special Summon "Stardust Dragon". "Royal Oppression" may negate the effect of "Starlight Road" even if "Stardust Dragon" may not be Special Summoned, such as if "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field or if there is no "Stardust Dragon" in the Extra Deck.: Can "Royal Oppression" be Chained to "Starlight Road"?

Transforming Sphere: If "Transforming Sphere" is equipped with a monster like "Vanity's Fiend" or with a Special Summon Monster like "Dark Armed Dragon" that cannot be Special Summoned, then during the End Phase the effect to Special Summon the equipped monster to your opponent's field still activates. However, the monster cannot be Special Summoned, so it is sent to the Graveyard. Similarly, if you cannot Special Summon during the End Phase - for example, if the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is active, or if you activated "Scapegoat" during this turn - then the effect of "Transforming Sphere" still activates during the End Phase, but the equipped monster is sent to the Graveyard since it cannot be Special Summoned.: What happens if "Transforming Sphere" cannot Special Summon the equipped monster during the End Phase?

Trap Eater: If a card like "Vanity's Fiend" or "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" has its effect negated by "Skill Drain", then you still can send "Skill Drain" to the Graveyard to Special Summon "Trap Eater

Previously Official Rulings

Cards like "
Scapegoat" and "Premature Burial" cannot be activated while "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field.

Effects like "Cobra Jar" will still activate and start a chain, but you cannot Special Summon any monster from the effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Black Garden: If "Vanity's Fiend" is face-up on the field when a monster is Normal Summoned "Black Garden's" first effect still activates. The Normal Summoned monster's ATK is halved, but the "Rose Token" is not Special Summoned.