Tyrant Dragon


Dragon / Effect  FIRE / 8
During your Battle Phase, if your opponent controls a monster after this card's first attack, this card can make a second attack. Negate any Trap effects that target this card on the field, and if you do, destroy that Trap. This card cannot be Special Summoned from the GY, unless you Tribute 1 Dragon monster.
2900/2500 
CARD ID: 94568601
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Tyrant Dragon

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN151 Ultra Rare5.89€1.79€4.24€
Legacy of Darkness LOD-034 Ultra Rare6.99€17.96€13.70€
Legacy of Darkness LOD-EN034 Ultra Rare6.99€17.96€13.70€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN149 Common0.39€1.47€0.96€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN056 Super Rare1.14€4.75€3.32€
Rise of the Dragon Lords Structure Deck SDRL-EN009 Common0.02€0.24€0.28€
Speed Duel Starter Decks: Duelists of Tomorrow SS02-ENA07 Common0.03€0.32€0.33€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of:
A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon
Card Advance
Castle of Dragon Souls
Dragon's Gunfire
Overwhelm
Stamping Destruction
The Dragon's Bead
Asymmetaphys
Here it is transforming into Metaphys Tyrant Dragon
The jewel on its forehead protects it from Trap Cards, as shown in The Dragon's Bead.
This card bears a heavy resemblance to Dragon Tyrant from Magic: the Gathering.
This card is probably based off of old European dragons. Old English folklore says that these dragons are nothing but pure evil, destroying everything in sight with their breath of fire.

Rulings

Other=Dungeon Dice Monsters


OCG Rulings



After performing the first attack, if your opponent controls another monster, then this card can attack a second time.: Tyrant Dragon

The effect that negates the effect of Trap Cards is a Continuous Effect.

The effect that negates the effect of Trap Cards negates the effect of a Trap Card when it resolves.

When "Tyrant Dragon" or "Fiend Skull Dragon" etc. attacks, "Negate Attack" can be activated. However, "Negate Attack" targets, so when it resolves its effect will be negated and it will be destroyed.: When "Tyrant Dragon" or "Fiend Skull Dragon" etc. declares an attack, can "Negate Attack" be activated?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Double Snare: A face-up "The Dragon's Bead", "Tyrant Dragon", "Fiend Skull Dragon", "Jinzo", "Royal Decree", "Sorcerer of Dark Magic", etc. can be destroyed by the effect of "Double Snare". Also, "Ryu Senshi" can be targeted by the effect of "Double Snare". However, "Double Snare" will be negated by the effect of "Ryu Senshi" that negates the effects of Spell Cards. Furthermore, "Double Snare" can only destroy face-up cards.: Please explain which cards can be affected by the effect of "Double Snare"?

Double Snare: While equipped to "Relinquished"/"Sword Hunter"/etc., "Jinzo"/"Tyrant Dragon"/"Sorcerer of Dark Magic"/etc. do not have an effect to negate Trap Cards, so they cannot be destroyed by "Double Snare".: Can "Double Snare" destroy "Jinzo" etc. that is equipped to "Relinquished", "Sword Hunter

Previously Official Rulings


The first sentence of this card’s text means that after you complete an attack with "
Tyrant Dragon", if there is still a monster on the opponent’s side of the field, "Tyrant Dragon" can immediately attack again. You cannot attack with another monster in between, and then attack a second time with "Tyrant Dragon." If there are no monsters on your opponent’s side of the field after "Tyrant Dragon"’s first attack, "Tyrant Dragon" does not gain a second attack.

"Tyrant Dragon" cannot attack more than twice, even if there is another monster remaining on your opponent’s side of the field after the second attack.

"Tyrant Dragon's" first attack does not have to be the first attack of the Battle Phase. You may attack with another monster, then with "Tyrant Dragon", then again with "Tyrant Dragon" -- if the opponent still controls a monster.

The opponent may activate Trap Cards that target "Tyrant Dragon", but their effects will be negated and the cards destroyed.

When you Summon "Tyrant Dragon", the opponent can activate "Torrential Tribute" or "Bottomless Trap Hole" and destroy "Tyrant Dragon" because neither of these Trap Cards target. (However, "Trap Hole" does target and its effect will disappear if activated.)

When you attack with "Tyrant Dragon" the opponent can activate "Mirror Force" and all your Attack Position monsters, including "Tyrant Dragon", will be destroyed. This is because "Mirror Force" does not target.

You may activate "Last Turn" and select your "Tyrant Dragon" as the monster to keep, because "Last Turn" does not target.

When you Summon "Tyrant Dragon" the opponent can activate "Solemn Judgment" or "Horn of Heaven" to negate the Summon.

You can activate "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Tyrant Dragon". After it resolves, "Call of the Haunted" will be destroyed and "Tyrant Dragon" will remain on the field. You must still Tribute a Dragon-Type monster to perform this Special Summon, in accordance with the text of "Tyrant Dragon".

If you activate "Monster Reborn" to Special Summon your opponent’s "Tyrant Dragon" in your opponent’s Graveyard, you must still Tribute a Dragon-Type monster from your side of the field. If you do not control a Dragon-Type monster, you cannot select "Tyrant Dragon" as a target for "Monster Reborn".

You Tribute a Dragon-Type monster when the effect that Special Summons "Tyrant Dragon" resolves, not when it activates. So if you activate "Monster Reborn" and target "Tyrant Dragon" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" and negates "Monster Reborn" you do not Tribute a Dragon-Type monster. Likewise, if you control 1 Dragon-Type monster on the field, and activate "Monster Reborn", and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy your only Dragon-Type monster, you are unable to Tribute a Dragon-Type monster when "Monster Reborn" resolves and its effect disappears.

You may Tribute a face-down Dragon-Type monster when you Special Summon "Tyrant Dragon".

Even if "Tyrant Dragon" was destroyed by "Dark Balter the Terrible" or some other monster that negated the effect of "Tyrant Dragon", you must still Tribute a Dragon-Type monster if you Special Summon it because this is a condition, not an effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Double Snare: You can destroy "Tyrant Dragon" with this card's effect.

Last Turn: "Last Turn" does not target so you can select monsters like "Tyrant Dragon" and "Fiend Skull Dragon" for its effect

Question: If you would Special Summon "Tyrant Dragon" from the Graveyard using "Question", you must Tribute 1 Dragon and if you cannot you cannot Special Summon "Tyrant Dragon" and the effect of "Question" disappears.

Shooting Star Bow - Ceal: "Tyrant Dragon" must attack a monster in order to gain its second attack, so if it is equipped with "Shooting Star Bow - Ceal" and attacks directly, it cannot get a second attack. But "Tyrant Dragon" equipped with "Shooting Star Bow - Ceal" can attack a monster, and then attack directly.

The Unhappy Girl: If "Tyrant Dragon"attacks "The Unhappy Girl" in Attack Position, they cannot attack again that turn.

Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce: If a monster that normally attacks twice like "Tyrant Dragon" is equipped with "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce", it doesn't get a third attack.