Treeborn Frog


Aqua / Effect  WATER / 1
Once per turn, during your Standby Phase, if this card is in your Graveyard and you do not control "Treeborn Frog": You can Special Summon this card. You must control no Spell/Trap Cards to activate and to resolve this effect.
100/100 
CARD ID: 12538374
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Treeborn Frog

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN012 Rare0.10€-,--€0.35€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN012 Starfoil Rare0.25€0.42€0.37€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN043 Common0.05€0.32€0.28€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN043 Mosaic Rare0.25€0.44€0.60€
Champion Pack: Game Four CP04-EN020 Common0.17€0.54€0.51€
Dark Revelation Volume 4 DR04-EN145 Ultra Rare13.98€-,--€12.10€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN058 Ultra Rare0.15€0.32€0.28€
Gold Series 2009 GLD2-EN010 Common0.02€0.38€0.32€
Shadow of Infinity SOI-EN025 Rare0.02€0.22€0.21€
Shadow of Infinity SOI-EN025 Ultimate Rare3.99€4.94€4.43€

Card Trivia

 Treeborn Frog is the only Frog card that has been Limited. It was Semi-Limited as of the March 2010 List, and is now Unlimited as of the September 2010 List.
The Japanese name is a pun on 蘇る yomigaeru (to come back to life) and 黄泉 yomi (the world of the dead).
The English name is also a pun. Treeborn sounds similar to reborn, which is what the card does (it gets reborn from the grave).
The Spanish name (based on the English one) missed completely the pun, becoming Tree-Dwelling Frog.
The bandage under the chin of Treeborn Frog possibly implied it was caught on a fishing hook, hence why it is now deceased.
This monster appears in Froggy Forcefield and D.3.S. Frog.
This card has a weaker version in Samsara Lotus.
The Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME:  document,  document, and  document each did not add Treeborn Frog until May 9, 2017; however, the respective French, Italian, and Spanish lores they provide are adapted from the Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants lore in those languages rather than their then-most recent lores from Duelist Saga (released March 30, 2017).

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Armed Sea Hunter: The effect of “Armed Sea Hunter” to negate effects is continuously applied. If it destroys a monster like “Treeborn Frog,” the effect of “Treeborn Frog” that activates in the Graveyard will be negated.


OCG Rulings



If "Dark Ruler Ha Des" is on the field when a monster that has an effect that activates from the Graveyard like "Witch of the Black Forest", "Cockroach Knight", "Treeborn Frog" or "Sinister Serpent" is destroyed by a Fiend-Type monster, then their effects will be negated. Also, even if "Dark Ruler Ha Des" is destroyed, the effect of cards like "Sinister Serpent" will remain negated.: Can "Dark Ruler Ha Des" negate the effect of a card which activates in the Graveyard?

When a monster's effects are negated by "Armed Sea Hunter", its effects remain negated even after damage calculation. When "Armed Sea Hunter" destroys "Treeborn Frog" by battle, the effect of "Treeborn Frog" will be negated and it cannot Special Summon itself during the Standby Phase.: The negation effect of "Armed Sea Hunter" is applied for how long?

If you have multiple copies of a monster like "Treeborn Frog", "The Immortal Bushi" or "Totem Dragon" in your Graveyard during your Standby Phase, then after you Special Summon one copy of "Treeborn Frog", you control a monster, so you cannot Special Summon a second copy of "Treeborn Frog". Therefore, you can only Special Summon one monster like "Treeborn Frog", "The Immortal Bushi" or "Totem Dragon".: If there are multiple copies of "Treeborn Frog", "The Immortal Bushi" or "Totem Dragon" in your Graveyard, then can multiple monsters be Special Summoned?

While "Necrovalley" is on the field you cannot banish cards from the Graveyard. Therefore, "Debunk" cannot be activated when "Mystic Tomato" or "Treeborn Frog

Previously Official Rulings


If you
Special Summon "Treeborn Frog" during your Standby Phase, then it's sent to the Graveyard during that same Standby Phase (like if it's Tributed for "Enemy Controller"), you can Special Summon "Treeborn Frog" again that same Standby Phase.

If you start your Standby Phase with "Messenger of Peace" face-up on the field, you can choose not to pay the maintenance cost so it is destroyed, then Special Summon "Treeborn Frog".

If you have 2 or more "Treeborn Frogs" in your Graveyard, you can activate and resolve the effect of 1, but then you cannot activate and resolve the effect of the 2nd one because you now have a face-up "Treeborn Frog" on the field.

If an effect is chained to "Treeborn Frog" that puts a Spell or Trap Card on your side of field, then "Treeborn Frog's" effect will not resolve. Example: The opponent controls your "Embodiment of Apophis" and activates "Remove Brainwashing".

If "King Tiger Wanghu" is on the field when "Treeborn Frog" is Special Summoned, "Treeborn Frog" will be destroyed, but can be Special Summoned again with its effect during the same Standby Phase. Doing so without purpose is considered stalling and is a violation of Tournament Policy.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Light and Darkness Dragon: When “Light and Darkness Dragon” negates the activation of a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster that can only be activated once per turn (“Blowback Dragon”, etc.), the Spell, Trap, or effect of the Effect Monster cannot be activated again because the Spell, Trap, or effect of the Effect Monster is treated as having been activated during that turn. If the effect of the Effect Monster can be activated multiple times during the same turn (“Treeborn Frog”, etc.), the effect of the Effect Monster can be activated again.

Revived King Ha Des: If a Zombie-Type monster you control destroys "Treeborn Frog" or "Sinister Serpent", the effect of "Treeborn Frog" or "Sinister Serpent" is negated even if "Revived King Ha Des" is later removed from the field.

Out of Date

Necrovalley" will not negate the effect of "Treeborn Frog".The latest print of "Necrovalley" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that it even negates the effects of cards that move themselves from the Graveyard to other locations, so this ruling is invalid.

If the effect of "Treeborn Frog" is negated, you can activate its effect again during the same Standby Phase and Special Summon it.The latest print of "Treeborn Frog" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that its effect can only be activated once per turn, so this ruling is invalid.