Fiend / Effect  DARK / 10
When you take battle damage: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. Gains 600 ATK/DEF for each card in your hand. Once per turn: You can send 1 monster from your hand to the GY, then target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls with the same Level the sent monster had in the hand; take control of that face-up monster. Once per turn: You can target 1 monster in your GY; this card's Level becomes the same as that target's, until the end of this turn.
CARD ID: 98777036
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Tragoedia


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN020 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN020 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Emperor of Darkness Structure Deck SR01-EN017 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gates of the Underworld Structure Deck SDGU-EN016 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Shonen Jump Vol. 7, Issue 9 promotional card JUMP-EN033 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Cyberse Link SDCL-EN013 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Sacred Beasts SDSA-EN011 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Turbo Pack: Booster Four TU04-EN000 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card's name is derived from the Greco-Latin word tragoedia, whence the English word tragedy. The original Greek word τραγωδία (tragoedia, literally: goat song) refers to the dramatic plays characterizing seriousness, sadness, and tragic heroes.
The Chinese name (悲愴魔) literally means tragic demon.
This card has a lot in common with Yubel.
It is a Level 10 DARK Fiend with no ATK and DEF.
Just as Yubel hospitalized Jaden's friend Osamu in the anime, Tragoedia leaves Koyo Hibiki permanently comatose as a form of Penalty Game. Both Osamu and Hibiki have influenced Jaden's passion for Dueling.
Yubel and Tragoedia's bodies are both destroyed prior to the start of each canon, forcing both to (parasitically) depend on humans to do their bidding and recover their true forms. Furthermore, the identities of both are kept shrouded in shadows for much of their story arcs.
This card's first effect of Special Summoning itself from its hand could be a reference to Tragoedia's creation in the manga; by the hatred of a man when he learned what happened to Kul Elna.
This card's third effect of gaining control of opposing monsters could be a reference to its manga counterpart's ability of possessing other people.
This card's OCG/TCG artwork is taken from , specifically from the panel where this monster fully reveals himself to the Egyptian priests.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Inverse Universe: After "Inverse Universe" resolves, monsters whose ATK and DEF are calculated or modified because of their own individual effects have their ATK and DEF "frozen" at the switched values.: Absolute Powerforce - Card Rulings (Version 1.0)
The ATK and DEF of "Tragoedia" will not change even if the number of cards in your hand changes.

Testudo erat Numen: You can Special Summon "Tragoedia" from your hand while "Testudo erat Numen" is on the field because its ATK is undefined while in your hand

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
Solemn Judgment: You cannot activate "Solemn Judgment" against cards like "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness", "Tragoedia" or "Battle Fader". "Solemn Judgment" cannot negate effects. These monsters are being Special Summoned via an effect.: Gorz/tragodia/battle fader vs solemn judgement

Solemn Warning: "Solemn Warning" can be activated to negate the Special Summon of "Tragoedia" during the Damage Step.: Tragodia Vs Solemn Warning

OCG Rulings

When the number of cards in your hand changes, "Tragoedia"s ATK adjusts accordingly.: Effect Monster > Tragoedia

Sending 1 monster from your hand to the Graveyard is a cost. This effect targets 1 monster on your opponent's field.

This card's last effect targets 1 monster in your Graveyard.

If "D.D. Crow" or "The Forces of Darkness" removes the targeted monster from your Graveyard before "Tragoedia"s effect resolves, then "Tragoedia"s Level does not change.: When resolving "Tragoedia"s effect, if the target is not in the Graveyard, does "Tragoedia"s Level change?

If your "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" is destroyed by battle and you take Battle Damage, you can Special Summon "Tragoedia" from your hand. This is because "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" is considered to be destroyed at this point, so its Continuous Effect is no longer applied.: When "Fossil Dyna Pachychephalo" is destroyed by battle, can "Tragoedia" be Special Summoned from the hand?

If "Book of Moon" is chained to "Tragoedia"s effect and targets the same monster, then the monster is face-down when "Tragoedia"s effect resolves, so control of the monster does not change.: When resolving "Tragoedia"s effect, if the target is flipped face-down, can you still gain control of the target?

You can only Special Summon one copy of "Tragoedia" every time you receive Battle Damage, even if you have multiple copies of "Tragoedia" in your hand when you receive Battle Damage.: When you have multiple "Tragoedia" in your hand, when you receive Battle Damage, can you Summon all of them?

"Tragoedia"s effect activates at the same time that "Spirit Reaper", "Don Zaloog", and "Airknight Parshath" activate. "Tragoedia"s effect would be activated in chain to one of these effect, so you would Special Summon "Tragoedia" and then resolve the other effect.: When "Spirit Reaper" deals Battle Damage, can "Tragoedia" be chained and Special Summon itself?

If you have both "Tragoedia" and "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" in your hand, you cannot Special Summon both when you receive a direct attack. You can only activate one.: When "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" and "Tragoedia" are in your hand, when you receive Battle Damage, can both be activated as a chain?

When the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" targets "Tragoedia", the ATK/DEF of "Tragoedia" will remain at the halved value, even if the number of cards in the hand changes.: When the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" activates and targets a monster whose ATK changes by its own effect, what does the ATK become?

For the effects of "Tragoedia" which give you control of an opponent's monster and which changes its Level, and the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" which halves the ATK and DEF of an opponent's monster, these effects cannot Special Summon a monster at resolution, so the effect of "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained to these effects. Also, "Royal Oppression" cannot negate the effect of "Tragoedia" which Special Summons it because the effect activates during the Damage Step.: Can "Royal Oppression" be chained to the effects of "Tragoedia" and "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind"?

If you have 5 cards in your hand and "Tragoedia" has 3000 ATK, then if "Tragoedia" is affected by the effect of "Sea Koala", then the ATK of "Tragoedia" will be 0, even if the size of your hand later changes.: Will the ATK of "Tragoedia" rise if your hand size increases after the ATK of "Tragoedia" becomes 0 by the effect of "Sea Koala"?

If "Level Eater" lowered the Level of "Tragoedia", then when "Tragoedia" changes its Level through its own effect, the Level of "Tragoedia" becomes the same as the Level of the targeted monster. The effect of "Level Eater" is no longer applied and the Level of "Tragoedia" is no longer decreased by one, even after the effect of "Tragoedia" disappears.: If the Level of "Tragoedia" changes while applying the effect of "Level Eater", then how does it change?

If "Tragoedia" changes its Level by its own effect and then the effect of "Level Eater" lowers the Level of "Tragoedia" by 1, then during the End Phase when the effect of "Tragoedia" disappears the effect of "Level Eater" is still applied.: After the Level of "Tragoedia" changes, if the effect of "Level Eater" is applied, then what does its Level become during the End Phase?
Example: "Tragoedia" is Level 8 because it activated its effect and copied the level of "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (Level 8). Then, the effect of "Level Eater" activates and reduces the Level of "Tragoedia" by 1, to Level 7. When the effect of "Tragoedia" is no longer applied, the Level of "Tragoedia" becomes 9 (its original Level of 10, reduced by 1 by the effect of "Level Eater").

If the ATK & DEF of "Tragoedia" are halved by the effect of "Elemental HERO Great Tornado", then its ATK & DEF will remain at the halved value, even if the number of cards in its controller's hand changes afterwards.: If a monster whose ATK changes by its effect is affected by the effect of "Elemental HERO Great Tornado", then what is its ATK?

If "Tragoedia" is equipped with "Megamorph", then "Tragoedia"s Original ATK of 0 is halved to 0, and then its ATK increases by the number of cards in your hand x600.: If "The Tyrant Neptune" is equipped with "Megamorph", then what does its ATK become?