Thousand-Eyes Restrict

Spellcaster / Fusion / Effect  DARK / 1
"Relinquished" + "Thousand-Eyes Idol"
Other monsters on the field cannot change their battle positions or attack. Once per turn: You can target 1 monster your opponent controls; equip that target to this card (max. 1). This card's ATK/DEF become equal to that equipped monster's. If this card would be destroyed by battle, destroy that equipped monster instead.

CARD ID: 63519819
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Thousand-Eyes Restrict


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN195 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League Series 1 participation cards DL1-001 Super Rare---
Duelist Pack: Rivals of the Pharaoh DPRP-EN046 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Duelists: Ancient Millennium LED2-EN005 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Duelists: Season 1 LDS1-EN050 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Master Collection Volume 1 MC1-EN004 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-084 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-E084 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-EN084 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN021 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Speed Duel Starter Decks: Match of the Millennium SS04-ENB30 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This monster is the cover card for Pharaoh's Servant.
This monster appears in the artworks of Extra Net and Summon Gate.
This monster might be based upon Ketev Meriri, a demon in Jewish folklore. Ketev Meriri is a demon with a body full of eyes and shells, with a large eye on his chest.
This card is the first Fusion Monster to list a Ritual Monster as Fusion Material.
It is also the first Fusion Monster to be Limited and, at one point, Forbidden.
It is also the first Fusion Monster to be Semi-Limited, though only in the OCG.
This card was the first Fusion Monster with an effect to be released.
Including the main golden eye, the two green eyes, and eyes that can only be partially seen, this monster has 56 visible eyes.
Its golden eye is the Eye of Wdjat. It also resembles the Millennium Eye.
This card is one of the few Fusion Monsters, if not the only Fusion Monster, with the same Attribute, Type, Level, ATK and DEF as all its Fusion Materials.
This card was the first Level 1 Fusion Monster, and held the record for being the only Level 1 Fusion Monster until the release of Fullmetalfoes Alkahest, nearly 16 years later.
This was the very first card to be printed in Ultimate Rare.
The lore from this card's original print did not mention that the equipped monster is destroyed instead when Thousand-Eyes Restrict would be destroyed battle.
Since this card prevents other monsters from attacking, this effect can only be used when this cards' effects would be negated when an attack is declared, but then aren't negated anymore during the damage step.
Alternatively, it could happen when this card attacks a stronger monster in Attack position, possibly due to the activation of attack-changing cards (i.e. Honest) or with the intent of destroying the equipped monster and equip the stronger one during Main Phase 2.
This card's effects share some similarities with Destiny HERO - Plasma, as both monsters equips one monster the opponent controls and gain their attack, and also, they have effects that neutralize some of the monster's actions on the field (Plasma negate monsters effects, while Thousand-Eyes negate changes of battle positions and attacks).


OCG Rulings

The effect "Other monsters cannot change their battle position or attack." is a Continuous Effect.: Thousand-Eyes Restrict

The effect "Once per turn, you can equip 1 monster your opponent controls to this card (max 1)." is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 monster in your opponent's Monster Zone. It can also target a face-down Defense Position monster.)

The effect "This card's ATK and DEF become the same as the equipped monster's. If this card would be destroyed by battle, the equipped monster is destroyed instead." is a Continuous Effect. (It is only applied if a monster is equipped to this card by the effect of "Thousand-Eyes Restrict".)

If a Ritual Monster in your hand is listed as a Fusion Material on a Fusion Monster, you can use that Ritual Monster as a Fusion Material. Therefore, when Fusion Summoning "Thousand-Eyes Restrict", you can use a "Relinquished" in your hand as a Fusion Material

Previously Official Rulings

If 2 or more "
Thousand-Eyes Restrict" are face-up on the field, no monsters can attack.

If "Imperial Order" is active, "Thousand-Eyes Restrict's" ATK and DEF still are still equal to the Monster Card it is equipped with.

The Battle Position of monsters can still be changed with card effects.

If "Thousand-Eyes Restrict" is equipped with a face-down Monster Card, its ATK and DEF become 0.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Ameba / Griggle: This card’s effect is not activated when equipped to an opponent’s "Thousand-Eyes Restrict".

Blindly Loyal Goblin: Your opponent cannot target your "Blindly Loyal Goblin" with the effect of"Thousand-Eyes Restrict".

Deck Devastation Virus: If you use "Change of Heart" to take control of your opponent's "Magical Scientist" during the turns after "Deck Devastation Virus" has resolved, it will not be destroyed. If you then use its effect to Special Summon "Thousand-Eyes Restrict", it will also not be destroyed.

Heart of Clear Water: If your"Thousand-Eyes Restrict" is equipped with "Heart of Clear Water" and you{{sic its effect to equip it with a Monster Card whose ATK is 1300 or higher, "Heart of Clear Water" is destroyed.

Kaiser Glider: If "Kaiser Glider" is equipped to"Thousand-Eyes Restrict", and is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, "Kaiser Glider"s effect activates.

Last Turn: If you activate "Last Turn" and select your face-up "Thousand-Eyes Restrict", the turn player cannot attack so unless they can destroy your "Thousand-Eyes Restrict" with a card effect, each of you will have a monster during the End Phase and the Duel will end in a DRAW.

Remove Brainwashing: "Remove Brainwashing" has no effect on a Monster Card equipped to"Thousand-Eyes Restrict", and the Monster Card remains where it is, because it is an Equip Spell Card.

Out of Date

Collected Power: Monster Cards equipped to "Relinquished" or "Thousand-Eyes Restrict"Relinquished or "Thousand-Eyes Restrict" but if either of these monsters is already equipped with a Monster Card, the new one is destroyed. If these moved to any other monster, the cards are destroyed. states that monsters treated as Equip Card (except Union monsters equipped by their own effects) cannot have their equip target changed.