The Tyrant Neptune


Reptile / Effect  WATER / 10
Cannot be Special Summoned. You can Tribute Summon this card by Tributing 1 monster. This card gains the total original ATK and DEF of the monster(s) Tributed for its Tribute Summon. When this card is Tribute Summoned: Target 1 Effect Monster in the Graveyard that was Tributed for the Tribute Summon; this card's name becomes that target's name, and this card gains that target's effects.
0/0 
CARD ID: 88071625
STATUS TCG: Forbidden
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: The Tyrant Neptune

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2011 Wave 2 CT08-EN018 Super Rare0.05€0.34€0.31€
Shonen Jump May 2010 subscription bonus JUMP-EN041 Ultra Rare9.90€-,--€9.52€

Card Trivia

 This is one of the few cards in the OCG whose Japanese name consists of only English alphabetical characters and punctuation, excluding furigana characters. The others are Destiny HERO - Plasma, Destiny End Dragoon, Assault Revival, NEX, ZERO-MAX, and the other Legendary Planets (except Elemental HERO Terra Firma).
This card is based on the planet Neptune, which in turn was named after the Roman god of the sea, hence its WATER Attribute.
This card and The Supremacy Sun are the only Level 10 Legendary Planet monsters. All the others are Level 8.
This card is the first Legendary Planet to become Forbidden.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



The text "You can Tribute Summon or Set this card by Tributing 1 monster." of "The Tyrant Neptune" is a procedure for Summoning. It is not treated as the effect of an Effect Monster.: Effect Monster > The Tyrant Neptune

On Increasing its ATK/DEF

The ATK and DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" are increased by the printed ATK and DEF of the monster which was Tributed from the field.: The ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increases by that of the Tributed monster at what time?: If you Tribute monsters like "Zoma the Spirit" or a Token Monster to Summon "The Tyrant Neptune", then do its ATK and DEF increase?
Example: If "The Tyrant Neptune" is Summoned by Tributing a "Beast King Barbaros" which was Summoned without Tributes (1900 ATK / 1200 DEF), then the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" becomes 3000, and the DEF becomes 1200. If you Tributed two copies of "Beast King Barbaros", then the ATK and DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" will increase by 6000 and 2400, respectively.
Example: If "Zoma the Spirit" (1800 ATK / 500 DEF) is Tributed for "The Tyrant Neptune", then the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" is increased by 1800, and its DEF is increased by 500.
Example: If a "Rose Token" (800 ATK / 800 DEF) from "Black Garden" is Tributed for "The Tyrant Neptune", then the ATK and DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" are each increased by 800.
Example: If a "Emissary of Darkness Token" (? ATK / ? DEF) from "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" is Tributed for "The Tyrant Neptune", then the ATK and DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" do not increase.

The ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" is increased by the total ATK(s) of the Tributed monster(s); the DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" is increased by the total DEF(s) of the Tributed monster(s). You do not increase the ATK by the combined ATK and DEF.: Does the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increase by the total ATK and DEF?
Example #1: "Sangan" (1000 ATK / 600 DEF) is Tributed for "The Tyrant Neptune". The ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increases by 1000, and the DEF increases by 600. (You do not increase the ATK and DEF by 1600 each.)
Example #2: "Sangan" (1000 ATK / 600 DEF) and "Light and Darkness Dragon" (2800 ATK / 2400 DEF) are Tributed for "The Tyrant Neptune". The ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increases by 3800, and the DEF increases by 3000. (You do not increase the ATK and DEF by 6800 each.)

If "The Tyrant Neptune" is targeted by "Shrink", then its Original ATK is halved by the effect of "Shrink", and afterwards the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increases by its own effect. Thus, its Original ATK of 0 is halved to 0, and then its ATK increases by the ATK of the Tributed monsters.: If a "The Tyrant Neptune" with its ATK increased is affected by "Shrink", then what does its ATK become?

If "The Tyrant Neptune" is equipped with "Megamorph", then "Megamorph" will halve its Original ATK, and afterwards the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" will increase by its own effect. Thus, its Original ATK of 0 will be halved to 0, and then its ATK will increase by the total ATK of the Tributed monsters.: If "The Tyrant Neptune" is equipped with "Megamorph", then what does its ATK become?

If "Skill Drain" is active, then the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" becomes 0, and will remain at 0 even if "Skill Drain" is removed from the field.: Does the ATK and DEF of "The Tyrant Neptune" become 0 if it is negated by "Skill Drain"?

On Copying a Monster

When "The Tyrant Neptune" is successfully Tribute Summoned, its effect activates and targets one of the Tributed monster which is in the Graveyard.

After "The Tyrant Neptune" has been Tribute Summoned and has gained the name and effects of a Tributed monster in the Graveyard, its effect does not continuously targets that monster.

If you Tribute a monster owned by your opponent for the Tribute Summon of "The Tyrant Neptune" - for example, via the effect of "Soul Exchange" - then the effect of "The Tyrant Neptune" can target that monster to have "The Tyrant Neptune" gain that monster's name and effects, even though that monster is in your opponent's Graveyard.: Can "The Tyrant Neptune" gain the effects of an opponent's monster which was Tributed for its Summon?

When resolving the effect of "The Tyrant Neptune" which activates when "The Tyrant Neptune" is Tribute Summoned, if the targeted monster is not in the Graveyard - for example, the effect of "D.D. Crow" was Chained - then "The Tyrant Neptune" does not have its name changed, and it does not gain the monster's effects. Also, the effect which increases "The Tyrant Neptune"s ATK and DEF was applied when "The Tyrant Neptune" is successfully Tribute Summoned, so the effect will continue to be applied.: If the targeted monster is not in the Graveyard when resolving the effect of "The Tyrant Neptune", then does it gain the effects?

When activating the effect of "The Tyrant Neptune", you can only target one of the monsters which was Tributed to the Graveyard for its Tribute Summon. You cannot target a monster in the Graveyard which was Tributed for another purpose, such as for the activation cost of a different effect.: Can "The Tyrant Neptune" gain the effects of a monster which was Tributed as, for example, an activation cost?

After "The Tyrant Neptune" gains the name and effects of a monster, if "Skill Drain" is activated, then "The Tyrant Neptune" keeps its changed name. If "The Tyrant Neptune" gained a Continuous Effect, then "Skill Drain" negates that effect. If "The Tyrant Neptune" gained an Ignition, Trigger, or Quick Effect, then the effect can be activated, but "Skill Drain" will negate the effect when it resolves.: Does "Skill Drain" negate the name and the effects gained by "The Tyrant Neptune"?

On Copying a Specific Monster

Blizzard Princess: If you Tribute Summon "The Tyrant Neptune" and it gains the effects of "Blizzard Princess", then the effect "your opponent cannot activate Spell or Trap Cards" of "Blizzard Princess" is not applied, so your opponent can activate Spell and Trap Cards.: If "The Tyrant Neptune" gains the effects of "Blizzard Princess", then can your opponent not activate Spell and Trap Cards?

Mobius the Frost Monarch: If you Tribute "Mobius the Frost Monarch" for the Tribute Summon of "The Tyrant Neptune", then after "The Tyrant Neptune" gains the effect of "Mobius the Frost Monarch" it is no longer "When this card is successfully Summoned", so you cannot activate the effect of "Mobius the Frost Monarch" which destroys up to two cards on the field.: If "The Tyrant Neptune" gains an effect like that of "Mobius the Frost Monarch" which activates at the time of a successful Summon, then can the effect be activated?

Mosaic Manticore: If you Tribute "Mosaic Manticore" for the Tribute Summon of "The Tyrant Neptune", then during your next Standby Phase you cannot activate the effect which Special Summons the monster(s) Tributed for the Tribute Summon.: If "The Tyrant Neptune" gains the effects of "Mosaic Manticore", then can you Special Summon the Tributed monsters?

Sky Scourge Invicil: Suppose you Tribute "Sky Scourge Invicil" and a LIGHT Fairy-Type monster to Tribute Summon "The Tyrant Neptune". If you have "The Tyrant Neptune" gain the effect of "Sky Scourge Invicil", then the "● LIGHT Fairy-Type monster:" effect of "Sky Scourge Invicil" is not applied.: Is the effect of "Sky Scourge Invicil" applied if "The Tyrant Neptune" gains it?