Swords of Revealing Light

  Normal / Spell
After this card's activation, it remains on the field, but you must destroy it during the End Phase of your opponent's 3rd turn. When this card is activated: If your opponent controls a face-down monster, flip all monsters they control face-up. While this card is face-up on the field, your opponent's monsters cannot declare an attack. 
CARD ID: 72302403
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Swords of Revealing Light


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN033 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN033 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN133 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN133 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN129 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Legends DLG1-EN013 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 2010 participation cards DL09-EN013 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Yugi DPYG-EN018 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Egyptian God Deck: Slifer the Sky Dragon EGS1-EN021 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series GLD1-EN030 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hobby League 4 participation card B HL04-EN002 Ultra Parallel Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-101 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-E081 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-EN101 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN057 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENY23 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Dragon Decks LEDD-ENA25 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Machina Mayhem Structure Deck SDMM-EN023 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Noble Knights of the Round Table Box Set NKRT-EN025 Platinum Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN057 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Retro Pack RP01-EN012 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Saga of Blue-Eyes White Dragon Structure Deck SDBE-EN031 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA11 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spellcaster's Command Structure Deck SDSC-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz YS11-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Xyz Symphony YS12-EN023 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Evolution SYE-039 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Reloaded YSYR-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Dragon's Roar SD1-EN014 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Invincible Fortress SD7-EN019 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Powercode Link SDPL-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Spellcaster's Judgment SD6-EN021 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Yugi Muto SDMY-EN029 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Super Starter Power-Up Pack YS13-ENV13 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENA24 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENA24 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB17 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENC25 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card appears in the artworks of Release Restraint Wave, Scarlet Security, Forced Activation and Heraldry Burst.
These swords appear in the artwork of Swordsman of Revealing Light, and possibly in the artwork of Silent Swordsman LV3.
The three swords on the artwork represent the turns that this card can be active for.
Despite, for all intents and purposes, the card behaving like a Continuous Spell Card, it is instead a Normal Spell Card.
This is because the card designers initially thought that because this card self-destructs on its own without being destroyed by other cards after only 3 turns that it wasn’t a true Continuous Spell.
This reasoning was abandoned with “Swords of Concealing Light”, which remains on the field for 1 less turn but is appropriately labeled a Continuous Spell.
This card was originally Semi-Limited on the May 2002 Lists, but became Limited on the September 2003 Lists. It remained in Limited for sixteen formats (exactly eight years) before it was Semi-Limited again on the September 2011 Lists. This makes it the card to have spent the longest time on the Limited list before leaving.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Battle Teleportation: You can activate “Battle Teleportation” if your opponent has “Swords of Revealing Light” face-up on the field because “Swords of Revealing Light” only prevents you from declaring an attack.

OCG Rulings

When "Swords of Revealing Light" destroys itself, it will be removed from play by "Winged Kuriboh LV9".: While "Winged Kuriboh" is on the field, is "Swords of Revealing Light" removed from play after 3 turns?

If you activate a card that does not remain on the field after activation like a Normal/Quickplay Spell Card or a Normal Trap Card, then you cannot Chain the effect of "Mist Valley Thunder Lord" and target the activated card. However, cards like "Swords of Revealing Light" and "Blast with Chain" remain on the field after activation, so you may target them with the effect of "Mist Valley Thunder Lord". If "Swords of Revealing Light" is returned to your hand, then all the opponent's monster are flipped face-up, but the effect of not being able to attack is not applied.: Can the effect of "Mist Valley Thunder Lord" be Chained to the activation of a Normal Spell Card?

If "Rivalry of Warlords" is active and you only control Warrior-Type monsters, then when a Spellcaster-Type monster is flipped by battle or by an effect like "Swords of Revealing Light", the flipped monster is sent to the Graveyard.: If the effect of "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, then can you Normal Summon/Flip Summon/Special Summon a monster of a different Type?

If "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu" is face-up on the field and another "Earthbound Immortal" monster is face-down, then if the face-down monster is flipped face-up by an effect like "Swords of Revealing Light", then the "Earthbound Immortal" monster is destroyed after it is flipped face-up. Or, if multiple "Earthbound Immortal" monsters all simultaneously become face-up on the field, then the player selects one of the "Earthbound Immortal: If there is already a face-up "Earthbound Immortal" monster on the field, then can a second one be Special Summoned?

Previously Official Rulings

This card remains on the
field and is active until the end of your opponent's third turn. This card must be on the field for its effect to be active.

If this card is destroyed or removed from the field by the effect of another card, such as "Heavy Storm" or "Giant Trunade", the opponent may then attack.

If multiple Flip Effect monsters are flipped face-up by the effect of "Swords of Revealing Light" the effects are activated simultaneously and follow the rules for simultaneous effects.

If "Imperial Order" is active on the field you can still activate "Swords of Revealing Light" and it will maintain its turn count, but it will NOT flip monsters face-up or prevent the opponent from attacking. If "Imperial Order" is destroyed after "Swords of Revealing Light" has been on the field for two of your opponent’s turns, it will only prevent your opponent from attacking for one turn and then be destroyed.

When "Swords of Revealing Light" is destroyed, you can attack in the same turn, provided you destroyed it in Main Phase 1. If it is returned to your hand you cannot attack that same turn. "Swords of Revealing Light's effect stays in place until the end of that turn, because it was not destroyed.This ruling contradicts the card text, which makes clear that the effect of "Swords of Revealing Light" that prevents the opponent from attacking is a Continuous Effect not a Lingering Effect, so it cannot continue applying after "Swords of Revealing Light" leaves the field (regardless of how it leaves the field).

Mentions in Other Rulings

Amazoness Tiger: If you have an "Amazoness Tiger" face-up, you can Set another "Amazoness Tiger" face-down. If the face-down "Amazoness Tiger" is flipped face-up by an attack, the flipped "Amazoness Tiger" is destroyed after damage calculation. If the face-down "Amazoness Tiger" is flipped with "Swords of Revealing Light", etc., the flipped "Amazoness Tiger" is destroyed but the original "Amazoness Tiger" is not.

Berserk Gorilla: "Berserk Gorilla" cannot attack if "Swords of Revealing Light", multiple "Marauding Captains", etc. are in play.

Dark Balter the Terrible: This card's effect only negates the effect of a Spell Card when it is activated, not the activation. So if your opponent activates "Swords of Revealing Light" and you activate the effect of this card to negate it, it will remain meaninglessly on the field for 3 turns. Its effect will remain negated for all 3 turns even if "Dark Balter the Terrible" is later destroyed.

Dark Deal: This card can be chained to "Swords of Revealing Light" like any other Normal Spell Card, and "Swords of Revealing Light" will not stay on the field.

De-Spell: Because "Swords of Revealing Light" remains on the field until the end of 3rd opponent's turn, you can destroy it with "De-Spell".: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS""

Destiny HERO - Diamond Dude: If "Swords of Revealing Light" is sent to the Graveyard by this effect you can activate it, but only its effect that flips monsters face-up will apply. It will not stop the opponent's monsters from attacking because it is not on the field.

Diffusion Wave-Motion: You cannot activate "Diffusion Wave-Motion" during Main Phase 2, or if you cannot conduct your Battle Phase this turn (if you activated "Soul Exchange", etc.), or if there are no monsters on your opponent's side of the field, or if your opponent has "Swords of Revealing Light", or if your opponent controls 2 "Marauding Captains" (or appropriate monsters with "Raregold Armor", etc.).

Double Spell: If the selected Spell Card is Ritual, Normal, or Quick-Play (except for "Swords of Revealing Light"), it remains in your opponent's Graveyard and is not placed on the field, so you only need 1 vacant Spell & Trap Card Zone spot (for "Double Spell" itself) to activate "Double Spell".

Double Spell: If you activate "Double Spell" and select a Continuous, Field, or Equip Spell Card, or "Swords of Revealing Light", you place the selected Spell Card in your Spell & Trap Card Zone, so you need 2 vacant Spell & Trap Card Zone spots (1 for "Double Spell", 1 for the selected card). The Continuous/Field/Equip/"Swords of Revealing Light", Spell Card then remains on the field as normal.

Evil HERO Malicious Fiend"Evil Hero Malicious Fiend". If you have "Swords of Revealing Light"Evil Hero Malicious Fiend"Evil Hero Malicious Fiend"

Guardian: If your Set "Guardian Elma" is flipped face-up with "Swords of Revealing Light", or by an attack, without "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" on your side of the field, she remains on the field because she was not Summoned.

Light and Darkness Dragon: When “Light and Darkness Dragon” negates the activation of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card, the Continuous Spell or Trap Card is sent to the Graveyard. When “Light and Darkness Dragon” negates the activation of “Swords of Revealing Light”, the “Swords of Revealing Light” is sent to the Graveyard.

Magic Reflector: If "Swords of Revealing Light" has a counter on it, it is still destroyed at the end of the opponent's third turn after it was activated.

Phoenix Wing Wind Blast: You can activate "Phoenix Wing Wind Blast" and target a face-up "Swords of Revealing Light" because it destroys itself by its own effect, instead of being destroyed when activated, like most Normal Spell Cards.

Pyro Clock of Destiny: You can use "Pyro Clock of Destiny" to advance the turn count by 1 for "Swords of Revealing Light"

Rivalry of Warlords: While "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, you can still Set monsters face-down if they are a different Type than the Type you control. If your face-down monster of a different Type is attacked, then the monsterdestroyed after damage calculationdestroyed monster of a different Type was a Flip Effect Monster, its Flip Effect is still activatedestroyed monster is sent to the Graveyard. If your face-down monster of a different Type is flipped by "Swords of Revealing Lightdestroyed as necessary.Monsters sent to the Graveyard by "Rivalry of Warlords" due to their Type are not destroyed.

Serial Spell: If you chain "Serial Spell" to "Swords of Revealing Light" it will copy the effect of flipping all monsters face-up, but it will not remain on the field and prevent the opponent from attacking. This is because it is a Quick-Play Spell Card and is sent to the Graveyard after the chain resolves.

Silent Swordsman LV5: Just like "The Legendary Fisherman" and other monsters that are unaffected by Spell Cards, "Silent Swordsman LV5" can attack normally if your opponent has "Swords of Revealing Light" on the field, and its controller is unaffected by effects like "Toll" and "Gravekeeper's Servant" when "Silent Swordsman LV5" attacks.

Out of Date