Swap Frog


Aqua / Effect  WATER / 2
You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) by discarding 1 other WATER monster. When this card is Summoned: You can send 1 Level 2 or lower Aqua-Type WATER monster from your Deck or face-up from your field to the Graveyard. Once per turn: You can return 1 monster you control to the hand; you can Normal Summon 1 "Frog" monster during your Main Phase this turn, except "Swap Frog", in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)
1000/500 
CARD ID: 09126351
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Swap Frog

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
OTS Tournament Pack 3 OP03-EN001 Ultimate Rare39.99€49.36€51.06€
Stardust Overdrive SOVR-EN034 Common2.00€3.82€3.61€

Card Trivia

Like many other Frog monsters, this card's Japanese name is a pun: the kanji , normally read as oni, can also be read as ki, and this card reads kigaeru, which also means to change one's clothes.
This monster could possibly be the antithesis to Treeborn Frog. While Treeborn Frog looks angelic with wings and a halo, Swap Frog has two horns that are usually depicted on demons. He also has a tight card combo with Treeborn Frog. The word Oni can refer to many things: Ogre, Troll, Demon or Curse/Maledict.
The devil theme is also emphazise in its effect since it can send an Aqua-type monster to the grave when it's summoned.

Rulings


TCG Rulings



You can Normal Summon this monster.: Stardust Overdrive Sneak Peek -- Card Rulings (Version 1.0)

Discarding 1 WATER monster is a cost.

Sending a monster from your Deck to the Graveyard does not target.

Returning a monster you control to your hand is a cost.

If the effect of "Swap Frog" activates and is resolved, and later during the turn "Skill Drain" is activated, you can still Normal Summon a "Frog" monster in addition to your Normal Summon or Set.

You do not Normal Summon at the resolution of "Swap Frog's" effect. It allows you to Normal Summon a "Frog" monster at any time you would be able to Normal Summon a monster during that turn.

Out of Date

If you activate the effect of more than 1 "Swap Frog," you can only Normal Summon 1 time in addition to your Normal Summon or Set.The latest print of "Swap Frog" has Problem-Solving Card Text which indicates that the effect to allow the player to Normal Summon a "Frog" monster can only be gained once per turn, so if the effect has already been gained, the player cannot activate this effect of "Swap Frog" again that turn.


OCG Rulings



The effect "You can Special Summon this card (from your hand) by discarding 1 other WATER monster" is not an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (Special Summoning this card this way does not start a Chain Link.): Swap Frog

When Special Summoning "Swap Frog" using its own effect, discard 1 WATER monster as a procedure, then perform the Special Summon. (Discarding is not considered the last thing to happen.)

"Swap Frog" is a Normal Summon Monster. (Even if it is sent from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard, it can be Special Summoned by the effect of "Monster Reborn".)

The effect "When this card is Summoned: You can send 1 Level 2 or lower Aqua-Type WATER monster from your Deck or face-up from your field to the Graveyard" is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It can be activated during the Damage Step.)

The effect "Once per turn: You can return 1 monster you control to the hand; you can Normal Summon 1 "Frog" monster during your Main Phase this turn, except "Swap Frog", in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)" is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Normal Summoning a "Frog" monster by applying this effect does not start a Chain Link.)

Even if you control 2 or more copies of "Swap Frog", you can only activate the effect "Once per turn: You can return 1 monster you control to the hand; you can Normal Summon 1 "Frog" monster during your Main Phase this turn, except "Swap Frog", in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)" of 1 of them. During the turn this effect is applied, since the number of Normal Summons cannot be increased by the effect of "Swap Frog", the effect of a second copy of "Swap Frog" cannot be activated that turn.: Can the effect "Normal Summon 1 "Frog" monster, except "Swap Frog" or "Frog the Jam", in addition to your Normal Summon or Set this turn." of "Swap Frog" be activated more than once per turn?

Suppose you control an "Atlantean Heavy Infantry" and you activated the effect of "Swap Frog" this turn, but did not yet perform the additional Normal Summon. In this case, you can choose to apply the effect of either "Swap Frog" or "Atlantean Heavy Infantry". (You cannot apply both effects to perform 2 additional Normal Summons.) Note that during a turn in which you have already performed an additional Normal Summon with the effect of "Atlantean Heavy Infantry", you cannot activate the effect "Once per turn: You can return 1 monster you control to the hand; you can Normal Summon 1 "Frog" monster during your Main Phase this turn, except "Swap Frog", in addition to your Normal Summon/Set. (You can only gain this effect once per turn.)" of "Swap Frog".: While the effect of "Swap Frog" and "Atlantean Heavy Infantry" are being applied, can you choose which effect to apply when you Normal Summon a monster?

If the effect of "Swap Frog" and "Double Summon" are both activated in the same turn, you can Normal Summon 3 times that turn. (2 regular Normal Summons and 1 "Frog" monster.): If the effect of "Swap Frog" and "Double Summon" are both activated in the same turn, how many times can you Normal Summon that turn?