Solemn Warning

  Counter / Trap
When a monster(s) would be Summoned, OR when a Spell/Trap Card, or monster effect, is activated that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s): Pay 2000 LP; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy it. 
CARD ID: 84749824
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Solemn Warning


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2011 Wave 2 CT08-EN015 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 18 participation cards DL18-EN019 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Revolution DREV-EN077 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Revolution DREV-EN077 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN085 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN301 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Noble Knights of the Round Table Box Set NKRT-EN035 Platinum Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold: Return of the Bling PGL2-EN068 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Spirit Charmers SDCH-EN036 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Wave of Light SR05-EN037 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Synchron Extreme Structure Deck SDSE-EN039 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia


Card Trivia


Card Trivia

 This card's name, effect and artwork are similar to Solemn Judgment. Major changes include the fixed amount of Life Points to pay (2000 as opposed to half) and the fact that this card can negate Monster Effects. However, it can only negate said effects, Spell and Trap Cards only when they Special Summon a monster. This makes this card's effect more akin to a one-shot Royal Oppression, though it also affects Normal Summons and Flip Summons. The figures in the artwork also appear younger than they did in Solemn Judgment.
Both this card's artwork and Solemn Judgment feature an old man resembling and possibly inspired by classic depictions of God in Christianity, as well as two angels, just as in Solemn Judgment. Their translated Japanese names (Declaration of God and Warning of God, respectively) support this interpretation, but this can also be interpreted as a depiction of a prophet declaring what is believed to be a message from God.




TCG Rulings

You cannot negate the activation of a card that cannot Special Summon a monster, such as "Lightning Vortex".: Duelist Revolution Sneak Peek -- Card Rulings (Version 1.0)

You can negate the activation of "Macro Cosmos

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
Solemn Warning" can be activated during the Damage Step.: Tragodia Vs Solemn Warning

"Solemn Warning" can be activated to negate the Special Summon of "Tragoedia" during the Damage Step.

If a monster is being Summoned and "Solemn Warning" is activated in response to the Summon in order to negate it, then another "Solemn Warning" cannot be activated in the same Chain in order to negate that Summon. One of the basic rules of Counter Trap Cardit is trying to counter.: Negating a summon twice: Solemn Warning Vs Seven Tools Of The Bandit Vs Solemn Warnin

When you activate a
Spell or Trap Card that targets, you choose the target(s) when you activate the card, before your opponent decides whether or not to Chain to it. So if you want to negate the activation of a card like "Monster Reborn" or "Call of the Haunted" with "Solemn Warning", you must chain "Solemn Warning" after "Monster Reborn"/"Call of the Haunted" have declared a monster in the graveyard as a target.: Solemn Warning vs Monster Reborn/Call of the Haunted

"Solemn Warning" does not have the same activation timing as Trigger Effects that activate after a monster is Summoned ("Swift Birdman Joe", "Black Rose Dragon", etc) or Trigger Effects that activate when the monster is sent to the Graveyard as a Tribute for a Tribute Summon or used as Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon ("Dandylion", "Reborn Tengu", etc). Those effects do not activate in the middle of the Summon, they must wait until after the Summon is either successful or negated before they can activate.: Solemn Warning VS Summon and Effect That Summons

Gorz the Emissary of Darkness: Both "Solemn Warning" and "Solemn Judgment" are Counter Trap Cards so they can be activated in the Damage Step. "Solemn Warning" can be activated to negate the Special Summon of "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness". "Solemn Judgment" cannot be activated to negate the Special Summon of "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness".
"Solemn Judgment" cannot negate monster effects. "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" is being Special Summoned by a monster effect. "Solemn Warning" does not have such a restriction as its effect includes the ability to negate monster effects as well.: solemn warning/judgement, or War Chariot vs Gorz.

"Solemn Warning" can be used to negate the Pendulum Summon of 3 monsters.: Negate Pendulum Summon with Solemn Warning

Soul Charge: If "Solemn Warning" is used to negate the activation of "Soul Charge", a second "Soul Charge" may be activated the same turn.: using 2 soul charge after one gets solemned

OCG Rulings

"Solemn Warning" cannot negate the activation of a Spell or Trap Card if the Spell or Trap Card does not include the effect of Special Summoning a monster: Trap Card > Solemn Warning, such as "Smashing Ground"., "Lightning Vortex", or "Raigeki Break".

"Solemn Warning" can be Chained to the activation of a card or the activation of an Effect Monster's effect such as:: Can "Solemn Warning" be Chained to a Spell or Trap Card which does not include Special Summoning?
The activation of an Effect Monster's effect that Special Summons a monster(s), like the effect of "Nimble Momonga" or "Marauding Captain".
The activation of a Spell or Trap Card that Special Summons a monster(s), like "Level Modulation" or "Call of the Haunted".
The Normal Summon or Flip Summon of a monster, or the Special Summon of a monster like "Cyber Dragon" or "Judgment Dragon".

You can Chain "Solemn Warning" to "Starlight Road" or "Macro Cosmos", even if there is no "Stardust Dragon" in the Extra Deck or no "Helios - The Primordial Sun" in the Deck.: Can you Chain "Solemn Warning" to "Starlight Road"?

Mentions in Other Rulings

If an effect like "Solemn Warning" or "Royal Oppression" negates the Synchro Summon of "Voltic Bicorn" or "Lightning Tricorn" or "Scrap Dragon" and destroys it, then you can activate the monster's effect.: If the Synchro Summon of a monster like "Voltic Bicorn" is negated by "Royal Oppression", then can you activate its effect?

Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World: Returning one "Dark World" monster to the hand to Special Summon "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" from the Graveyard is a Summoning procedure. It is neither a cost nor part of an effect's resolution. If the Special Summon is negated by "Royal Oppression" or "Solemn Warning", then the returned "Dark World" monster remains in the hand.: Is returning a card to the hand when Special Summoning "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" a cost?

Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World: If your "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" is discarded by your opponent's card effect, then "Solemn Warning" or "Royal Oppression" can be Chained to the effect. However, if your "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" is discarded by your own effect, then neither "Solemn Warning" nor "Royal Oppression" may be Chained.: Can you Chain "Royal Oppression" or "Solemn Warning" to the effect of "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World"?