Smoke Grenade of the Thief

  Equip / Spell
When this card is destroyed by a card effect while equipped to a monster: Look at your opponent's hand and discard 1 card from their hand. 
CARD ID: 63789924
STATUS TCG: Forbidden
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Smoke Grenade of the Thief


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN189 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legacy of Darkness LOD-080 Short Print-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legacy of Darkness LOD-EN080 Short Print-,--€-,--€-,--€
OTS Tournament Pack 14 OP14-EN009 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
OTS Tournament Pack 14 (POR) OP14-PT009 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card is one of the few Equip Spell Cards that doesn't affect the equiped Monster, other examples being “Broken Bamboo Sword” and “Cursed Bamboo Sword”.
This was the first spell/trap card to be released that doesn’t activate its effect until it’s destroyed.
This card’s effect is a weaker version of the banned card “Confiscation”.
Ironically enough, this card would eventually be banned as well.


Previously Official Rulings

This card must be destroyed directly for its effect to activate, such as with the effects of "Mystical Space Typhoon", "Heavy Storm", or "Gearfried the Iron Knight". Its effect does NOT activate if the monster it is equipped to is destroyed, Tributed, flipped face-down, or removed from the field.

If your opponent chains "Magic Jammer", "Magic Drain", etc., to negate and destroy this card, its effect does not activate.

If the opponent chains "Dust Tornado" or "Mystical Space Typhoon" to the activation of "Smoke Grenade of the Thief", it is destroyed and its effect is NOT activated. This is because it is an Equip Spell Card, and must be on the field when it resolves for its effect to activate.

If "Imperial Order" is active on the field, the effect of "Smoke Grenade of the Thief" is not activated, even if it is destroyed by a card effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Emergency Provisions:" If you send "Smoke Grenade of the Thief"to the Graveyard for the cost of "Emergency Provisions" their effects do not activate, because they were not destroyed.

Woodland Sprite:" An Equip Spell Card sent to the Graveyard by this card's effect is not "destroyed". So the effects of"Smoke Grenade of the Thief" cannot or will not be activated.