Quick-Play / Spell
Special Summon 4 "Sheep Tokens" (Beast/EARTH/Level 1/ATK 0/DEF 0) in Defense Position. They cannot be Tributed for a Tribute Summon. You cannot Summon other monsters the turn you activate this card (but you can Normal Set). 
CARD ID: 73915051
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Scapegoat


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN042 Rare---
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN042 Starfoil Rare---
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN136 Common---
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN136 Mosaic Rare---
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN139 Common---
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN139 Shatterfoil Rare---
Dark Legends DLG1-EN091 Super Rare---
Dark Saviors DASA-EN052 Super Rare---
Duelist League 2010 participation cards DL09-EN015 Rare---
Hobby League 5 participation card F HL05-EN006 Ultra Parallel Rare---
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN066 Secret Rare---
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENJ28 Common---
Master of Pendulum Structure Deck SDMP-EN032 Common---
Millennium Pack MIL1-EN019 Common---
OTS Tournament Pack 5 OP05-EN024 Common---
OTS Tournament Pack 8 OP08-EN003 Ultimate Rare---
OTS Tournament Pack 8 (POR) OP08-PT003 Ultimate Rare---
Retro Pack RP01-EN090 Ultra Rare---
Starter Deck: Codebreaker YS18-EN023 Common---
Starter Deck: Joey SDJ-041 Super Rare---
Structure Deck: Powercode Link SDPL-EN025 Common---
Tournament Pack 7 TP7-EN009 Rare---

Card Trivia

 A scapegoat is a term used to refer to an innocent person who is unjustly blamed for a wrongdoing and/or unjustly punished. The term originated from the Jewish custom of sacrificing a goat (representing the sins of the people) by driving it off into the wilderness as part of the ceremonies of Yom Kippur.
This card has 2 counterparts:
Stray Lambs, which Summons Lamb Tokens (which can be Tributed for Tribute Summons) instead of Sheep Tokens.
Scapeghost, a Zombie-type Flip monster which summons Black Sheep Tokens when flipped face-up.
White Magician Pikeru wears a white-Sheep Token hat.
The Sheep Tokens in this card's artwork also appear in the artworks of the following cards, which imply that they are eaten as a Goblin delicacy:
Token Thanksgiving
Token Feastevil
Token Sundae
Token Stampede
Sealing Ceremony of Mokuton
All Sheep Token card artworks show them exactly as they appear in this card's OCG/TCG artwork (except for the pink version, which is rotated).
The artwork design of the Sheep Tokens in this card's OCG/TCG artwork are taken from , specifically from the panel showing 4 Sheep being Summoned by this card.
Its Anime Counterpart is Shield Wall.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Bone Temple Block: If your opponent is under the effects of “Scapegoat” and cannot Special Summon, you can still activate “Bone Temple Block.” In this case, only you would Special Summon a monster.

Inherited Fortune: You can activate “Inherited Fortune” even if you cannot Special Summon at the time, such as if you activated “Scapegoat” this turn or “Archlord Kristya” is on the field.

OCG Rulings

During a turn in which "Scapegoat" was activated, the effect of "Gallis the Star Beast" cannot be activated.: If you cannot Special Summon because of the effect of "Scapegoat" etc, can the effect of "Gallis the Star Beast" be activated?

If "Scapegoat" is Chained to the activation of "Gallis the Star Beast", then the effect of "Gallis the Star Beast" still resolves, and you send the top card of your Deck to the Graveyard. However, if the sent card is a monster, then after inflicting damage "Gallis the Star Beast" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

You can activate "Bone Temple Block" after your opponent has Special Summoned by "Scapegoat". Only you will Special Summon a monster from the Graveyard.: Please explain the effect of "Bone Temple Block".

You can Special Summon "The Atmosphere" by removing from play a Token Monster, such as a "Sheep Token".: Can a Token Monster be used when Special Summoning a monster like "The Atmosphere" or "Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon"?

If "Transforming Sphere" is equipped with a monster like "Vanity's Fiend" or with a Special Summon Monster like "Dark Armed Dragon" that cannot be Special Summoned, then during the End Phase the effect to Special Summon the equipped monster to your opponent's field still activates. However, the monster cannot be Special Summoned, so it is sent to the Graveyard. Similarly, if you cannot Special Summon during the End Phase - for example, if the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is active, or if you activated "Scapegoat" during this turn - then the effect of "Transforming Sphere" still activates during the End Phase

Previously Official Rulings

You can only activate "
Scapegoat" if you have 4 or more vacant Monster Card Zones.

If the effect of "Cyber Jar" is activated during the turn you already activated "Scapegoat" all monsters that could be Special Summoned will be sent to the Graveyard.

If your opponent chains "Magic Jammer" to your "Scapegoat" you may still perform Summons that turn, but if they chain "Imperial Order" you may not perform Summons.

You may offer Sheep Tokens as Tributes for Toon Monsters, since they are Special Summoned and not Tribute Summoned.

If the effect of "Royal Oppression" is chained to your "Scapegoat" your Sheep Tokens will not be Special Summoned and you still cannot perform any Summons that turn.

If you have already Summoned a monster, including a Special Summon caused by the effect of your opponent’s "Cyber Jar" you cannot activate "Scapegoat".

You can Set a monster in the same turn you activate "Scapegoat".

If you control 2 monsters and your opponent activates "Change of Heart" to gain control of one and you later activate "Scapegoat" your monster will be destroyed during the End Phase if all 5 of your Monster Card Zones are still occupied.

If you activate "Monster Reborn" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" you can chain "Scapegoat" and "Royal Decree", but only "Scapegoat" will resolve since "Scapegoat" will prevent any Special Summons, and therefore, "Monster Reborn" cannot resolve.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Asura Priest:" "Asura Priest" cannot attack a monster if it has already attacked directly this turn. For example, the opponent activates"Scapegoat" after "Asura Priest" has completed a direct attack.

Black Garden:" If you control "Black Garden", when you activate "Scapegoat" the effect of "Black Garden" will activate after your "Sheep Tokens" are Special Summoned, but its effect will disappear. If instead, your opponent activates "Scapegoat", after they Special Summon their "Sheep Tokens" the effect of "Black Garden" activates, and when it resolves you will Special Summon the Rose Token.

Chain Disappearance:" The effect of "Chain Disappearance" can remove multiple monsters that are Summoned simultaneously, for example if your opponent activates "Scapegoat", you can respond with "Chain Disappearance" to remove all 4 "Sheep Tokens" that were Special Summoned from the field.

Cocoon Veil:" You cannot activate this card if you cannot Special Summon a monster due to the effect of "Scapegoat", etc.

Conscription:" If you cannot Summon because you activated "Scapegoat"that turn, you cannot activate "Conscription".

Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World / Sillva, Warlord of Dark World:" "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" / "Sillva, Warlord of Dark World" must be Special Summoned to resolve the second part of his effect. If you cannot Summon him because you activated "Scapegoat" that turn, or your Monster Card Zones are full, then the second part of his effect does not resolve.

Hero Counterattack:" You cannot activate this card if you cannot Special Summon a monster due to the effect of "Scapegoat", etc.

Jam Breeding Machine:" You cannot activate "Scapegoat" if you have this card active on your side of the field.

Jowgen the Spiritualist:" While this card is on the field neither player can activate "Scapegoat"

Kaiser Colosseum:" Your opponent cannot use"Scapegoat", etc. while "Kaiser Colosseum" prevents him from placing new monsters

"Light and Darkness Dragon": If you cannot Special Summon a monster because of a card’s effect (“Scapegoat”, etc.) when “Light and Darkness Dragon” is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard you will not be able to Special Summon the selected monster but you must still destroy every card that you control.

Metamorphosis:" You can Tribute a Monster Token (including a Sheep Token from "Scapegoat").

Morphtronic Celfon: If you cannot Special Summon a monster (due to "Scapegoat", etc.), you cannot activate "Morphtronic Celfon's" Attack Position effect.

Ojama Trio:" You cannot activate "Ojama Trio" if "Scapegoat"is preventing you from Summoning.

Reasoning:" You cannot activate "Reasoning" if you already activated "Scapegoat" this turn.

Spatial Collapse:" While "Spatial Collapse" is active and you have 1 or more cards already on your side of the field, you cannot activate "Scapegoat" because you would have your 1 previous card + the "Scapegoat" card + 4 monster tokens = 6.

The Last Warrior from Another Planet:" Neither player can activate "Scapegoat"

Torrential Tribute: ""Torrential Tribute" can be activated after a monster is Summoned through another card's effect, such as"Scapegoat"

Twin-Headed Behemoth:" If "Twin-Headed Behemoth" would be Special Summoned by its own effect, but your Monster Card Zones are full, or the effect of "Scapegoat" prevents you from Summoning, it still considered that its effect was activated, and you cannot use it again in the current Duel.

Vanity's Fiend:" Cards like "Scapegoat"cannot be activated while "Vanity's Fiend" is on the field.

Wild Fire:" You cannot activate "Wild Fire" if you are prevented from Special Summoning monsters, due to an effect like "Scapegoat".