Rivalry of Warlords

  Continuous / Trap
Each player can only control 1 Type of monster. Send all other face-up monsters they control to the GY. 
CARD ID: 90846359
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Rivalry of Warlords


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Revelation Volume 1 DR1-EN103 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series GLD1-EN043 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hidden Summoners HISU-EN059 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Magician's Force MFC-048 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Samurai Warlords Structure Deck SDWA-EN033 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card is the Type equivalent to Gozen Match.
Another counterpart to this card is There Can Be Only One, which forbids players from controlling more than one monster of each Type.


TCG Rulings

“Rivalry of Warlords” and “Gozen Match” are Continuous Trap Cards that make it so you can only control face-up monsters of 1 Type (for Rivalry) or 1 Attribute (for Gozen).: Card FAQ: "Rivalry of Warlords" & "Gozen Match"

When this Trap Card’s activation resolves, look at the face-up monsters you control. If they all have the same Type/Attribute, you don’t have to do anything else. If there are different Types/Attributes, you choose 1 Type/Attribute to keep, and send your face-up monsters that aren’t that Type/Attribute to the Graveyard.

While Rivalry/Gozen is active and you have a face-up monster, you "cannot" Summon monsters that are a different Type/Attribute from the monster(s) you already control.

So you can’t do any of the following to put a monster with the wrong Type/Attribute on your side of the field:
Normal Summon
Tribute Summon
Flip Summon
Xyz Summon
Synchro Summon
Fusion Summon
Special Summon with a monster’s own effect.
Activate a card or effect that can only Special Summon monsters of the wrong Type/Attribute (including effects that could theoretically Summon anything, but currently cannot, such as “Monster Reborn” when you control Spellcasters but the only monsters in the Graveyard are Zombies).

While Rivalry/Gozen is active, you can still Set monsters of any Type/Attribute, and you can Special Summon monsters of the wrong Type/Attribute face-down. But you can’t Flip Summon them afterwards, and they’re sent to the Graveyard after damage calculation if your opponent attacks them. (Also, in that case, you "won’t" get the effects of cards that need to be destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, because they’re sent to the Graveyard by the Trap Card’s effect instead. But Flip Effects will still activate.)

You can activate cards and effects that would Summon the same Type/Attribute monster as you have on the field.

You can also activate cards that would Summon more than one Type/Attribute of monster. The results depend on what you have on the field:
:If you DON’T control any monsters: You can activate cards that would Summon monsters with more than one Type/Attribute. All of them are Summoned, but you must immediately pick one Type/Attribute and send all others to the Graveyard.
:If you already DO control a monster: First of all, if the Summoning effect targets, you can only target monsters with the right Type/Attribute.
:However, you can also activate cards that would Summon lots of monsters without targeting (like “Return from the Different Dimension”), as long as at least 1 of them is the right Type/Attribute. In this case, only the right monsters are Summoned to the field.

The same rule applies to the “Gladiator Beast” monsters. You can return a Gladiator Beast to your Deck and activate its effect as long as there is another Gladiator Beast in your Deck that you COULD Summon that is the same Type/Attribute as the one you returned. However, if you have no face-up monsters when the effect resolves, you can Summon any Type/Attribute of monster.

You "can" take control of an opponent’s monster that’s the wrong Type/Attribute with a card like “Mind Control.” If you do, it’s sent to the Graveyard immediately after you gain control of it.

If you control no face-up monsters, you can Summon a monster of any Type/Attribute. Also, if Rivalry/Gozen is being negated, you can Summon monsters of any Type/Attribute. If it stops being negated, you have to send monsters to the Graveyard until you control only 1 Type/Attribute again, just like if Rivalry/Gozen had just resolved.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Trap Eater: If “Rivalry of Warlords” is on the field but is being blocked by “Royal Decree”, and you send “Royal Decree” to the Graveyard to Summon “Trap Eater”, the Summon will be successful. However, if you control another Type of monster besides that of “Trap Eater”, then “Trap Eater” will be sent to the Graveyard.

OCG Rulings

The cards that are "sent to the Graveyard" are not treated as "destroyed".: Trap Card > Rivalry of Warlords

Monsters with different Type than those that are face-up on the Field cannot be Special Summoned or Normal Summoned in a face-up position.

Even if this card's effect is applied, it is possible to Normal Set and to Special Summon monsters in face-down Defense Position.

If the monster that is flipped face-up has a different Type than the monster(s) that were face-up on the Field, the flipped face-up monster is sent to the Graveyard.

Sending the monster(s) with a different Type to the Graveyard does not start a Chain Link.

While your opponent controls an active "Rivalry of Warlords" and you control a non-Fiend-Type monster, you cannot send "Rivalry of Warlords" to the Graveyard to Special Summon "Trap Eater".: Can you Special Summon "Trap Eater" by sending a face-up "Rivalry of Warlords" on your opponent's field to the Graveyard?

If "Rivalry of Warlords" is active and you only control Warrior-Type monsters, then you can neither Normal Summon nor Flip Summon any non-Warrior-Type monsters. Furthermore, you cannot activate any effect that would Special Summon any non-Warrior-Type monsters.: If the effect of "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, then can you Normal Summon/Flip Summon/Special Summon a monster of a different Type?

If "Rivalry of Warlords" is active and you only control Warrior-Type monsters, then when a Spellcaster-Type monster is flipped by battle or by an effect like "Swords of Revealing Light", the flipped monster is sent to the Graveyard.

If "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, then you can only activate the effect of "Gladiator Beast Laquari" to Special Summon a "Gladiator Beast" monster if you have another Beast-Warrior-Type "Gladiator Beast" monster in your Deck; you cannot activate the effect if you do not have any Beast-Warrior-Type "Gladiator Beast" monsters in your Deck. Also, if "Gladiator Beast Laquari" is returned to the Deck and you control no other face-up monsters, then you can Special Summon a Rock-Type monster like "Gladiator Beast Hoplomus.: If the effect of "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, then can you activate the effect of "Gladiator Beast Laquari" and Special Summon a "Gladiator Beast" monster of a different Type?

While "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, when "Creature Swap" is activated, players may exchange monsters of different Types. After a monster switches control, if its new controller also controls a monster of a different Type, then the monster which switched control is sent to the Graveyard. However, if you only control one monster after the monsters switch control, then you only control one Type of monster, so the monster whose control you gained is not sent to the Graveyard.: If "Creature Swap" is activated after "Rivalry of Warlords" was activated, then can monsters switch control?

Since "Ninjitsu Art of Super-Transformation" can only Special Summon Dragon, Dinosaur or Sea Serpent-Type monsters, if "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, you cannot activate "Ninjitsu Art of Super Transformation

Previously Official Rulings

When "
Rivalry of Warlords" is activated, each player must send monsters to the Graveyard so that he controls only 1 Type of monster face-up. You don't select or name a Type when "Rivalry of Warlords" is activated; instead, you make it so you have only 1 Type. If, after this, your monsters are destroyed so you have no monsters on the field, you are free to play any Type again, and that new Type becomes the Type that you must play. (So if you send monsters to the Graveyard so you control only Spellcaster-Types, and your Spellcaster-Type monsters are destroyed, you may play a Dragon-Type monster, but can then only play Dragon-Type monsters as long as you control 1 or more face-up Dragon-Type monsters. If all your monsters are again destroyed, you can again play whatever Type you want.)

This also means that when "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, each player can control a different face-up Type than his opponent.

You can activate "Rivalry of Warlords" when either or both player(s) does not have any face-up monsters on the field, in which case once a player does have a face-up monster that monster's Type becomes that player's Type for purposes of "Rivalry of Warlords" (as long as the monster remains face-up on that player's side of the field).

When "Rivalry of Warlords" is activated, it has no effect on monsters that are face-down at that time and does not flip those monsters face-up.

While "Rivalry of Warlordsdestroyed after damage calculationdestroyed monster of a different Type was a Flip Effect Monster, its Flip Effectdestroyed monster is sent to the Graveyard. If your face-down monster of a different Type is flipped by "Swords of Revealing Light", "Book of Taiyoudestroyed as necessary.Monsters sent to the Graveyard by "Rivalry of Warlords" due to their Type are not destroyed.

As long as "
Rivalry of Warlords" is active, you cannot Summon, Flip Summon, or Special Summon an inappropriate Type face-up (including "Jinzo"), but you can Special Summon face-down with "The Shallow Grave", "Morphing Jar #2", etc.

If you have 2 monsters on the field face-up of the same Type, you cannot Tribute 1 of them for another monster that is a different Type (even "Jinzo") as you would then have 2 different Types.

If "Cyber Jar" is activated while "Rivalry of Warlordsdestroy monsters to make it 1 Type.

When "
Rivalry of Warlords" is active, and you change the Type of all of your monsters with "DNA Surgery" or "Parasite Paracide" or "D. Tribedestroyed, and you can also Summon, Flip Summon, and Special Summon additional monsters that do not have that printed Type on the card and they will be considered that Type and are not {{sicMagical Hats" while "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, the cards Special Summoned with "Magical Hats" are unaffected by "Rivalry of Warlords" because they have no Type.

When "Rivalry of Warlords" is active you can activate "Dragonic Attackdestroyed.

If "
Rivalry of Warlords" is active and you take control of your opponent's face-up monster with "Change of Heart" or "Snatch Stealdestroyed.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Amplifier"Jinzo with Amplifier", your Trap Cards are not negated and their effects are applied, including "Rivalry of Warlords"

Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys:" If "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, and your opponent takes control of your "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" while controlling monsters that are not Winged Beast-Type, "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is not considered destroyed by the effect of "Rivalry of Warlords", but rather by a condition that made it impossible for it to exist on that side of the field. So it is not Special Summoned by its own effect during the Standby Phase.

Uria, Lord of Searing Flames:" If you control "Rivalry of Warlords" and 2 other face-up Trap Cards, and you control a non-Pyro monster, you cannot send the 3 face-up Trap Cards to the Graveyard to Summon "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames" because "Rivalry of Warlords" prevents you from Summoning monsters of different Types.

Vampire Lorddestroyed, but is not considered {{sic