Red Dragon Archfiend


Dragon / Synchro / Effect  DARK / 8
1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
After damage calculation, if this card attacks a Defense Position monster your opponent controls: Destroy all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls. During your End Phase: Destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn. This card must be face-up on the field to activate and to resolve this effect.

3000/2000 
CARD ID: 70902743
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Red Dragon Archfiend

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2008 Wave 1 CT05-EN002 Secret Rare0.40€1.29€1.33€
Collectible Tins 2010 Wave 2 CT07-EN025 Super Rare0.20€0.91€0.57€
High-Speed Riders HSRD-EN023 Common0.02€0.40€0.23€
Legendary Collection 5D's Mega Pack LC5D-EN069 Common0.12€1.09€0.55€
Legendary Collection 5D's Mega Pack LC5D-EN069 Ultra Rare0.70€1.53€1.25€
The Duelist Genesis TDGS-EN041 Ultimate Rare6.00€8.03€8.82€
The Duelist Genesis TDGS-EN041 Ultra Rare0.50€1.12€1.05€
Turbo Pack: Booster Six TU06-EN008 Rare0.10€0.48€0.44€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artwork of Scarlet Security, Summoning Curse, and Clashing Souls.
Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode, Red Nova Dragon, Majestic Red Dragon, Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend, Hot Red Dragon Archfiend, Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Abyss, Hot Red Dragon Archfiend Bane, Hot Red Dragon Archfiend King Calamity and Tyrant Red Dragon Archfiend are counterparts of this card.
This monster is based upon the painting The Great Red Dragon by William Blake. Also, Stardust Dragon is based upon the Woman Clothed in the Sun (also featured in the painting), which happens to be surrounded by stars and opposing the demon in the painting, much like how Stardust is surrounded by stars and opposes the Red Dragon Archfiend in effect and posture.
This monster appears to be the antithesis of Stardust Dragon. Their poses mirror each other and have opposite color schemes. Also, their effects oppose each other as well. Stardust focuses on protecting monsters from being destroyed, while this card's effect focuses on destroying opposing monsters.
It is also interesting to note that if both monsters are on the same side field and for some reason Stardust Dragon does not attack, their rivalry arises at the End Phase, when their owner must choose to either destroy Stardust Dragon with this card's effect or negate this card's effect with Stardust Dragon.
This card (Red Daemon's Dragon) bears a similar OCG name to B. Skull Dragon (Black Daemon's Dragon). Both monsters are also demon-themed with horns.
Coincidentally, the Fusion Materials of B. Skull Dragon, Red-Eyes B. Dragon and Summoned Skull, are members of the Red and Archfiend archetypes respectively, both of which this monster is a member of.
Of the six Signer Dragons, this card and Life Stream Dragon are the only ones not to be featured as a cover card nor a Ghost Rare. Instead, this card's Assault Mode, Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode appears on the cover of Crimson Crisis and is the Ghost Rare of the set, while Majestic Red Dragon is the cover card of Absolute Powerforce and is the Ghost Rare of that set. In addition, Scarlight Red Dragon Archfiend is the cover card for Dimension of Chaos.
This card has the highest ATK of all Signer Dragons.
This card along with Black-Winged Dragon are the only Signer Dragons that have any relation to a specific archetype.
They are also the only two Signer Dragons to have their names changed in the TCG.
This monster attack is called Absolute Powerforce in the Japanese dub, and may (or not) be inspired on Mobile Fighter G Gundam Neo Japan Fighter Domon Kasshu's signature attack (Shining  Finger (while on Shinning Gundam) or Exploding God Finger (while on God Gundam), as both of them are pretty much the same, a powerful melee attack consisting of a blast of energy from the hand while opened. This is further implied because the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode is called Crimson THE END, which destroy all other monsters after it attacked; while the Exploding God Finger has a second part called Heat END, which makes the enemy Gundam explode while it is in the grasp of the God Finger; this may be just a coincidence though.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Crimson Fire: If you control “Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode” but not “Red Dragon Archfiend,” you cannot activate “Crimson Fire.”

Majestic Red Dragon: The effect that activates during the End Phase targets 1 "Red Dragon Archfiend" in your Graveyard.

Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode: The last effect targets the “Red Dragon Archfiend

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
"
XX-Saber Emmersblade: The effect of "XX-Saber Emmersblade" does not activate during Damage Calculation. It activates when cards are sent to the Graveyard in the Damage Step. So, if "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks a Defense Position "XX-Saber Emmersblade", the effect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" will activate and resolve before "XX-Saber Emmersblade" activates. Since "XX-Saber Emmersblade" was destroyed by the effect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" and not by battle, its will not activate.: XX-Saber Emmersblade vs Red Dragon Archfiend



OCG Rulings



"Red Dragon Archfiend" is treated as an "Archfiend" monster.: Red Dragon Archfiend

The "After damage calculation, if this card attacks a Defense Position monster your opponent controls: Destroy all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls." effect is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)

The "During your End Phase: Destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn." effect is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)

Even if all monsters you control attacked this turn, this effect still activates during the End Phase.

When a monster's attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder", the monster is not treated as having declared an attack, so the effect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" will still destroy it during the End Phase.: With "Red Dragon Archfiend", is a monster still destroyed when its attack is negated?

When "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks and destroys a Defense Position "Giant Rat", the efect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" destroys "Giant Rat", so the effect of "Giant Rat" is not activated.: When "Red Dragon Archfiend" destroys a Defense Position monster by battle, is the monster treated as being destroyed by battle?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Assault Revival: If "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is Special Summoned by "Assault Revival", when the monster is later destroyed and removed from play, its effect does not activate on the field, so it will not be negated. You can Special Summon a "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc.: When a monster Special Summoned by "Assault Revival" is destroyed, can the Syncho Monster be Special Summoned?

Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode: When "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed during the Damage Step - either by an effect or by battle - you can activate the effect which Special Summons "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc from your Graveyard.: When "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" is destroyed during the Damage Step, can "Red Dragon Archfiend" be Special Summoned?

Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode: When "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed while in your Spell & Trap Card Zone - for example, it is equipped to "Relinquished" - then you can activate the effect and Special Summon a "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc.: When a "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is being treated as an Equip Card and destroyed, can "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc be Special Summoned?

Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode: If "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed and removed from play by "Bottomless Trap Hole" etc, then you can activate the effect that Special Summons "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc.: Can "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc be Special Summoned when "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" is destroyed and removed from play?

Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode: If "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed by a card effect while face-down, you cannot activate the effect which Special Summons "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc.: When "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is destroyed, can "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc be Special Summoned?

Starlight Road: "Starlight Road" cannot be activated in the Damage Step.: Can "Starlight Road" be activated in the Damage Step?
Example: If your opponent's "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks a Defense Position monster while you control two or more Defense Position monsters, then when the effect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" activates after damage calculation you cannot Chain "Starlight Road

Previously Official Rulings


"
Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect activates after damage calculation in the Damage Step, before the effects of flipped Flip Effect Monsters or the effects of cards like "D.D. Warrior" activate. If "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks a face-down Flip Effect monster and destroys the Flip Effect monster with its effect, the Flip Effect monster's Flip Effect activates after it is destroyed.The revised confirms that "after damage calculation" effects and Flip effects activate at the same time.

If the Defense Position monster attacked by "Red Dragon Archfiend" is changed to Attack Position before damage calculation with "Final Attack Orders", etc., "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect does not activate.

If "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks a Defense Position "Giant Rat," etc., and destroys it with its effect, "Giant Rat's" effect does not activate because it is destroyed by "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect before it would be sent to the Graveyard by battle.

If the attack of one of your monsters is negated, with "Magic Cylinder", etc., the monster is destroyed by "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect in your End Phase.

“Red Dragon Archfiend’s” second effect will activate during each of your End Phases, even if every monster you control has attacked.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Pandemonium: You can't use "Pandemonium" to add a Synchro Monster Archfiend from the Extra Deck to your hand, like "Red Dragon Archfiend".

Stardust Dragon: If your Defense Position "Stardust Dragon" is attacked by "Red Dragon Archfiend" and it is destroyed by battle, you cannot chain "Stardust Dragon's" effect to "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect that destroys your Defense Position monsters.