Raviel, Lord of Phantasms


Fiend / Effect  DARK / 10
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by Tributing 3 Fiend-Type monsters, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways. If your opponent Normal Summons a monster(s): Special Summon 1 "Phantasm Token" (Fiend-Type/DARK/Level 1/ATK 1000/DEF 1000) for each monster Summoned, but it cannot declare an attack. Once per turn: You can Tribute 1 monster; this card gains ATK equal to the original ATK of the Tributed monster until the end of this turn.
4000/4000 
CARD ID: 69890967
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Raviel, Lord of Phantasms

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2006 Wave 1 CT03-EN003 Secret Rare2.60€3.11€3.23€
Dark Revelation Volume 4 DR04-EN123 Ultra Rare90.25€-,--€30.83€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN098 Ultra Rare0.90€2.42€2.23€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years LC02-EN003 Ultra Rare0.42€0.93€0.87€
Shadow of Infinity SOI-EN003 Ultimate Rare30.00€86.33€74.98€
Shadow of Infinity SOI-EN003 Ultra Rare3.45€7.65€8.08€

Card Trivia

 This card appears in the artwork of Magistery Alchemist and Sacred Beast Awakening.
This monster is the cover card for both Shadow of Infinity and Dark Revelation Volume 4.
The design of Raviel, Lord of Phantasms was overseen by Kenichi Hara.
This monster is considered to be the Sacred Beast incarnate of the Egyptian God card Obelisk the Tormentor, noted by this monster's blue color, humanoid appearance, and similar ATK-gaining anime effects.
Like Obelisk's anime effect, this card also possess an effect to tribute a monster in order to increase its attack power.
The Sacred Beasts are named after angels in Judeo-Christianity. This card's name is an alternate spelling of the name of Raziel.
This card was tied with The Wicked Dreadroot and Darkness Neosphere for having the strongest original ATK and DEF of any Fiend monster in the game; Currently, Dystopia the Despondent holds the title.
According to a  by Dan Scheidegger (an Upper Deck Entertainment employee), this card was originally approved to have Genma in its TCG name, but a 3rd company decided they didn't like the word.
In another , Dan further explained that this was not for censorship reasons, but rather because the company did not think the name was cool enough.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



If you have three copies of "Phantom of Chaos", and one of each is copying "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames", "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder", and "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms", then you can remove from play the three copies of "Phantom of Chaos" as Fusion Material Monsters to Special Summon "Armityle the Chaos Phantom

Previously Official Rulings


You can
Tribute face-down Fiends to Special Summon "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms".

Tributing 1 monster is a cost to activate this card's Ignition Effect. You cannot Tribute this card for its own effect.

Summoning a "Phantasm Token" is a Trigger Effect that activates when the opponent Normal Summons a monster. The activation of this effect can be chained to.

If "Skill Drain" is activated, any "Phantasm Tokens" on the field still cannot attack. (Also, while "Skill Drain" is active, "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms" will not generate any more "Phantasm Tokens".)

A "Phantasm Token" cannot be forced to attack with a card effect like "Dark Spirit of the Silent" or "Amazoness Archers".

If your opponent Normal Summons a monster in a chain using "Ultimate Offering", resolve all effects in that chain, then activate the effect of "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms" to start a new chain. If the Normal Summon for "Ultimate Offering" was Chain Link 2 or higher, you still activate the effect of "Raviel". It does not miss the timing.

If all of your Monster Card Zones are full, this card's effect will activate, but if there are no available spaces when the effect resolves, the effect is not applied.

If an effect is chained to turn "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms" face-down, or remove it from the field, the "Phantasm Token" will still be Special Summoned when the effect resolves.