Pulling the Rug

  Counter / Trap
Negate the activation and effect of an Effect Monster whose effect activated when a monster was Normal Summoned (even itself), and destroy that Effect Monster. 
CARD ID: 34717238
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Pulling the Rug


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Champion Pack: Game Five CP05-EN010 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Strike of Neos STON-EN060 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Strike of Neos STON-EN060 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 The artwork depicts a tatami (畳). Tatami are mats that are traditional Japanese flooring. Made of woven straw, and traditionally packed with straw, tatami are made in individual mats of uniform size and shape, bordered by brocade or plain green cloth.
This is most likely a reference to Tatami Gaeshi, a trick which is believed to have been used by ninjas. It involves carefully timing and flipping a tatami vertically to block incoming projectiles.
The English name may refer to a trick popular in America cartoons, when a long carpet is pulled out from under a person, causing them to fall.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Swallow Flip: Similar to "Pulling the Rug," “Swallow Flip” can be activated when the effect of a monster on the field activates due to a different monster being Special Summoned. For example, it can negate and destroy "King Tiger Wanghu” on the field, or “Cyber Dinosaur

Previously Official Rulings

This card does not target.

Pulling the Rug" can be activated when any Trigger Effect is activated due to a Normal Summon. Even if the Trigger Effect came from a different monster than the one that was Normal Summoned. (In this case, the monster that produced the Trigger Effect is destroyed, not the monster that was Normal Summoned.)

Mentions in Other Rulings

Light and Darkness Dragon: When a monster is Summoned that has an effect that activates at the time the monster is successfully Summoned (“Zaborg the Thunder Monarch”, “Breaker the Magical Warrior”, etc.) while “Light and Darkness Dragon” is face-up on the field, the effect of the Summoned monster will be Chain Link 1 and “Light and Darkness Dragon” will be Chain Link 2. Because of this, it is not possible to use “Pulling the Rug” to negate the effect of the monster if it was Normal Summoned.

Judge List Rulings

You can chain "Pulling the Rug" to a "Monarch's" Trigger Effect. If the "Monarch's" effect is optional (like "Mobius the Frost Monarch") and its controller chooses not to activate it, then you can't chain "Pulling the Rug" : ¿Cual es la forma de activar "Pulling the Rug" contra los Monarcas?: Pulling The Rug

Gemini monster: "Pulling the Rug" cannot be used to negate the second Normal Summon of a Gemini Monster, since the it does not begin a Chain.: Gemini & Pulling the Rug

Out of Date

You cannot chain "Pulling the Rug" to an Ignition Effect that was activated when a monster was Normal Summoned. ("Exiled Force", etc.)This is no longer correct due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority. Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window.