Prohibition


  Continuous / Spell
Activate by declaring 1 card name. Cards with that name, and their effects, cannot be used. Cards already on the field are not affected (including face-down cards). 
CARD ID: 43711255
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Prohibition

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Champion Pack: Game Eight CP08-EN002 Super Rare8.00€-,--€15.98€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN267 Secret Rare2.00€4.11€4.04€
Machina Mayhem Structure Deck SDMM-EN022 Common0.02€0.84€0.51€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-039 Rare0.10€0.87€0.62€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-E039 Rare0.10€0.87€0.62€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-EN039 Rare0.10€0.87€0.62€

Card Trivia

 As the name and artwork suggests, this card is based on the Prohibition Era in the United States. It was a nationwide constitutional ban on the production, importation, transportation, and sale of alcoholic beverages from 1920 to 1933.
This is symbolic in the card effect, which bans the opponent from using any card that you declare.
Effect-wise this card has an Effect Monster counterpart and a Trap counterpart: Psi-Blocker and Armageddon Designator respectively.
This card's artwork is similar to that of Magic Law.

Rulings

TCG Rulings


Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
In place of declaring a FULL card name, a precise description of a card's stats, appearance, and/or effects, is considered acceptable so long as both players are in clear agreement over which card is being described.
Saying "Dekoichi" instead of "
Dekoichi the Battlechanted Locomotive" is acceptable as long as there isn't another card with the name "Dekoichi".
In the case of a card like "Luster Dragon", since the original printing of "Luster Dragon #2" did not have the #2 by its card name, you should ask the player for additional information. If they say "The Level 6 one" is then enough information provided so that both players know which card it is.: Question / Mind Crush / Prohibition / ETC. vs Card Names



OCG Rulings



"Cannot play" ("cannot be used") includes Normal Summoning/Special Summoning the declared Monster, activating the declared Monster's effect, activating the declared Spell/Trap Card, changing the declared Monster's battle position, or attacking with the declared Monster.: Prohibition

Cards already on the field are unaffected by "Prohibition".

If "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker" declare the name of a Fusion or Ritual Monster, it cannot be Fusion or Ritual Summoned. Also, if a Fusion Monster is declared with "Prohibition", it cannot be used as a Fusion Material. Furthermore, if a monster is declared with "Prohibition", it can be sent from the Deck to the Graveyard with "Future Fusion".: If "Prohibition" declare the name of a Fusion or Ritual Monster, can the declared monster be Fusion or Ritual Summoned?

A monster that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be put on the field by another card effect like "Monster Reborn".: Can a monster that was declared by "Prohibition" be Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn"?

A monster declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker" cannot used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon.: Can a monster declared by "Psi-Blocker" used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon?

A monster declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker" cannot used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon.: Can a monster declared by "Psi-Blocker" used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon?

A Token Monster cannot be declared by "Prohibition" or the effect of "Psi-Blocker". Therefore, you cannot declare "Emissary of Darkness Token" with "Prohibition" or the effect of "Psi-Blocker".: Can a Token Monster be declared by "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker"?

Versus Specific Cards

A Legendary Ocean: "A Legendary Ocean" is always treated as "Umi". Therefore, "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be declared with "Prohibition" and you must declare "Umi". If "Umi" is declared with "Prohibition", "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be activated.: Can "A Legendary Ocean" be declared by "Prohibition"?

Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor: When you Special Summon a Synchro Monster by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor", the banished monster is not treated as a Synchro Material Monster. Therefore, a "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn" that was declared by "Prohibition" can be targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor". The targeted monster is banished normally and 1 "Blackwing" Synchro Monster whose Level equals the total Levels of the banished monsters is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.: Can a monster that was declared by "Prohibition" be targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor"?

Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Hawk: A "Fire Formation - Tensu" that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be Set by the effect of "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Hawk".: Can a "Fire Formation - Tensu" that was declared by "Prohibition" be Set by the effect of "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Hawk"?

D.D. Scout Plane: If "Prohibition" declares "D.D. Scout Plane", the effect of "D.D. Scout Plane" will not activate during the End Phase if "D.D. Scout Plane" is banished from the hand, Deck, or Graveyard.: When "Prohibition" is activated and declares "D.D. Scout Plane", can it be Special Summoned during the End Phase?

Elemental HERO Prisma: If "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" is declared by "Prohibition" while "Elemental HERO Prisma" is on the field, then when the name of "Elemental HERO Prisma" is changed to "Gladiator Beast Bestiari", it can still attack and change its battle position. If "Prohibition" was activated and later "Elemental HERO Prisma" was Summoned, then when the name of "Elemental HERO Prisma" is changed to "Gladiator Beast Bestiari", it cannot attack or change its battle position.: Can "Elemental HERO Prisma", etc gain the name of a monster declared by "Prohibition"?

Evilswarm Thunderbird: "Prohibition" declares "Evilswarm Thunderbird" while that card is on the field. If "Evilswarm Thunderbird" is banished by its own effect, during the next Standby Phase the effect of "Prohibition" is applied and "Evilswarm Thunderbird" cannot return to the field and is sent to the Graveyard. Also, if "Prohibition" declares "Evilswarm Thunderbird" while it is banished by its own effect, during the next Standby Phase the effect of "Prohibition" is applied and "Evilswarm Thunderbird" cannot return to the field and is sent to the Graveyard.: While the effect of "Prohibition" is being applied, if "Evilswarm Thunderbird" is banished by its own effect, what happens?

Exodia the Forbidden One: If a player completes "Exodia the Forbidden One" while "Prohibition" is active and declaring "Exodia the Forbidden One", then that player still wins the Duel.: Do you still win the Duel if you complete "Exodia the Forbidden One" while "Prohibition" has "Exodia the Forbidden One" declared?

Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder: A "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder" that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be Special Summoned. Therefore, it cannot be Special Summoned by sending 3 face-up Continuous Spell Cards to the Graveyard, including "Prohibition".: Can a "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder" that was declared by "Prohibition" be Special Summoned by sending 3 Continuous Spell Cards to the Graveyard, including "Prohibition"?

Harpie Queen: Even if "Harpie Lady" was declared by "Prohibition", "Harpie Queen" can be Normal Summoned. However, since "Harpie Queen" is treated as "Harpie Lady" by its own effect, the effect of "Prohibition" is applied. Therefore, "Harpie Queen" treated as "Harpie Lady" cannot declare an attack or change its battle position.: If "Harpie Lady" was declared by "Prohibition", can "Harpie Queen" be Normal Summoned?

Hazy Pillar: A "Hazy Flame Sphynx" that was declared by "Prohibition" can be treated as an Xyz Material by the effect of "Hazy Pillar".: Can a "Hazy Flame Sphynx" that was declared by "Prohibition" be treated as an Xyz Material by the effect of "Hazy Pillar"?

Gladiator Beast Bestiari: Returning "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" to the Deck to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus" is considered "playing" ("using") "Gladiator Beast Bestiari". Therefore, if "Psi-Blocker" declares "Gladiator Beast Bestiari", then you cannot return "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" to the Deck to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus".: If "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" was declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker", can you use it to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus"?

Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World: If "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" is declared for "Prohibition" and cannot be played, then you can still return it to the hand for the Summoning procedure of "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World".: Can you Special Summon "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" by returning to the hand a "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" declared by "Prohibition"?

Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru: If "Prohibition" has declared "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru", the effect of "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" that is activated from the Graveyard cannot be activated. There's no difference if "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is sent to the Graveyard before or after being declared by "Prohibition".: If "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is declared for "Prohibition", then are you unable to activate its effects which add it to your hand from your Graveyard?

Jinzo: If "Jinzo" is declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker", the Continuous Effect of "Jinzo" is no longer applied.: When activating "Psi-Blocker" and declaring "Jinzo", is its effect still applied?

Necro Gardna: If "Prohibition" declares "Necro Gardna", then you cannot activate the effect of a "Necro Gardna". There's no difference if "Necro Gardna" is sent to the Graveyard before or after being declared by "Prohibition". Also, if the effect of "Necro Gardna" is activated during the Main Phase, and afterwards is declared by "Prohibition", the effect that negates the next attack during the Battle Phase is applied normally.: Can you activate the effect of "Necro Gardna" to negate an attack when "Necro Gardna" is declared by "Prohibition"?

Phantom of Chaos: "See above; listed under "Elemental HERO Prisma"."

Holactie the Creator of Light: If "Prohibition" has declared "Holactie the Creator of Light", then "Holactie the Creator of Light" cannot be used. Therefore, "Holactie the Creator of Light" cannot be Special Summoned from the hand by Tributing "Obelisk the Tormentor", "Slifer the Sky Dragon" and "The Winged Dragon of Ra".: If "Prohibition" has declared "Holactie the Creator of Light", can "Holactie the Creator of Light" be Special Summoned from the hand?

Vampire Takeover: When "Vampire Takeover" resolves, "Vampire Kingdom" is activated. Therefore, if "Vampire Kingdom" is declared by "Prohibition", "Vampire Takeover

Previously Official Rulings


"cannot be used" means that the declared card cannot be placed onto the field from your hand. A declared Monster Card cannot be Summoned or Set from your hand, and any effect it activates while in your hand cannot be activated. A declared Spell or Trap Card cannot be activated or Set from your hand. Every player in the Duel cannot "use" the declared card.

The declared card may be used to pay costs. The declared card can be
discarded, Tributed, or sent to the Graveyard.

"Prohibition" does not target the declared card.

A declared Monster Card can be Special Summoned from the Deck, Graveyard, or Removed Zone. If this happens, the Monster Card's effects are not applied, and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually. Any maintainence costs must still be paid.

Declared cards on the field before "Prohibition" resolves are unaffected. Declared Monster Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be Flip Summoned. Declared Spell or Trap Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be activated.

After declaring a card for "Prohibition", the declared card cannot be changed.

If a Spell or Trap Card is declared with "Prohibition", it cannot be Set with "Dust Tornado's" effect.

If a declared Monster Card is Special Summoned face-down (by "Cyber Jar", etc.), when it is flipped face-up its effects are not applied. If it has a Flip Effect, the Flip Effect does not activate.

The Ignition-like effects of a declared Continuous Spell or Trap Card face-up on the field before "Prohibition" resolves can still be activated.

If a Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" is Special Summoned, it cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon.

If a Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" is Special Summoned face-down and afterwards "Prohibition" is negated, the declared Monster Card can be Flip Summoned and its effects will be applied.

If "Mystic Tomato" is declared with "Prohibition" while a "Mystic Tomato" is on the field, when the "Mystic Tomato" is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard its effect activates. If it Special Summons another "Mystic Tomato", the Special Summoned "Mystic Tomatochained. The word should be "changed", not "chained".

If "
Exodia the Forbidden One" is declared with "Prohibition", when a player has all five pieces of Exodia in their hand, they win the Duel. This is a win condition and cannot be prevented with "Prohibition".

If "Sinister Serpent" is declared, a "Sinister Serpent" in the Graveyard cannot be returned to its owner's hand. If the "Sinister Serpent" was on the field before "Prohibition" resolved, it can be returned to its owner's hand but "cannot be used" after returning to its owner's hand.

If "Prohibition" is active and another "Prohibition" is activated, declaring "Prohibition", the copies of "Prohibition" on the field are unaffected, but other "Prohibition" cannot be activated or Set.

If "Prohibition" declares "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest", if the declared card is on the field when "Prohibition" resolves, its effect will activate when it is sent to the Graveyard. If the declared card is Special Summoned after "Prohibition" resolves, it "cannot be used", so its effect will not activate when it is sent to the Graveyard.

If "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" is on the field when declared by "Prohibition", when it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard its effect activates, but the Special Summoned "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" "cannot be used", so their effects will not be applied when they are destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard.

A Level 4 or lower Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" can be Special Summoned by "Cyber Jar", but it "cannot be used" so its effects are not applied and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually.

If "Jinzo" is declared by "Prohibition", the effect of a "Jinzo" that is already on the field is still applied. If a "Jinzo" is Special Summoned, it "cannot be used", so the effects of Trap Cards are not negated and Trap Cards can be activated.

After your "Parasite Paracide" is shuffled into your opponent's Deck by its effect, if "Prohibition" is activated and declares "Parasite Paracide", when your opponent draws "Parasite Paracide" its effect is applied because its Flip Effect had already resolved.

If the effect of "Prohibition" is being negated, the declared card can be "used". If the declared card is on the field when the effect of "Prohibition" becomes active again the declared card on the field is unaffected.

If a Fusion Substitute Monster like "King of the Swamp" is declared by "Prohibition", it cannot be used as a Fusion Material substitute in a Fusion Summon while it is in your hand.

If "Thunder Dragon", "Honest", or "Kuriboh" is declared with "Prohibition", it can be discarded with "Card Destruction" but it cannot be discarded to activate its effect.

"Valkyrion the Magna Warrior", "The Fiend Megacyber", or "Gate Guardian" declared by "Prohibiton" cannot be Special Summoned from your hand.

If a Fusion Monster is declared with "Prohibition", it cannot be Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck with "Polymerization". If a Fusion Material Monster is declared, it cannot be used in a Fusion Summon.

If a Ritual Monster is declared with "Prohibition", it cannot be Ritual Summoned.

If "Lord of D." is declared with "Prohibition", if it is Special Summoned it "cannot be used", but "The Flute of Summoning Dragon" can be activated.

"Cyber Harpie Lady" cannot be declared with "Prohibition", because its name is treated as "Harpie Lady". "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be declared with "Prohibition", because its name is treated as "Umi".

If "Prohibition" declares "Jinzo" and afterwards it is negated by "Imperial Order", if "Jinzo" is Summoned it will negate "Imperial Order", but its effects will still be applied because it is already on the field when "Prohibition" is reapplied.

If "Metalzoa" or "Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon" is declared with "Prohibition", they cannot be Special Summoned from the Deck.

If a "Spirit Message" card is declared with "Prohibition", it can still be placed onto the field by the effect of "Destiny Board".

If "The Mask of Remnants" is declared with "Prohibition", when "Masked Beast Des Gardius" is sent to the Graveyard and its effect activates, "The Mask of Remnants" will be equipped from the Deck onto the opponent's monster.

If "Neko Mane King" is declared with "Prohibition", when "Neko Mane King" is sent from the hand to the Graveyard by the opponent's effect, its effect does not activate. If "Neko Mane King" was already on the field before "Prohibition" resolved, its effect will activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

D.D. Scout Plane: If "Prohibition" was used and "D.D. Scout Plane" is prohibited, "D.D. Scout Plane" cannot be Special Summoned and remains removed from play.

Harpie Queen: If “Prohibition” is activated choosing “Harpie Lady”, “Harpie Queen” will not have its name treated as “Harpie Lady” and can still attack and change its battle position.

Horseytail: If "Horseytail" is declared with "Prohibition" after the "Horseytail Token" is Special Summoned, the discard effect is applied when "Horseytail Token" is destroyed.

King of the Swamp: If "King of the Swamp" is selected for the effect of "Prohibition", you cannot use either of its effects.

Neko Mane King: When "Neko Mane King" is designated by "Prohibition", its effect is not activated.

Proto-Cyber Dragon: If "Prohibition" is activated choosing "Cyber Dragon", "Proto-Cyber Dragon" will not have its name treated as "Cyber Dragon" and can still attack and change its battle position.

Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon: If you have a “Red-Eyes B. Dragon” equipped with “Metalmorph” and your opponent activates “Prohibition” and declares “Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon”, you cannot Tribute the “Red-Eyes B. Dragon” to Special Summon “Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon”.

Spiritualism: "Spiritualism" cannot be activated if it is declared with "Prohibition" or while the effect of "Cold Wave" is being applied.