Prime Material Dragon


Dragon / Effect  LIGHT / 6
Any effect that would inflict damage to a player increases their Life Points by the same amount, instead. During either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated that would destroy a monster(s) on the field: You can send 1 card from your hand to the Graveyard; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy it.
2400/2000 
CARD ID: 12298909
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Prime Material Dragon

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dragons Collide Structure Deck SDDC-EN011 Common0.02€0.20€0.25€
Gold Series 2009 GLD2-EN032 Gold Rare0.18€0.44€0.50€
Phantom Darkness PTDN-EN087 Super Rare0.02€0.29€0.21€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN065 Gold Rare0.09€0.28€0.24€

Card Trivia

 This card is likely to be based on the Prima Materia, which is the alleged primitive formless base of all matter, given particular manifestation through the influence of forms.
This card has a Winged Beast counterpart, Prime Material Falcon.
Some Spanish prints of this card have instead translated as en vez in the lore, instead of en su lugar.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Black-Winged Dragon: If you control "Black-Winged Dragon" and "Prime Material Dragon" and an effect that would inflict damage to you is activated, you will gain Life Points instead and no Black Feather Counters will be placed.

Infernity Reflector: You can activate "Infernity Reflector" even if "Des Wombat" or "Prime Material Dragon" is face-up on the field. You cannot activate it if "Vanity's Fiend" is face-up on the field.

Nature's Reflection: If "Nature's Reflection" and "Prime Material Dragon" are both in effect and your opponent activates "Sparks," your opponent will gain 200 Life Points

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
You can activate "
Musakani Magatama" or "Prime Material Dragon" to negate the effect of "Time Wizard" as "Time Wizard" is guaranteed to destroy a card.: Time Wizard vs. Musakani Magatama and Prime Material Dragon



OCG Rulings



If "Dian Keto the Cure Master" is activated while both "Prime Material Dragon" and "Bad Reaction to Simochi" are on the field, "Bad Reaction to Simochi" turns the effect into an effect which inflicts damage, but then "Prime Material Dragon" turns the effect into an effect which recovers Life Points. "Dian Keto the Cure Master" will recover 1000 LP.: When "Prime Material Dragon" and "Bad Reaction to Simochi" are on the field, when an effect which recovers Life Points is activated, how does it resolve?

If "Ookazi" is activated while both "Prime Material Dragon" and "Bad Reaction to Simochi" are on the field, "Prime Material Dragon" turns the effect into an effect which recovers Life Points, but then "Bad Reaction to Simochi" turns the effect into an effect which deals damage. "Ookazi" will deal 800 damage.

The effect which turns damage into Life Point recovery is also applied to the opponent.: Effect Monster > Prime Material Dragon

During the Damage Step, you can activate the effect which negates the activation of a Spell/Trap/Monster Card's effect.

"Prime Material Dragon"s effect can be used to negate the activation of a Continuous Spell/Trap Card's effect which destroys a monster on the field, such as "Blaze Accelerator" or "Skull Lair".: Can "Prime Material Dragon"s effect negate the "activation of the effect" of a Continuous Spell/Trap Card?

To activate the effect of "Prime Material Dragon" which negates and destroys, the other effect must directly destroy a monster, and "Prime Material Dragon"s effect must be directly chained to the other effect.: When a monster with an "effect to destroy a monster(s) on the field" activates an effect which does something other than destroy, can you activate "Prime Material Dragon"?
Example: "Prime Material Dragon" cannot be chained to "Judgment Dragon"s effect which sends cards from the deck to the Graveyard (even though "Judgment Dragon"s effect is being activated, and "Judgment Dragon

Previously Official Rulings


"
Prime Material Dragon's" first effect is a Continuous Effect.

While "Prime Material Dragon" is face-up on the field, if an effect would inflict damage to both players' Life Points, both players will gain Life Points instead.

If "The Immortal of Thunder" is sent to the Graveyard, its owner will lose 5000 Life Points because this is not damage. "Prime Material Dragon" cannot change it into a Life Point gain.

"Prime Material Dragon's" second effect can be activated during any Game Phase, including the Damage Step.

"Prime Material Dragon's" second effect can be activated when the effect of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card that destroys a monster(s) is activated, like "Blaze Accelerator" or "Skull Lair".

"Prime Material Dragon's" second effect works like "My Body as a Shield". "Prime Material Dragon" can negate cards such as "Smashing Ground", "Nobleman of Crossout", "Shield Crush", "Thousand Knives", "Trap Hole", "Mirror Force", "Ring of Destruction", "Torrential Tribute", "Bottomless Trap Hole", "Swarm of Scarabs", "Dark Armed Dragon", "Raigeki Break", "XYZ-Dragon Cannon", "Mega Ton Magical Cannon", "Exiled Force" (negates the effect but will not destroy "Exiled Force" as it is already in the Graveyard), "Soul Taker" (negates "Soul Taker" so you do not gain Life Points), "Jowgen the Spiritualist" (when its effect is activated), "Dragon's Gunfire" (if the effect that destroys a monster is selected), or "The Last Warrior from Another Planet" (negates the effect and destroys "The Last Warrior from Another Planet").

"Prime Material Dragon" can only be used against effects that will destroy monsters at that time.
For example, you cannot use "Prime Material Dragon's" effect when "Dark Armed Dragon" is Special Summoned; you can only use it in response to the activation of "Dark Armed Dragon's" effect when it targets a monster.
Also, you cannot use "Prime Material Dragon's" effect against cards whose effects will not destroy a monster right away, so you cannot use "Prime Material Dragon" against "Jigen Bakudan", "Ekibyo Drakmord", "Magical Hats", "Steel Scorpion", Toon Monsters, "Thunder Nyan Nyan", "Gradius' Option", "Summoner of Illusions", "Limiter Removal", "Call of the Haunted", "Premature Burial", or "Autonomous Action Unit".

You cannot use "Prime Material Dragon's" effect against cards whose effects may or may not destroy a monster right away, such as "Earthshaker", "Barrel Dragon", "Acid Trap Hole", or "Time Wizard".

You cannot use "Prime Material Dragon's" effect against monsters with Continuous Effects, such as "Kotodama".

You can activate the second effect of your "Prime Material Dragon" when your opponent activates the second effect of their "Prime Material Dragon".

When "Judgment Dragon's" effect to destroy all other cards on the field is activated, "Prime Material Dragon's" effect can be chained.

You cannot chain “Prime Material Dragon's” effect to “Magical Dimension”, since destroying a monster on the field is optional.

If "Royal Oppression's" effect is activated to negate the Special Summon of a monster, like "Cyber Dragon" or "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus", "Prime Material Dragon's" effect cannot be chained because the monster being Special Summoned is not considered to be "on the field" until its Summon is successful.

If you attack with "Jirai Gumo" while you have "Prime Material Dragon" face-up on your side of the field, when you call the coin toss wrong you still lose half of your Life Points because losing Life Points in this way is not damage.

If your opponent activates "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus" effect and selects to destroy a monster, you can chain "Prime Material Dragon's" effect.

When "Crush Card Virus" is activated, if there is a face-up monster that would be destroyed you can chain "Prime Material Dragon's" effect.

If the effect of a Normal Spell Card sent to the Graveyard by "Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude" will destroy monster(s) on the field, "Prime Material Dragon's" effect can be chained.