Power Bond

  Normal / Spell
Fusion Summon 1 Machine Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck, using monsters from your hand or field as Fusion Material, and it gains ATK equal to its original ATK. During the End Phase of the turn this card is activated, you take damage equal to the amount of ATK gained from this effect at the time of the Summon. 
CARD ID: 37630732
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Power Bond


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Cyber Dragon Revolution Structure Deck SDCR-EN022 Common0.02€0.13€0.10€
Cybernetic Revolution CRV-EN037 Ultimate Rare8.90€40.80€24.20€
Cybernetic Revolution CRV-EN037 Ultra Rare0.99€1.89€1.76€
Dark Revelation Volume 4 DR04-EN037 Super Rare9.70€8.58€11.77€
Duelist Pack: Zane Truesdale DP04-EN020 Rare0.02€0.17€0.20€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN184 Secret Rare1.25€2.37€2.39€
Legendary Dragon Decks LEDD-ENB15 Common0.02€0.09€0.06€
Legendary Duelists: White Dragon Abyss LED3-EN022 Common0.02€0.10€0.07€
Ra Yellow Mega Pack RYMP-EN062 Common0.02€0.46€0.36€

Card Trivia

 Power Bond is a signature card of Zane Truesdale and Syrus Truesdale.
This card also symbolizes the bond between Truesdale brothers.
The welding appears to be done using an Oxy-Acetylene torch (which is interesting as most people use them to cut metal instead of welding it). Though it's still used for welding thicker metal together.
This card appears in the artworks of Banish Reactor and Three of a Kind.


OCG Rulings

You can still activate cards like "Polymerization" or "Power Bond" and Fusion Summon while the effect of "Macro Cosmos" is active and removing from play the Fusion Material Monsters instead of having them sent to the Graveyard. If "Polymerization" is activated while "Macro Cosmos" is active, then the Fusion Material Monsters to be sent to the Graveyard will be removed from play instead, and the Fusion Monster will still be Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck

Previously Official Rulings

ATK bonus for "Power Bond" lasts as long as the Fusion Monster is face-up on the field. If it is flipped face-down or removed from the field, the ATK increase disappears.

The ATK bonus for "Power Bond" is not a fixed number. It is a bonus equal to the original ATK. So if the original ATK changes, so does the bonus from "Power Bond".

You cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door" against the damage from "Power Bond" because the damage happens much later than the activation of the "Power Bond" card.

Even if the Fusion Monster is removed from the field or flipped face-down, you cannot negate the effect of "Power Bond" and the player will still take damage equal to the original ATK.

The damage you take because of "Power Bond" is equal to the original ATK of the Fusion Monster at the time the monster is Special Summoned. If the Fusion Monster has its original ATK changed, this does not affect the damage inflicted by "Power Bond".

If you Fusion Summon "UFOroid Fighter" with 3000 ATK, and then later in the turn "Skill Drain" is activated, reducing its ATK to 0, you will still take 3000 points of damage during the End Phase. If you send "UFOroid Fighter" to the Graveyard so that its effect resets and its original ATK becomes zero, you still take damage equal to its original ATK at the time it was Special Summoned by "Power Bond".

You can prevent the damage from "Power Bond" with "Des Wombat".

If you equip the monster Special Summoned by "Power Bond" with "Megamorph", the ATK gained from "Power Bond" disappears but the damage is still inflicted in the End Phase.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Chthonian Polymer: You can only activate this card when the opponent Fusion Summons a monster, including with a Special Summon that is treated as a Fusion Summon, like "Miracle Fusion" or "Power Bond". You cannot activate it when they Special Summon a Fusion Monster with a card effect, like "Metamorphosis" or "Cyber-Stein".

Fusion Recovery: You can use "Fusion Recovery" to retrieve a Fusion Material Monster that was used with "Power Bond" or "Fusion Gate" or "Polymerization".

Non-Fusion Area: You cannot activate "Power Bond", "Miracle Fusion", or "Dragon's Mirror" when this card is active because they are treated as Fusion Summons. You can activate "Fusion Gate", but you cannot activate its effect.

UFOroid Fighter: If "UFOroid Fighter" is Special Summoned with "Power Bond", first apply the effect of "UFOroid Fighter" to determine its original ATK & DEF, and then apply the ATK increase of "Power Bond".

Judge List Rulings

Limiter Removal: If a Machine-Type Fusion Monster has its ATK doubled, because it was Fusion Summoned with "Power Bond", and "Limiter Removal" is then activated, the monster's total ATK (doubled by "Power Bond") is doubled again by "Limiter Removal".: Limiter Removal Clarification

Out of Date

If "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active and "Power Bond" is used to Special Summon a Fusion Monster that has no effect, the Fusion Monster will not gain the ATK bonus from "Power Bond", but the controller will still take damage for "Power Bond" (because the player is not a non-Effect Monster Card).The newest errata of this card has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that the damage taken is equal to the ATK gained from "Power Bond", so if the Fusion Monster does not gain ATK the player does not take damage.