Pot of Greed

  Normal / Spell
Draw 2 cards. 
CARD ID: 55144522
STATUS TCG: Forbidden
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Pot of Greed


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN034 Rare1.00€2.85€2.88€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN034 Starfoil Rare1.47€2.49€1.92€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN129 Mosaic Rare1.50€4.65€3.88€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN129 Rare0.94€1.44€1.28€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN134 Super Rare6.00€7.82€7.32€
Duelist Pack: Kaiba DPKB-EN029 Ultimate Rare15.00€35.25€32.11€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-119 Rare1.79€2.96€3.21€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-EN119 Rare1.79€2.96€3.21€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN059 Secret Rare8.00€9.89€10.80€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN061 Secret Rare4.99€8.62€8.75€
Spell Ruler MRL-E129 Rare1.25€3.04€3.49€
Starter Deck: Yugi Evolution SYE-040 Common0.74€0.85€0.96€
Structure Deck: Blaze of Destruction SD3-EN019 Common0.70€1.46€1.51€
Structure Deck: Dragon's Roar SD1-EN015 Common0.49€1.17€1.22€
Structure Deck: Fury from the Deep SD4-EN018 Common0.95€1.25€1.56€
Structure Deck: Zombie Madness SD2-EN017 Common0.70€1.79€1.70€
Tournament Pack: 3rd Season TP3-014 Common3.99€-,--€6.00€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB26 Common0.85€2.23€1.86€

Card Trivia

 This pot appears in the artworks of Asleep at the Switch, Avatar of The Pot, Cash Back, Counter Cleaner, Dark Spirit Art - Greed, Exchange, Extra Buck, Fine, Goblin Circus, Goblin of Greed, Goblin Out of the Frying Pan, Greed Grado, Greed Pact, Jackpot 7, Jar Robber, Mistaken Arrest, Moray of Greed, Panic Shuffle, Peeking Goblin, Return, Shard of Greed, Single Purchase, Spell Books from the Pot, Spirit of the Pot of Greed, and The Gift of Greed.
Also, not only in terms of artwork, but also in the concept of the effects, the
Pot of Greed is one of the halves of Pot of Duality, Pot of Dichotomy, Pot of Desires, and Pot of Indulgence.
Despite its Forbidden status, this card has continued to receive homage through cards such as
Shard of Greed and Moray of Greed, as well as through six direct counterparts, which imitate its effect in more balanced manners, or with more contextual purposes, such as Reckless Greed, Allure of Darkness, Red Dragon Vase, Solar Recharge, Trade-In, Rare Value, Pendulum Halt, Spellbook of Knowledge, “Sekka's Light”, Orcustrated Return, and Cards of Consonance.
In this, it is similar to the infamous
Magic: The Gathering card Black Lotus, a card retroactively banned for its lack of balance, but repeatedly referenced since within later, more measured counterparts.
This card's fame goes so far that it is also one of the four Forbidden cards that has its effect featured in
Fuh-Rin-Ka-Zan and Pot of The Forbidden.
According to the
Master Guide, someone can put their hand inside the Pot of Greed and find something that will delight them, but the pot will explode once they take their hand out.
Because of this, the
Pot of Greed can be used to potentially assassinate someone, as shown in the artwork of The Gift of Greed.
Both of the above would explain why
Pot of Greed is shown to be illegal in the artwork of Mistaken Arrest.
Despite this card's malicious nature, it can also be used as an improvised vacuum cleaner, as shown in the artwork of
Counter Cleaner.
This card appears as a possible question in the Action Field
Quiz Quest. The question asks for the number of teeth in the card's artwork:
The answer is 20.
This card has the second shortest effect text of any card, after
Jar of Greed.
In recent times, this card has become a meme within the
Yu-Gi-Oh!" community due to its many appearances in the anime series, in which its activation is often followed by an explanation of its effect, despite the effect's overall simplicity and how often it appears.
Just like how this card was a Staple in real life, this card also appears to have been a staple in the anime, as nearly every main protagonist and antagonist used this card including: Yugi Muto, Yami Yugi, Joey Wheeler, Téa Gardner, Seto Kaiba, Yami Bakura, Yami Marik, Strings, Lumis and Umbra, The Big Five, Alister, Rebecca Hawkins, Leon von Schroeder, and Zigfried von Schroeder.
However, following the card itself becoming Forbidden, it disappeared from the anime as well with the last usage of the card being Episode 104 of Yu-Gi-Oh GX after frequent usage until that point.


OCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Exodia the Forbidden One: When resolving the effect of "Pot of Greed" or "Appropriate", if the only card left in your Deck is the last piece of "Exodia the Forbidden One

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Avatar of The Pot: Sending "Pot of Greed" to the Graveyard is a cost.

Avatar of The Pot: If you have your opponent's "Pot of Greed" in your hand because of "Exchange" or "Graverobber", you CAN send your opponent's "Pot of Greed" to the Graveyard to activate your "Avatar of the Pot"s effect. But if you did this with "Graverobber", you take 2000 points of damage to do so.

Butterfly Dagger - Elma: Missing the Timing: Because the effect of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is an optional "when you can" Trigger Effect, "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate its effect. So if it is destroyed in the middle of a chain, you cannot return it to your hand. Example: If the turn player activates "Pot of Greed", and the opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" during the chain, it cannot return to the owner's hand.

Desrook Archfiend: Missing the Timing: Because "Desrook Archfiend"s effect is optional, the "Terrorking Archfiend" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate "Desrook Archfiend"s effect. You cannot activate "Desrook Archfiend"s effect in the middle of a chain, such as if "Pot of Greed" was activated and "Ring of Destruction" was chained to destroy "Terrorking Archfiend" and send him to the Graveyard in the middle of the chain.

Gemini Imps: If you activate “Pot of Greed” and your opponent chains “Null and Void”, it is not possible to chain “Gemini Imps”.

Greed: The effect of "Greed" only applies to cards drawn while "Greed" was active. If "Jar of Greed" is chained to "Greed"s activation, "Jar of Greed" (Step 2) resolves and you draw 1 card for "Jar of Greed" before "Greed"s effect (Step 1) was active, so no damage is inflicted during the End Phase. But if you chain "Greed" (Step 2) to "Pot of Greed" (Step 1), then "Greed" is active before "Pot of Greed" resolves, so the activator of "Pot of Greed" takes 1000 damage from "Greed".

Jar Robber: You can chain "Jar Robber" to your own or your opponent's "Pot of Greed".

Jar Robber: The only way to activate "Jar Robber" is to chain it to the activation of "Pot of Greed".

Jar Robber: "Jar Robber" must be the very next step in the chain, so if you activate "Pot of Greed" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order", you cannot activate "Jar Robber".

Mokey Mokey King: Missing the Timing: If "Mokey Mokey King" leaves the field in the middle of a chain (for example, if destroyed by "Ring of Destruction" chained to "Pot of Greed", or Tributed for a Tribute Summon or for the effect of "Cannon Soldier", etc.,), you miss the timing and you cannot Special Summon. Only when the last action of the chain is the removal of "Mokey Mokey King" from the field, can you activate its effect.

Muko: You can only chain "Null and Void" to an effect that draws cards and does nothing else. You can chain "Null and Void" to the activation of "Pot of Greed" or "Jar of Greed". You can chain "Null and Void" to the activation of the effect of cards like "Airknight Parshath".

Peten the Dark Clown: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed in a chain and not as Chain Link 1, his effect does not activate. (Example: "Pot of Greed" is activated and "Ring of Destruction" is chained, targeting "Peten".)

Pharaoh's Treasure: If you draw a face-up "Pharaoh's Treasure" with "Graceful Charity", you miss the timing for the effect of "Pharaoh's Treasure" and the effect disappears. "Pharaoh's Treasure" is simply added to your hand. In order to apply the effect of "Pharaoh's Treasure", the very last action must have been to draw. You CAN apply Pharaoh's Treasure's effect if it is drawn while face-up due to "Pot of Greed"

Spirit of the Pot of Greed: "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"s effect does not chain to "Pot of Greed"; instead, you activate it after "Pot of Greed" resolves.

Spirit of the Pot of Greed: "Spirit of the Pot of Greed" must be face-up on the field to resolve its effect; if "Book of Moon" is chained to "Pot of Greed" or to the effect of "Spirit of the Pot of Greed", "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"s effect is negated.

Spirit of the Pot of Greed: If "Imperial Order" negates the effect of "Pot of Greed", "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"s effect still activates because "Pot of Greed"s activation was not negated.

Tower of Babel: "Tower of Babel" cannot blow up in the middle of a chain. If you wind up with 5 Spell Counters on "Tower of Babel" after a chain resolves, the player who caused the 4th Spell Counter to be placed takes the damage. So if you have "Tower of Babel" with 3 Spell Counters, and you activate "Pot of Greed", and your opponent chains "Reload", "Reload" resolves first and places the 4th Spell Counter, and your opponent takes the 3000 damage after the current chain resolves.

Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord:" When you activate multiple Counter Trap Cards in the same Chain, the last one to resolve and negate an effect will be applied to "Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord's" effect.
Example: Your opponent activates "Pot of Greed". You chain "Magic Jammer". Your opponent chains "Seven Tools of the Bandit". You chain "Curse of Royal". When the Chain resolves, "Magic Jammer" is your last Counter Trap Card that resolves and negates your opponent's "Pot of Greed", so you will be able to Special Summon "Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord" and activate its "inflict 1500 damage" effect.