Pot of Avarice

  Normal / Spell
Target 5 monsters in your GY; shuffle all 5 into the Deck, then draw 2 cards. 
CARD ID: 67169062
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Pot of Avarice


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Astral Pack Two AP02-EN019 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Champion Pack: Game One CP01-EN011 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Revelation Volume 4 DR04-EN097 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Egyptian God Deck: Obelisk the Tormentor EGO1-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Egyptian God Deck: Slifer the Sky Dragon EGS1-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Elemental Energy EEN-EN037 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Elemental Energy EEN-EN037 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series 4: Pyramids Edition GLD4-EN040 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN290 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Machine Re-Volt SD10-EN030 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Mechanized Madness SR10-EN031 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Shaddoll Showdown SDSH-EN031 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Zombie World Structure Deck SDZW-EN026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 Avarice is a Latin term for greed, and is one of the seven deadly sins.
This pot appears in the artwork of Pot of Dichotomy, melded with Pot of Benevolence, as well as Pot of Desires, melded with Pot of Greed. It also appears in the artwork of Extra Buck.
This card has a Trap counterpart, Jar of Avarice.
Despite the fifteen episodes that this card has made a cameo in the anime, with fifteen different Duelists, it was only activated once.
Contrary to the usually joking misconception of some players, this pot's moustache is not meant to resemble Adolf Hitler; the toothbrush moustache is simply a popular style in Japan (the original home of Yu-Gi-Oh!).


OCG Rulings

This card targets 5 monsters in your Graveyard.: Spell Card > Pot of Avarice: If you do not have 5 monsters in the Graveyard, can you activate "Pot of Avarice"?

If you do not have at least 5 monsters in your Graveyard, you cannot activate "Pot of Avarice".

If any of the five targeted monsters are not in the Graveyard when resolving the effect of "Pot of Avarice", then the effect of "Pot of Avarice" is not applied. Thus, if "D.D. Crow" or "Disappear" is chained to "Pot of Avarice" and removes from play one of the five targeted monster, then the remaining cards are not returned to the Deck and no cards are drawn.: If "D.D. Crow" is chained to "Pot of Avarice" so that one of the selected cards is removed from play, then are the remaining cards still returned and do you draw?

If the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" which prevents cards from being added to the hand from the Deck except by drawing is active, then players may still add cards to their hands by drawing them from the Deck. Thus, "Pot of Avarice" may still be activated while "Thunder King Rai-Oh

Previously Official Rulings

Pot of Avarice” targets 5 monsters in your Graveyard. You cannot activate it you do not have 5 or more monsters in your Graveyard.

If any of the 5 monsters targeted by “Pot of Avarice” are removed from the Graveyard before its effect resolves, for example by “Disappear” or “Call of the Haunted”, then the entire effect of “Pot of Avarice” disappears. You do not shuffle the other monsters into your Deck and you do not draw 2 cards.

You can target Fusion Monsters and/or Synchro Monsters in your Graveyard for “Pot of Avarice” and they will be returned to your Extra Deck.

You can chain “Serial Spell” to “Pot of Avarice”. You select 5 targets for “Pot of Avarice”, and then when you chain “Serial Spell” you must select 5 targets. You can select the same monsters, but if you do this then “Serial Spell” will resolve first and shuffle some monsters back into the Deck, and then when the original “Pot of Avarice” tries to resolves, there aren’t enough monsters left so it will not resolve. Monster Cards you discard from your hand for the cost of “Serial Spell” can be selected as targets for the “Serial Spell” copy of “Pot of Avarice”.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Transmigration Break: You cannot activate "Pot of Avarice" while "Transmigration Break" is active.