Phantom of Chaos


Fiend / Effect  DARK / 4
Your opponent takes no battle damage from attacks involving this card. Once per turn: You can target 1 Effect Monster in your GY; banish that target, and if you do, until the End Phase, this card's name and original ATK become that monster's name and original ATK, and replace this effect with that monster's original effects. You must control this face-up card to activate and to resolve this effect.
0/0 
CARD ID: 30312361
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Phantom of Chaos

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN196 Common0.02€0.17€0.13€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN196 Starfoil Rare0.18€0.63€0.43€
Gladiator's Assault: Special Edition GLAS-ENSE1 Super Rare0.05€0.31€0.34€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN193 Secret Rare0.59€1.28€1.20€
Structure Deck: Lair of Darkness SR06-EN015 Common0.02€0.14€0.10€

Card Trivia

 Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder, Uria, Lord of Searing Flames, and Raviel, Lord of Phantasms can be seen vaguely in this card's background. This may be a hint towards this card's utility in Summoning Armityle the Chaos Phantom.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



The effect of "Phantom of Chaos" targets one monster in your Graveyard. The monster is removed from play at resolution - it is not a cost.: Effect Monster > Phantom of Chaos

If you have three copies of "Phantom of Chaos", and one of each is copying "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames", "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder", and "Raviel, Lord of Phantasms", then you can remove from play the three copies of "Phantom of Chaos" as Fusion Material Monsters to Special Summon "Armityle the Chaos Phantom".: Can "Armityle the Chaos Phantom" be Special Summoned by removing from play copies of "Phantom of Chaos" being treated as "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames" etc?

"Phantom of Chaos" always inflicts 0 Battle Damage to your opponent, regardless of whether or not you use its other effect to gain the effects of another monster.

When you choose to have the effect of "Phantom of Chaos" disappear during the End Phase, it does not start a Chain.

When "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" has its name changed to "Junk Synchron", you can only use it as a Synchro Material Monster for "Junk Warrior" if it becomes a Tuner monster with "Lightwave Tuning".: When "Lightwave Tuning" is applied to "Phantom of Chaos" when it is treated as "Junk Synchron", can it be a Synchro Material Monster?

If "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" is declared by "Prohibition", "Elemental Hero Prisma"/"Phantom of Chaos"/etc can have its name changed to "Gladiator Beast Bestiari". If "Elemental Hero Prisma" etc was on the field before having its name changed, then it can attack, change its Battle Position, etc. If "Prohibition" was activated and later "Elemental Hero Prisma" etc was Summoned, then when the name of "Elemental Hero Prisma" is changed to "Gladiator Beast Bestiari", it cannot attack, change its Battle Position, etc.: Can "Elemental Hero Prisma" etc gain the name of a monster declared by "Prohibition"?

While you control "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu"/"Earthbound Immortal Aslla piscu"/etc, you can activate the effect of "Phantom of Chaos"/"Neo-Spacian Dark Panther"/etc and target a "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu". After the effect of "Phantom of Chaos"/etc resolves, it is destroyed.: While "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu" is on the field, can the name of "Phantom of Chaos" be changed to "Earthbound Immortal Ccapac Apu" by its effect?

The effects of "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" are only applied as long as "Phantom of Chaos" or "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" are face-up on the field. When the monster is removed from the field, then it no longer has the copied effects. If a monster like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" copies "Sangan" or "D.D. Scout Plane", then you cannot activate the effect of "Sangan" which activates in the Graveyard or the effect of "D.D. Scout Plane" which activates in the place to where cards are removed from play.: If "Phantom of Chaos" obtains an effect which activates in the Graveyard or the place to where cards are removed from play, then can the effect be activated?

The text "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster, except for the Synchro Summon of a Dragon-Type Synchro Monster. The other Synchro Material Monster(s) cannot be Level 4." of "Debris Dragon" is not treated as an effect, so if "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" copies "Debris Dragon", then you do not apply this text. Thus, if "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" copies "Debris Dragon", then you can use it for the Synchro Summon of a non-Dragon-Type Synchro Monster, and the other Synchro Material Monsters may be Level 4.: Can the effect of monsters like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" copy the text of monsters like "Debris Dragon" which is not treated as an effect?

"Majestic Star Dragon" can only activate the effect of a negated monster only once. If "Majestic Star Dragon" negates the effect of a monster like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" and then uses the negated monster's effect to gain the effects of another Effect Monster, then you cannot activate the effect of the other Effect Monster because you already activated the effect of "Phantom of Chaos".: Can "Majestic Star Dragon" obtain an effect by activating the effect of a negated "Phantom of Chaos"?

If "Phantom of Chaos" copies "Fairy Archer" and activates its effect, then you still cannot activate the damage-inflicting effect again even if you change the name of "Phantom of Chaos" with the effect of "Hero Mask".: Can you activate the effect of "Fairy Archer" multiple times if its name is changed?

For the effect of a monster like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" or "Hundred Eyes Dragon" or "Dragon Knight Draco-Equiste", you choose the time during the End Phase that you stop applying the effect. The effect does not last until the end of the turn.: An effect like that of "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" is applied for how long during the End Phase?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Malefic Truth Dragon: You can Special Summon "Malefic Truth Dragon" if a monster like "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" or "Phantom of Chaos" is destroyed while its name is treated as that of a "Malefic" monster like "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon".: Can "Malefic Truth Dragon" be Special Summoned if a "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" whose card name is "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" is destroyed?

Miracle Synchro Fusion: If the name of "Phantom of Chaos" is being treated as "Naturia Barkion" or "Naturia Beast", then you can activate "Miracle Synchro Fusion" and use it as a Fusion Material for "Naturia Exterio".: Can you activate "Miracle Synchro Fusion" if the name of "Phantom of Chaos" is "Naturia Barkion"?

Scrap Searcher: The "Scrap" monster that is destroyed must be a "Scrap" monster in the Graveyard as well as on the field.: How long does the monster need to be a "Scrap" monster in order to Special Summon "Scrap Searcher"?
Example: Suppose that "Phantom of Chaos" is copying a "Scrap" monster, and is destroyed. It is no longer a "Scrap" monster when in the Graveyard, so you cannot activate the effect of "Scrap Searcher


Previously Official Rulings

Judge List Rulings

If you use "
Phantom of Chaos" effect to copy the name, ATK, and effect(s) of a DARK monster and afterwards "Skill Drain" is activated, the copied effect(s) are negated, but the copied name and ATK are not negated. If you activate "Phantom of Chaos" effect and "Skill Drain" is chained, "Phantom of Chaos" effect is negated when it resolves, so it does not gain the name, ATK, or effect(s) of the DARK monster.: Phantom of Chaos Vs. Skill Drain