Painful Choice


  Normal / Spell
Select 5 cards from your Deck and show them to your opponent. Your opponent selects 1 card among them. Add that card to your hand and discard the remaining cards to the Graveyard. 
CARD ID: 74191942
STATUS TCG: Forbidden
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Painful Choice

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN033 Common0.20€0.92€0.80€
Dark Legends DLG1-EN060 Common0.45€0.99€1.27€
Magic Ruler MRL-049 Super Rare0.70€1.49€1.66€
Retro Pack RP01-EN059 Rare0.59€1.44€1.55€
Spell Ruler MRL-E049 Super Rare0.70€1.49€1.66€
Spell Ruler SRL-049 Super Rare1.00€2.17€1.73€
Spell Ruler SRL-EN049 Super Rare1.00€2.17€1.73€

Card Trivia

 This card's artwork seems to depict people being taxed.
This card's name suits its effect very well; you are making your opponent send 4 of your cards to the Graveyard and add the 5th to your hand, forcing them to make a difficult decision.
The Dark Beginning 1 versions of this card are misprinted with DB1-ENO33 in the set number area instead of DB1-EN033, replacing the 0 (zero) with a capital O.
This card is similar to Arduous Decision in that it shares part of that card's Japanese name, its artwork depicts people standing before 1 person while being in distress, and that its effect involves taking cards from your Deck.
Painful Decision may be a parody of this card; the said card has a similar effect to this one.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



You cannot activate "Painful Choice" when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field. If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field when "Painful Choice

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Despair from the Dark / Fear from the Dark: When you discard "Despair from the Dark"/"Fear from the Dark" with "Painful Choice", "Despair from the Dark"/"Fear from the Dark"s effect does not activate because it was your own card effect that caused it.

Fairy Guardian: If you activate "Painful Choice" and a Spell Card is included in the 4 cards that are sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be targeted with the effect of "Fairy Guardian" since it was YOUR "Painful Choice" that sent the card to the Graveyard, even though your opponent decided which card you kept.

Magical Thorn: The effect of "Magical Thorn" is NOT appliedwhen cards are sent from the Deck to Graveyard by the effect of "Painful Choice"

Peten the Dark Clown: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is sent to the Graveyardby "Painful Choice", the last thing that happened WAS that "Peten" was sent to the Graveyard, so his effect will activate.

Pharaoh's Treasure: You can select a face-up "Pharaoh's Treasure" in your deck as 1 of the 5 cards for "Painful Choice", but because "Painful Choice" is not a draw, the effect of "Pharaoh's Treasure" will not be activated.

Thunder King Rai-Oh: You cannot activate "Painful Choice" while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field. If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is Summoned by an effect Chained to "Painful Choice", when "Painful Choice" resolves all of the revealed cards will be send to the Graveyard.

Watapon: "Painful Choice" of the types of effects that will activate the effect of "Watapon".