Number S39: Utopia the Lightning


Warrior / Xyz / Effect  LIGHT / 5
3 Level 5 LIGHT monsters
You can also Xyz Summon this card by using a Rank 4 "Utopia" monster you control as material. (Transfer its Xyz Materials to this card.) Cannot be used as material for an Xyz Summon. If this card battles, your opponent cannot activate cards or effects until the end of the Damage Step. Once per Chain, during damage calculation, if this card battles an opponent's monster while this card has a "Utopia" Xyz Monster as material (Quick Effect): You can detach 2 materials from this card; this card's ATK becomes 5000 during that damage calculation only.

2500/2000 
CARD ID: 56832966
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Number S39: Utopia the Lightning

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Legendary Collection Kaiba Mega Pack LCKC-EN087 Secret Rare1.90€2.73€2.61€
OTS Tournament Pack 4 OP04-EN001 Ultimate Rare14.00€16.90€16.93€
The Dark Illusion: Special Edition TDIL-ENSE2 Super Rare2.00€2.81€2.83€
Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL Volume 8 promotional card YZ08-EN001 Ultra Rare9.80€12.00€10.08€

Card Trivia

 This is the second Ranked-Up Utopia monster that does not need Number 39: Utopia as an Xyz Material to gain an effect, the first Ranked-Up Utopia monster was Number C39: Utopia Ray V. (But only in the anime / manga version of the evolutions' effects of Utopia.)
It is also the first Ranked-Up Utopia monster that was not Summoned by ranking-up Number 39: Utopia.
This card can be seen as the manga counterpart of Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory.
Both cards have been Summoned by Yuma Tsukumo using their representative Rank-Up-Magic cards in the anime/manga.
Both have card effect that prevents the activation of card effect until the end of the battle.
This card is the first Rank-up Summoned monster that has less ATK than its original version, Number S39: Utopia One.
This is the first Number S monster to be Summoned via Rank-Up in the manga version.
This card OCG/TCG effect is similar to that of Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon.
Both cards require an Xyz Monster belonging to an archetype, specifically Utopia or Galaxy-Eyes to Xyz Summon them more quickly.
Both monsters cannot be use as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon in the OCG/TCG.
Both cards are used in the final Duel between Kaito Tenjo and Yuma Tsukumo in Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



"You can also Xyz Summon this card by using a Rank 4 "Utopia" monster you control as the Xyz Material. (Xyz Materials attached to that monster also become Xyz Materials on this card.)" and "Cannot be used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon." are not treated as the effects of an Effect Monster.: Number S39: Utopia the Lightning

Placing this card on top of a "Utopia" Xyz Monster is treated as properly Xyz Summoning this card.

The "If this card battles, your opponent cannot activate cards or effects until the end of the Damage Step." effect is a Continuous Effect.

The "Once per Chain, during damage calculation in either player's turn, if this card battles an opponent's monster while this card has a "Utopia" Xyz Monster as Xyz Material: You can detach 2 Xyz Materials from this card; this card's ATK becomes 5000 during that damage calculation only." effect is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. Detaching 2 Xyz Materials from this card is a cost to activate this effect.)

If this effect is activated while "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" is equipped with "Rising Sun Slash", its ATK becomes 5000 during that damage calculation only. (The ATK is not recalculated by the effect of "Rising Sun Slash".) After damage calculation, it gains 500 ATK for each Rising Sun Counter on "Rising Sun Slash".: If "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" equipped with "Rising Sun Slash" activates its effect, what happens to its ATK?

Suppose this effect is activated in a chain to "Forbidden Scripture". When the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" resolves as Chain Link 2, the ATK of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" becomes 5000. When "Forbidden Scripture" resolves as Chain Link 1, the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" is negated and damage calculation is performed using 2500 ATK and 2000 DEF.: If the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" is activated in a chain to "Forbidden Scripture", what happens?

This effect can be activated when "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" attacks an opponent's monster during your turn, or when "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" is attacked by an opponent's monster during your opponent's turn.: Can the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" be activated during either player's turn?

This effect can only be activated once per damage calculation. (It cannot be activated more than once in the same chain.) If "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" battles multiple monsters during the same turn, you can activate this effect once during each damage calculation.: Can the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" be activated multiple times during damage calculation?

This effect can be activated when "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" attacks an opponent's Defense Position monster.: Can the effect of "Number S39: Utopia the Lightning" be activated if it attacks a Defense Position monster?