Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin


Warrior / Effect  WATER / 3
Once per turn: You can discard 1 card; look at your opponent's hand and choose 1 monster. If you control a monster with ATK greater than or equal to the ATK of the chosen card, destroy the chosen card, and if you do, inflict 500 damage to your opponent. Otherwise, take 500 damage.
600/800 
CARD ID: 17955766
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battles of Legend: Relentless Revenge BLRR-EN049 Ultra Rare0.06€1.27€1.07€
Duelist Pack: Jaden Yuki 2 DP03-EN005 Rare0.19€0.58€0.29€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN017 Common0.29€0.71€0.98€
Power of the Duelist POTD-EN003 Super Rare0.74€1.64€1.70€
Power of the Duelist POTD-EN003 Ultimate Rare14.50€19.77€18.99€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of the following cards:
Contact Out
NEX
Cross Change
EN Shuffle
Neospace Wave
Hope for the Future
Neos Fusion
NEXT
Among the Neo-Spacians, Aqua Dolphin has had all the first appearances of all three of the evolution stages of the Neo-Spacians. He was the first to appear in the anime, Chrysalis Dolphin was the first Chrysalis monster to be released, and Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin was the first evolved Neo-Spacian to be released.
This card is the only Neo-Spacian whose Type changed from its Chrysalis state.
Oddly, this card is a Warrior when most would think it'd be a Fish like its downgraded form; Chrysalis Dolphin.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



The effect of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" is an Ignition Effect. (Discarding 1 card from your hand is a cost to activate the effect.): Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin

You cannot activate the effect of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" if there are 0 cards in your opponent's hand.

The effect does not target. When the effect resolves, look at your opponent's hand and choose 1 monster.

If the ATK of a face-up monster in your Monster Zone monster is greater than or equal to the monster chosen when this effect resolves, apply "destroy the chosen card and inflict 500 damage to your opponent". If no such monster is in your Monster Zone, apply "take 500 damage".

If you apply "destroy the chosen card and inflict 500 damage to your opponent", destroying the chosen monster and inflicting damage are treated as being done at the same time.

When a Fusion or Synchro Monster is Special Summoned, it is possible to activate "Chain Disappearance". The Summoned monster will be banished, but banishing cards with the same name from the hand and Deck does not include the Extra Deck. Therefore, monsters with the same name as the banished Fusion/Synchro Monster will not be banished from the Extra Deck. However, if the Special Summoned monster is "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin", as its name is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", "Chain Disappearance" will banish copies of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" from the hand and Deck.: Can "Chain Disappearance" be activated when a Fusion Monster is Synchro Monster is Special Summoned?

When you look at your opponent's hand when resolving the effect of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", if there are no monsters in your opponent's hand, the effect finishes resolving. (Neither player will take 500 damage.): When you check your opponent's hand with the effect of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", if there are no Monster Cards how does the effect resolve?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Chain Disappearance: When a Fusion or Synchro Monster is Special Summoned, it is possible to activate "Chain Disappearance". The Summoned monster will be banished, but banishing cards with the same name from the hand and Deck does not include the Extra Deck. Therefore, monsters with the same name as the banished Fusion/Synchro Monster will not be banished from the Extra Deck. However, if the Special Summoned monster is "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin", as its name is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", "Chain Disappearance" will banish copies of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" from the hand and Deck.: Can "Chain Disappearance" be activated when a Fusion Monster is Synchro Monster is Special Summoned?

Gladiator Beast Gyzarus: When Special Summoning a monster like "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus" or "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos" from the Extra Deck, you can return a face-down "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" or "Elemental HERO Neos", etc. to the Deck. Also, if you return a face-down "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" to the Deck the opponent must confirm it is a correct Fusion Material.: When Special Summoning "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus", can a face-down "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" be returned to the Deck?

Fusion Tag: If "Elemental HERO Bubbleman" is targeted by "Fusion Tag" by revealing "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin", it can be treated as "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" or "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" when used as a Fusion Material. (You can still use it as "Elemental HERO Bubbleman".)
You can shuffle "Elemental HERO Neos" and "Elemental HERO Bubbleman" treated as "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" into the Deck to Special Summon "Elemental HERO Marine Neos".
You can shuffle "Elemental HERO Neos" and "Elemental HERO Bubbleman" treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" into the Deck to Special Summon "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos".: When resolving "Fusion Tag", if "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" is revealed from the Extra Deck, how do you resolve the effect?

Chain Destruction: "Chain Destruction" cannot destroy monsters in the Extra Deck. Therefore, when a Fusion/Synchro Monster is Special Summoned, "Chain Destruction" cannot normally be activated. However, if the Summoned monster is "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin", as its name is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", Chain Destruction can be activated, and it will destroy any copies of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" in the Deck.: Can "Chain Destruction" be activated when a Fusion Monster is Synchro Monster is Special Summoned?

Generation Shift: The effect of "Generation Shift" must be able to add a monster to your hand, so you must have a monster in your Main Deck with the same name as the targeted monster to activate it. Therefore, normally, you cannot activate "Generation Shift" by targeting a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster. However, since "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" is also always treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", and "Neo-Spacian Twinkle Moss" is also always treated as "Neo-Spacian Glow Moss

Previously Official Rulings


This effect does not
target.

When this effect resolves you look at your opponent's hand. If there are no Monster Cards, do nothing. If the opponent does have a Monster Card, and you have a monster on the field with greater or equal ATK, you will destroy the opponent's Monster Card and inflict the 500 damage at the same time.

If the selected Monster Card in your opponent's hand has ATK ?, since it is undetermined, you cannot control a monster with greater or equal ATK, and you will take 500 damage.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Chrysalis Dolphin: If you activate this effect and find that you do not have "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" in your hand or Deck your opponent can check both to verify.

Destiny HERO - Double Dude: If "Destiny Hero - Double Dude" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while in the hand or Deck his effect still activates, and you can Special Summon the 2 "Double Dude Tokens". He could be destroyed in the hand or Deck by effects like "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" or "Chain Destruction".

NEX: If "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" copies the name of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", it can be sent to the Graveyard for "NEX", but no monster can be Special Summoned from your Extra Deck. "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" is in the Graveyard, its name is no longer treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin", and there is no Fusion Monster whose name is or is treated as "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther".

Space Gift: If you control a "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" when "Space Gift" resolves, you will draw 2 cards for it because its name is also treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin".

Judge List Rulings

Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin: "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" is treated as "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" for purposes of Deck construction. So, you can have a combined total of thee copies of this card and "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" in your Main Deck and Side Deck. If you have 2 copies of "Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin" in your Main Deck, you can only have 1 copy of "Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin" in your Fusion Deck. : Neo-Spacian Marine Dolphin