Mirror Force

  Normal / Trap
When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Destroy all your opponent's Attack Position monsters. 
CARD ID: 44095762
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Mirror Force


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
2-Player Starter Deck: Yuya & Declan YS15-END16 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN048 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN048 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN081 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Legion Starter Deck YS15-ENL22 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Saviors DASA-EN059 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Demo Deck 2016 DEM3-EN017 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dragunity Legion Structure Deck SDDL-EN035 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 15 participation cards DL15-EN018 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Yugi DPYG-EN027 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN048 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Egyptian God Deck: Slifer the Sky Dragon EGS1-EN034 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series GLD1-EN039 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN091 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN130 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection Kaiba Mega Pack LCKC-EN053 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENY35 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Dragon Decks LEDD-ENA32 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Metal Raiders MRD-138 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Metal Raiders MRD-E138 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Metal Raiders MRD-EN138 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN059 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Saber Force Starter Deck YS15-ENF21 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA12 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Codebreaker YS18-EN036 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz YS11-EN036 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Link Strike YS17-EN034 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Reloaded YSYR-EN040 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Marik (TCG) SDMA-EN030 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Rokket Revolt SDRR-EN038 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Yugi Muto SDMY-EN037 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Super Starter Power-Up Pack YS13-ENV14 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENA37 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB33 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENC36 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card appears in the artworks of Trap Recycle, Photon Hurricane, E☆HERO Pit Boss, and the international and 2nd Japanese artworks of Exchange.
This card was the first card released that could only be activated in response to an attack.
Originally, this card also had an effect to negate attacks, being able to stop the attack of Total Defense Shogun and Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster. Its most recent errata states that it does not negate attacks; this is more than likely because of the fact that, while some monsters can attack from Defense Position, the monster triggering Mirror Force is more often than not in Attack Position (usually negating its attack by proxy).
The 3rd Card appears on the poster of WRPG in 5D's.
As of yet, this is the only trap card to appear in every Yu-Gi-Oh! anime series.
This Card is like a Upgrade Card of Negate Attack.
This card has spawned many counterparts, often Type or Archetype specific or downgraded in effect, including the following:
Black Sonic
Blackwing - Backlash
Blast Held by a Tribute
Blazing Mirror Force
Cell Explosion Virus
Dark Mirror Force
Drowning Mirror Force
Froggy Forcefield
Infernity Force
Koa'ki Meiru Shield
Mirror Force Dragon
Quaking Mirror Force
Radiant Mirror Force
Rose Barrier Force
Sakuretsu Armor
Shining Silver Force
Storming Mirror Force
Wall of Thorns
Wave Force
Widespread Ruin


TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
There can be multiple chains in the
Battle Step before entering the Damage Step. Only the initial chain can directly respond to the attack, and only in this Chain can you activate cards such as "Mirror Force", "Sakuretsu Armor", and "Magic Cylinder" (Cards that can only be activated when your opponent's Monster declares an attack). Cards that do not have this restriction ("Book of Moon", "Compulsory Evacuation Device", "Waboku", etc) can still be activated in another Chain before entering the Damage Step.: Chains / Cadenas: battle phase timming: Attack response

If "Mirror Force" is activated while the effect of "Royal Decree" is applied on the field and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to "Mirror Force" targeting "Royal Decree" then "Mirror Force" is Chain link 1 and "Mystical Space Typhoon" is Chain link 2. The Chain resolves backwards. "Mystical Space Typhoon" destroys "Royal Decree", "Mirror Forcethan resolves and destroys all Attack Position monsters the opponent controls. Since "Royal Decree" is no longer face-up when "Mirror Force" resolves, it will not negate the effect of "Mirror Force".: Royal Decree Vs. Mirror Force and MST

Battle Fader: "Battle Fader" has a Trigger effect and must be activated as soon as the Trigger condition occurs.
For example, Player A (the turn player) controls a face-up "Light and Darkness Dragon while Player B has a Set "Mirror Force" and "Battle Fader" in their hand. Player A declares an attack. Since "Battle Fader" has a "Trigger Effect" it must be activated directly to the Chain in respond to the attack as Chain Link 1. If Player B activates "Mirror Force" first then he will not be able to activate later "Battle Fader". So, "Battle Fader" will have to be Chain link 1. The effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" will be Chain link 2. Player B may then activate "Mirror Force" as Chain link 3.: Battle Fader vs LADD vs Mirror Force: Legendary Six Samurai -Shi En vs Mirror Force vs Dim. Prison

Battle Fader: The effect of "Battle Fader" is activated during the Battle Step and not the Damage Step, therefore you will be able to activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon of "Battle Fader".
"Battle Fader" has the same timing as cards like "Mirror Force", "Sakuretsu Armor", and "Magic Cylinder". This means you have one opportunity to activate it, the initial chain in direct response to the attack declaration. If you allow the current chain to resolve ("Battle Fader" > "Royal Oppression"), you will not be able to activate a 2nd copy of "Battle Fader".
Unlike the other cards listed above, "Battle Fader" has a Trigger Effect, so you would be unable to activate multiple copies of "Battle Fader" in response to the same attack declaration.: Royal Oppression Vs 2 Battle Faders

OCG Rulings

This card does not target.: Trap Card > Mirror Force

If a card like "Mirror Force" is activated in response to an attack, then "Negate Attack" can still be activated in chain. However, note that "Negate Attack" will resolve first, so cards like "Enchanted Javelin" or "Magical Arm Shield" will resolve without effect because the monster is no longer attacking. Cards like "Mirror Force" or "Widespread Ruin" which have the text, "Activate only when your opponent declares an attack." only have the attack declaration as activation conditions, so their effects will still be applied even if the attack is negated. If "Kunai with Chain" is activated and then a chained card negates the attack, then "Kunai with Chain" will still give +500 ATK, but the attacking monster will not be changed to Defense Position.: If "Magical Arm Shield" or "Enchanted Javelin" are activated in response to an attack, can "Negate Attack" be chained?

There is no attack declaration when battling by the effect of "Equip Shot" - it moves the game forward to Damage Calculation when resolving the effect. Card like "Mirror Force" and "Sakuretsu Armor" cannot be activated because of this.: When battling by the effect of "Equip Shot", can "Sakuretsu Armor" be activated?

You can activate "Morphtronic Forcefield" against "Mirror Force" if you control a face-up Attack Position "Morphtronic" monster.: Can "Morphtronic Barrier" be Chained to a card which does not target?

"Obelisk the Tormentor" can be destroyed by effects that do not target, such as "Judgment Dragon", "Lightning Vortex", "Mirror Force", etc.: Can a face-up "Obelisk the Tormentor" be destroyed by effects that do not target like "Lightning Vortex"?

If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated when a monster declares an attack, then the Battle Phase ends, so the attacking monster can no longer be treated as an "attacking monster".: If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated in Chain to the effect of "Sakuretsu Armor" or "Mirror Force", then is the monster destroyed?
If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated in Chain to an effect like "Sakuretsu Armor" or "Dimensional Prison", then the effect of "Sakuretsu Armor" is not applied, and the attacking monster remains on the field.
If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated in Chain to "Magic Cylinder", then the Battle Phase ends, so "Magic Cylinder" cannot negate the attack so the effect of inflicting damage equal to the monster's ATK is not applied.
The effect of "Mirror Force" only destroys all monsters in Attack Position, so all Attack Position monsters will still be destroyed even if the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" ends the Battle Phase.

Mentions in Other Rulings

If a monster that declared an attack is sent to the Graveyard, then it is no longer treated as a monster that declared an attack. Thus, if a monster attacks and is destroyed by "Mirror Force" and is then Special Summoned by "Call of the Haunted

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Aurkus, Lightsworn Druid: "Aurkus, Lightsworn Druid" will NOT stop "Mirror Force" because these effects do not target.

Book of Moon: If you are attacking, and you chain "Book of Moon" to your opponent's "Mirror Force" to flip one of your monsters face-down, that monster is not destroyed by "Mirror Force".

Different Dimension Dragon: "Different Dimension Dragon" cannot be destroyed by "Fissure", "Mirror Force", etc. Also, if "Different Dimension Dragon" is your only monster on your side of the field, your opponent cannot activate effects like"Mirror Force"

Dramatic Rescue: You can activate "Dramatic Rescue" when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targetedbut not when cards like"Mirror Force"are used.

Elemental HERO Wildheart: If you attack with “Elemental Hero Wildheart” and the opponent activates “Widespread Ruin”, if “Elemental Hero Wildheart” is your monster with the highest ATK, no monster will be destroyed by the effect of “Widespread Ruin”. If the opponent activates “Mirror Force”, “Elemental Hero Wildheart” will not be destroyed, but all your other Attack Position monsters will be destroyed. If the opponent activates “Negate Attack”, his attack will not be negated, and the Battle Phase will not end. If the opponent activates “Magic Cylinder”, his attack will not be negated and no Effect Damage will be dealt.

Fiend Skull Dragon: Cards such as"Mirror Force"will all apply their effects to "Fiend Skull Dragon" because these cards do not target.

Lord of D.: "Lord of D." will NOT stop"Mirror Force"nor will he protect your Dragon-Type monsters from their effects, since these cards affect the whole field and do not select targets.

Metalsilver Armor: Your opponent cannot activate "Monster Reborn" and other cards that target while you have a monster equipped with "Metalsilver Armor". Your opponent can activate"Mirror Force"

My Body as a Shield: "My Body as a Shield" will negate"Mirror Force"

Prime Material Dragon: "Prime Material Dragon's" second effect works like "My Body as a Shield". "Prime Material Dragon" can negate cards such as "Mirror Force"

The Six Samurai: You cannot destroy a “Six Samurai” monster to save more than one other “Six Samurai” monster at the same time. Example: You control “Yariza” in Defense Position and “Nisashi” and “Irou” in Attack Position. “Mirror Force” is activated when you attack with “Nisashi”. You can destroy “Yariza” to save “Nisashi”, or destroy “Yariza” to save “Irou”. You cannot destroy “Yariza” to save both “Nisashi” and “Irou” at the same time.

Six Samurai: A “Six Samurai” monster that is in the process of being destroyed cannot be destroyed to save another “Six Samurai” monster. For example, if you control “Yariza”, “Nisashi”, and “Irou” all in Attack Position, and your opponent activates “Mirror Force”, you cannot destroy any of those 3 instead of another.

The Dragon's Bead: You can only activate the effect of this card to negate a Trap Card that targets a face-up Dragon-Type monster, so it cannot negate "Mirror Force"

Total Defense Shogun: "Mirror Force" cannot destroy "Total Defense Shogun" if he attacks while in Defense Position, and his attack resolves as normal.

Total Defense Shogun: If "Total Defense Shogun" in Defense Position is your only monster, and attacks, your opponent cannot activate "Mirror Force" because it will have no effect.

Tyrant Dragon: When you attack with "Tyrant Dragon" the opponent can activate "Mirror Force" and all your Attack Position monsters, including "Tyrant Dragon", will be destroyed. This is because "Mirror Force" does not target.