Mind Control

  Normal / Spell
Target 1 monster your opponent controls; until the End Phase, take control of that target, but it cannot declare an attack or be Tributed. 
CARD ID: 37520316
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Mind Control


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Duel Devastator DUDE-EN038 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series 2009 GLD2-EN037 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN176 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Duelists: Rage of Ra LED7-EN044 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Maximum Gold MAGO-EN138 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN067 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Cyberse Link SDCL-EN028 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Warriors' Strike Structure Deck SDWS-EN018 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yu-Gi-Oh! 7 Trials to Glory: World Championship Tournament 2005 promotional cards WC5-EN003 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card was designed to be a weaker version of “Change of Heart” and “Brain Control”. Ironically enough, the card would eventually be placed on the banlist, limited to 1.


TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
A card with an effect of "Control of this face-up card on the field cannot switch" cannot switch control while face-up under any circumstances. So, if a face-down "
Botanical Lion" changes control due to "Mind Control" and is then flipped face-up, the lingering part of the effect of "Mind Control" will not apply during the End Phase and control of "Botanical Lion" will not return to the opponent.: Mind Control vs Botanical Lion

OCG Rulings

This effect targets 1 face-up monster in your opponent's Monster Zone.: Mind Control

It can also target a monster in face-down Defense Position in your opponent's Monster Zone.

Returning control of the monster affected by "Mind Control" during the End Phase does not make a Chain Link.

The effect "it cannot declare an attack or be Tributed" is an effect that is applied until the End Phase of the turn "Mind Control" is applied.

Sending monsters to the Graveyard for a Synchro Summon is not treated as "Tributing". Therefore, a monster which the player gained control of by the effect of "Mind Control" can be sent to the Graveyard as a Synchro Material, even if it cannot be Tribute

Previously Official Rulings

The effect of "
Mind Control" that prevents the targeted monster from attacking or being Tributed lasts until the End Phase of the turn "Mind Control" was activated, even if the monster is flipped face-down before the End Phase. If the monster targeted with this card is flipped face-down, it will still return to the original owner's side of the field during the End Phase.

If you take control of your opponent's monster with "Mind Control", you can use it as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon.