Mermaid Archer


Sea Serpent / Effect  WATER / 3
Once per turn: You can target 1 face-up Level 3 or lower monster you control; equip that target to this card. (You can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card with this effect.) While equipped with a monster by this effect, this card gains 800 ATK. If this card would be destroyed, you can destroy the monster equipped to it with this effect instead.
1200/200 
CARD ID: 04252828
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Mermaid Archer

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Raging Battle RGBT-EN036 Common0.02€0.07€0.03€
Realm of the Sea Emperor Structure Deck SDRE-EN011 Common0.02€0.15€0.09€

Card Trivia

 This card's effect simulates a reversal of a Union Monster's effect, which typically strengthens the equipped monster and prevents it from being destroyed by battle. However, this card does not receive the support that a Union Monster would be entitled to (such as Roll Out!).
To snowball this, like Power Tool Dragon, this card has the reverse effect of Union monsters, in that it can destroy an equip card to prevent itself from being destroyed (Union Monsters destroy themselves to protect the equipped monster).
This card is thematically similar to Red Archery Girl.
This card and Mermail Abysstrite are the only mermaid-based monsters to be Sea Serpent-Type. All other mermaid-based monsters are either Fish or Aqua (unless you count Deep Sea Diva or Guardian Kay'est as a mermaid).

Rulings


TCG Rulings



“Mermaid Archer’s” effect to equip itself targets the Level 3 or lower monster you control.: Raging Battle -- Card Rulings (version 1.2)

If “Imperial Order” or “Spell Canceller” are active, “Mermaid Archer” still gains the 800 ATK from a monster equipped to it.

If “Mermaid Archer” and the monster equipped to it would be destroyed at the same time (by “Judgment Dragon,” for example), you cannot destroy the equipped monster to save “Mermaid Archer.”

Only monsters equipped to “Mermaid Archer” by “Mermaid Archer’s” own effect can be destroyed instead of “Mermaid Archer.”

If “Mermaid Archer” is equipped with a monster by its own effect, and also equipped with “Metallizing Parasite – Lunatite” at the same time, and it would be destroyed, “Metallizing Parasite – Lunatite” automatically destroys itself with its effect, so you cannot choose to destroy the other monster equipped to “Mermaid Archer.”


OCG Rulings



The effect which equips a Level 3 or lower monster you control to this card targets.: Effect Monster > Mermaid Archer

If "Mermaid Archer" and the equipped monster would be destroyed simultaneously by "Demise, King of Armageddon"/"Judgment Dragon"/"Final Destiny"/etc, then you cannot apply the effect of "Mermaid Archer" and destroy the equipped monster instead.: When "Mermaid Archer" and the equipped card would be destroyed simultaneously, can the equipped card be destroyed as a substitute?

When "Mermaid Archer" is equipped with a Union Monster like "Metallizing Parasite - Lunatite" and a Level 3 or lower monsters, if "Mermaid Archer" would be destroyed by battle, then "Metallizing Parasite - Lunatite" is destroyed instead. "Mermaid Archer" would not be destroyed, so you cannot destroy the Level 3 or lower monster instead.: When "Mermaid Archer" is destroyed by battle, can both an equipped Union Monster and an equipped Level 3 or lower monster?