Magical Hats


  Normal / Trap
During your opponent's Battle Phase: Choose 2 Spell/Trap Cards from your Deck and 1 monster in your Main Monster Zone. Special Summon them as Normal Monsters (ATK 0/DEF 0) in face-down Defense Position, Set the chosen monster if it is face-up, and shuffle them on the field. The 2 cards chosen from your Deck are destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase, and cannot remain on the field except during this Battle Phase. 
CARD ID: 81210420
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Magical Hats

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Champion Pack: Game Six CP06-EN019 Common0.05€-,--€0.47€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN087 Rare0.10€0.21€0.21€
Duelist Pack: Yugi DPYG-EN028 Rare0.02€0.12€0.10€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN096 Common0.10€0.49€0.32€
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENY36 Common0.02€0.13€0.12€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-033 Super Rare0.18€2.23€1.28€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-E033 Super Rare0.18€2.23€1.28€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-EN033 Super Rare0.18€2.23€1.28€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN010 Rare0.15€-,--€0.61€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENA38 Common0.02€0.22€0.13€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB34 Common0.02€0.22€0.13€

Card Trivia

 This card is based on the common magic trick of using hats to hide and/or make things appear. Another card commonly used by Yugi Muto, Mystic Box is based on the escape artist side of magician acts and also bears the same question marks the hats do (In the original anime, the artwork more closely resembled the hats - mostly due to the same colors).
Both cards served as the effects of Dark Magician in Dungeon Dice Monsters.
Despite this card's artwork showing four hats, you can only select three cards in the real-life card game.
One of these hats appears in the artwork of Twin Twisters and Fusion Recycling Plant.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Machina Armored Unit: If “Machina Armored Unit” is being treated as a monster by “Magical Hats,” it is considered a “Machina” monster.

Miracle Synchro Fusion: If this card is Set by the effect of "Magical Hats" and then destroyed while face-down by the effect of "Sasuke Samurai", then the effect to draw 1 card will be activated.

Ojama Country: “Ojamuscle” is considered to be an “Ojama” card, so you can send it from your hand to the Graveyard for the cost of the first effect. If you control “Ojamuscle” and it is a monster (for example, with “Magical Hats”), it is considered an “Ojama” monster for the second effect.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

Supervise: If “Supervise” is Special Summoned by “Magical Hats” and is attacked and destroyed by battle, the effect to Special Summon 1 Normal Monster will not activate.The latest print of "Supervise" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that its effect is activated if it is sent from the field to the Graveyard while face-up.


OCG Rulings



In "Set the chosen monster if it is face-up, and shuffle them on the field.", the text "field" should read "Main Monster Zone". (This is effective from March 25, 2017.): Shifting Shadows

This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

This card does not target. When resolving "Choose 2 Spell/Trap Cards from your Deck and 1 monster you control. Special Summon them as Normal Monsters (ATK 0/DEF 0) in face-down Defense Position, Set the chosen monster if it is face-up, and shuffle them on the field.", choose 2 Spell/Trap Cards from your Deck and 1 monster in your Monster Zone.

The 2 chosen Spell/Trap Cards in your Deck are Special Summoned as Normal Monsters.

Resolving "The 2 cards chosen from your Deck are destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase, and cannot remain on the field except during this Battle Phase." does not start a Chain Link.

With "DNA Checkup", you cannot target a Spell/Trap Card Summoned by "Magical Hats" since the Spell/Trap Card doesn't have an Attribute.: Can a Spell/Trap Card which was Special Summoned by "Magicial Hats" be targetted by "DNA Checkup"?

The effect of "Limiter Overload" will activate when it is sent to the Graveyard after being Special Summoned by "Magical Hats", even if it is destroyed by battle.: When a Set "Limiter Overload" is destroyed by "Magical Hats", does its effect activate?

If "Geartown" is Special Summoned by "Magical Hats", "Geartown"s effect will activate when it is destroyed while being treated as a monster. Its effect will activate if it is destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase by "Magical Hats", if it is destroyed by battle, etc.: When a Set "Geartown" is destroyed by "Magical Hats", can an "Ancient Gear" monster be Special Summoned?

While the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is active, cards without Attributes can still be Special Summoned, like the Spell/Trap Card Special Summoned by "Magical Hats".: Can "Magical Hats" be activated while "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is on the field?

When "Supervise" is Special Summoned by "Magical Hats", if it is attacked while face-down and destroyed by battle, then its effect to Special Summon a Normal Monster from the Graveyard will activate.: Can a Normal Monster be Special Summoned when a "Supervise" which was Special Summoned by the effect of "Magical Hats" is destroyed by battle?

Suppose that the effect of "Prohibition" has declared "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru", and afterwards "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is Summoned to the field by the effect of "Magical Hats". "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" has already been declared for "Prohibition", so "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru: If "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is declared for "Prohibition", then are you unable to activate its effects which add it to your hand from your Graveyard?


Previously Official Rulings


You cannot activate "
Magical Hats" if you do not have at least 2 open Monster Card Zones.

You must show your opponent the 2 selected Non-Monster Cards before they are Set.

If you activate "Magical Hats" while "Light of Intervention" is active, the cards are placed in face-up Defense Position.

If you select "Black Pendant", when it is destroyed during the end of the Battle Phase its effect activates, even if it was face-down.

If one of the Non-Monster Cards is removed from play with "Interdimensional Matter Transporter", it is destroyed when it is returned to the field during the End Phase.

If "Statue of the Wicked" or "Dark Coffin" are selected and they are destroyed while face-down, their effects activate. If they are flipped by an attack and destroyed, their effects do not activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Barrier Statue: You cannot activate “Magical Hats” while a Barrier Statue is in play.

Fatal Abacus: For the effect of "Fatal Abacus" to trigger, a Monster Card that is being treated as a monster must be sent from the field to the Graveyard. a Spell or Trap Card that is destroyed while being treated as a monster by the effect of "Magical Hats" will not trigger this effect.

Geartown: If "Geartown" is Special Summoned with "Magical Hats", you can activate its effect when it is destroyed.

Jowgen the Spiritualist: While this card is on the field neither player can activate "Magical Hats"or any other card that Special Summons a monster.

My Body as a Shield: you cannot use "My Body as a Shield" against cards whose effects will not destroy a monster right away, so you cannot use "My Body as a Shield" against"Magical Hats"

Necrovalley: If "Necrovalley" is active and you Special Summon the Spell Card "Gravekeeper's Servant" with "Magical Hats", its ATK and DEF will be 500.

Prime Material Dragon: you cannot use "Prime Material Dragon's" effect against cards whose effects will not destroy a monster right away, so you cannot use "Prime Material Dragon" against "Magical Hats"

Rivalry of Warlords: If you activate "Magical Hats" while "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, the cards Special Summoned with "Magical Hats" are unaffected by "Rivalry of Warlords" because they have no Type.

The Last Warrior from Another Planet: Neither player can activate"Magical Hats"

Trap Monster: If “Embodiment of Apophis” is a monster, and you use “Magical Hats” with it, it returns to your Spell & Trap Card Zone face-down. The other effects of “Magical Hats” apply normally.

Zoma the Spirit: If a "Skull Zoma" is Special Summoned with "Magical Hats", its effect will not activate when it is destroyed in battle.