Magic Cylinder

  Normal / Trap
When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Target the attacking monster; negate the attack, and if you do, inflict damage to your opponent equal to its ATK. 
CARD ID: 62279055
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Magic Cylinder


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
2-Player Starter Deck: Yuya & Declan YS15-END17 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN091 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN091 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Legion Starter Deck YS15-ENL23 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 3 participation cards DL12-EN019 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Invasion of Chaos: Special Edition IOC-SE2 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-104 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-E104 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-EN104 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN099 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENY37 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN050 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Saber Force Starter Deck YS15-ENF22 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA14 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spellcaster's Command Structure Deck SDSC-EN038 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Jaden Yuki YSDJ-EN040 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Syrus Truesdale YSDS-EN038 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Xyz Symphony YS12-EN034 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Reloaded YSYR-EN043 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck 2006 YSD-EN040 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Rokket Revolt SDRR-EN039 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Spellcaster's Judgment SD6-EN036 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Yugi Muto SDMY-EN038 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Super Starter Power-Up Pack YS13-ENV15 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
The Infinity Chasers INCH-EN060 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB35 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card has a polar counterpart, Draining Shield; it increases your LP equal to your opponent's monsters ATK instead.
This card was Limited for 15 formats (all of them prior to September 2010) before the September 2010 Lists Semi-Limited, the longer of any card on that list.
The Cylinders in Amazement Administrator Arlekino, Magicians' Combination, and Reloaded Cylinder


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Ancient Forest: If a monster’s attack is negated by “Magic Cylinder” it will not be destroyed at the end of the Battle Phase.

Light End Dragon: If you attack with “Light End Dragon” and activate its effect, and your opponent chains a card that will negate the attack, like “Magic Cylinder,” the effect of “Light End Dragon” is still applied. So “Light End Dragon” loses 500 ATK & DEF, and the attack target still loses 1500 ATK & DEF until the End Phase

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
There can be multiple chains in the
Battle Step before entering the Damage Step. Only the initial chain can directly respond to the attack, and only in this Chain can you activate cards such as "Mirror Force", "Sakuretsu Armor", and "Magic Cylinder" (Cards that can only be activated when your opponent's Monster declares an attack). Cards that do not have this restriction ("Book of Moon", "Compulsory Evacuation Device", "Waboku", etc) can still be activated in another Chain before entering the Damage Step.: Chains / Cadenas: battle phase timming: Attack response

Battle Fader: The effect of "Battle Fader" is activated during the Battle Step and not the Damage Step, therefore you will be able to activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon of "Battle Fader".
"Battle Fader" has the same timing as cards like "Mirror Force", "Sakuretsu Armor", and "Magic Cylinder". This means you have one opportunity to activate it, the initial chain in direct response to the attack declaration. If you allow the current chain to resolve ("Battle Fader" > "Royal Oppression"), you will not be able to activate a 2nd copy of "Battle Fader".
Unlike the other cards listed above, "Battle Fader" has a Trigger Effect, so you would be unable to activate multiple copies of "Battle Fader" in response to the same attack declaration.: Royal Oppression Vs 2 Battle Faders: Legendary Six Samurai -Shi En vs Mirror Force vs Dim. Prison

OCG Rulings

You activate this card when an opponent's monster declares an attack.: Trap Card > Magic Cylinder

The effect targets one of your opponent's attacking monsters.

If "Magic Cylinder" cannot negate the attack, then it does not inflict damage.: "Magic Cylinder" vs. "Ring of Destruction" etc.

If your monster attacks and your opponent activates "Magic Cylinder", and then chains "Call of the Haunted", then a replay does not occur. A replay would usually occur after the chain has completed, but "Magic Cylinder" negates the attack, so no replay occurs.: Please explain what happens when a replay would occur after resolving "Magic Cylinder".

Versus Specific Cards

Ancient Forest: If a monster's attack is negated by an effect like "Magic Cylinder", then the monster will not be destroyed by the effect of "Ancient Forest" at the end of the Battle Phase.: Is a monster whose attack was negated destroyed by "Ancient Forest"?

Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon: If "Magic Cylinder" is Chained to the effect of "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon", then the attack is negated, but the effect of "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" is still applied. Thus, you still banish "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" and the opponent's battling monster.: Is the banishing effect applied if "Magic Cylinder" is Chained to "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon"?

Light End Dragon: If "Magic Cylinder" is chained to "Light End Dragon"s effect, then "Light End Dragon"s effect still resolves, even though the attack was negated.: When "Magic Cylinder" is chained to "Light End Dragon"s effect, is the effect of "Light End Dragon" still applied even though the attack is negated?

Ogre of the Scarlet Sorrow: If the first direct attack that your opponent declares is negated by an effect like "Magic Cylinder", then that attack does not count as the first direct attack. Thus, if your opponent declares another direct attack, then you cannot Special Summon "Ogre of the Scarlet Sorrow" from your hand.: If the first direct attack is negated, then can "Ogre of the Scarlet Sorrow" be Special Summoned the next time there is a direct attack?

Red Dragon Archfiend: When a monster's attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder", the monster is not treated as having declared an attack, so the effect of "Red Dragon Archfiend" will still destroy it during the End Phase.: With "Red Dragon Archfiend", is a monster still destroyed when its attack is negated?

Scrubbed Raid: If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated when a monster declares an attack, then the Battle Phase ends, so the attacking monster can no longer be treated as an "attacking monster".: If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated in Chain to the effect of "Sakuretsu Armor" or "Mirror Force", then is the monster destroyed?
If the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" is activated in Chain to "Magic Cylinder", then the Battle Phase ends, so "Magic Cylinder

Previously Official Rulings

The effect of "
Magic Cylinder" negates the attack of one attacking monster, but that monster is still considered to have attacked and may not attack again or have its Battle Position manually changed.

Monsters that may attack twice during the Battle Phase, such as "Hayabusa Knight", that have their first attack negated by the effect of "Magic Cylinder" may still make a second attack.

If the attack of "Goblin Attack Force" or "Spear Dragon" is negated by the effect of "Magic Cylinder", they will not be changed to Defense Position, since Damage Calculation never occurred.

The Damage caused by this card’s effect is equal to the current ATK of the attacking monster.

If an effect is chained to "Magic Cylinder" that destroys the attacking monster, or removes the attacking monster from the turn player’s side of the field (including switching it to your control, or sending it to the owner’s hand), no damage is dealt by the effect of "Magic Cylinder".

Mentions in Other Rulings

Amazoness Archers: If you activate "Amazoness Archers" and chain "Magic Cylinder", "Magic Cylinder" does the full damage before the -500 ATK is applied; your opponent's other monsters must attack normally. If you chain "Amazoness Archers" to "Magic Cylinder", the ATK is reduced first and then "Magic Cylinder" does damage.

Asura Priest: If “Asura Priest” attacks a monster and your opponent activates “Magic Cylinder” to negate the attack, “Asura Priest” can attack that same monster again.

Barrel Behind the Door: You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Magic Cylinder". The attack will be negated and the damage transferred to the opponent.

Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning: If "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" attacks, and its attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder" , you cannot activate his first effect during Main Phase 2.

Book of Moon: If you chain "Book of Moon" to "Magic Cylinder" to flip the target of any of those cards face-down, the card’s effect disappears. (See "Activation & Targeting Eligibility" in the Advanced FAQ.)

Chaos Sorcerer: If "Chaos Sorcerer" attacks and the attack is negated with "Magic Cylinder", "Chaos Sorcerer" cannot activate its effect in Main Phase 2.

Diffusion Wave-Motion: If your Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster selected with "Diffusion Wave-Motion" has 1 of its attacks negated by "Magic Cylinder", that attack is negated but your Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster still attacks everything else.

Elemental HERO Wildheart: If you attack with “Elemental Hero Wildheart” If the opponent activates “Magic Cylinder”, his attack will not be negated and no Effect Damage will be dealt.

Getsu Fuhma: If an attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder", etc., then "Getsu Fuhma"s effect does not activate.

Grasschopper: While “Grasschopper’s” effect is active, if “Grasschopper” attacks a monster and your opponent activates “Magic Cylinder” to negate the attack, “Grasschopper” can attack that same monster again.

Gravekeeper's Assailant: You make the change of battle position due to "Gravekeeper’s Assailant" at the beginning of the attack, so you can change the battle position even if the attack is then negated by "Magic Cylinder", etc.

Hayabusa Knight: If "Hayabusa Knight's" first attack is negated with "Magic Cylinder", it may still attack one more time.

Infernal Dragon: Even if "Infernal Dragon's" attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder", etc., it will still be destroyed during the End Phase.

Metalsilver Armor: If you attack with "Dark Magician", and you control another monster equipped with "Metalsilver Armor", your opponent cannot activate "Magic Cylinder" because "Magic Cylinder" targets and only the monster equipped with "Metalsilver Armor" can be targeted (and it is not attacking).

Ordeal of a Traveler: When you activate "Ordeal of a Traveler"’s effect as a chain to "Magic Cylinder", since "Ordeal of a Traveler" resolves first, if your opponent guesses incorrectly then the attack does not resolve and the effect of "Magic Cylinder" disappears. If multiple copies of "Ordeal of a Traveler" are active, their effects are cumulative.

Red Dragon Archfiend: If the attack of one of your monsters is negated, with "Magic Cylinder", etc., the monster is destroyed by "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect in your End Phase.

Ring of Destruction: If you chain "Ring of Destruction" to "Magic Cylinder", "Magic Cylinder"’s effect disappears because the monster is no longer there (so "Magic Cylinder" inflicts no damage).

Spirit Reaper: When "Spirit Reaper" is targeted by an effect, "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its own effect AFTER resolving the effect that targeted it. For example, if "Spirit Reaper" attacks and "Magic Cylinder" is activated, designating "Spirit Reaper", first "Magic Cylinder" will resolve, negate the attack, and inflict 300 damage to the controller of "Spirit Reaper". Then, after that, "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its effect.

The Unhappy Girl: If your opponent attacks your "The Unhappy Girl" and you use "Magic Cylinder" to negate the attack, then "The Unhappy Girl"s effect is not applied.

Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce: If the first attack of a monster equipped with "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce" is negated by "Magic Cylinder", the monster can still perform the second attack.