Kuraz the Light Monarch

Warrior / Effect  LIGHT / 6
When this card is Normal or Special Summoned: You can target up to 2 cards on the field; destroy those targets, and if you do, each player can draw 1 card for each of the cards they controlled that was destroyed by this effect. This card cannot attack during the turn it is Normal or Special Summoned.
CARD ID: 57666212
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Kuraz the Light Monarch


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Duelist League 16 participation cards DL16-EN004 Rare3.90€-,--€5.25€
Light of Destruction: Special Edition LODT-ENSE1 Super Rare1.38€2.19€2.06€
OTS Tournament Pack 2 OP02-EN002 Ultimate Rare7.50€8.74€8.34€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA03 Common1.49€1.95€2.21€

Card Trivia

 This card and Delg the Dark Monarch are the only Monarch monsters to have their effects activate when they are Normal or Special Summoned, as well the only ones that have restrictions on attacking.
They are also the only Monarch monsters to not have corresponding Mega Monarch forms or Vassal monsters.
This card's Japanese name, Kuraisu, is an abbreviation of Kuraisuto, an affected phonetic translation for Christ.
This monster appears in the artwork of Tribute Carnival.


OCG Rulings

This effect targets 1 or 2 cards.: Effect Monster > Kuraz the Light Monarch

You destroy card(s) and draw card(s) simultaneously. The "drawing" effect does not use another chain link.

If "Kuraz the Light Monarch" targets 1 Spell/Trap Card and 1 Monster Card, you can use "Carrierroid's" effect to negate it.: When a card targets and destroys 1 Spell/Trap Card and 1 Monster, can "Carrierroid"s effect be activated?

If your opponent controls "Protector of the Sanctuary", "Kuraz the Light Monarch"s effect will activate and destroy cards, but you will not draw card(s). If you control "Protector of the Sanctuary", then only your opponent will not draw card(s).: When "Protector of the Sanctuary" is on the field, can "Kuraz the Light Monarch"s effect be activated?

The player who controlled the destroyed card draws a card, not the controller of "Kuraz the Light Monarch". If your opponent controls a card destroyed by the effect, he draws a card.: When your own card is targeted by "Kuraz the Light Monarch", and your opponent gains control of it before the effect resolves, who draws the card?

The player who controls the card at the time it is destroyed draws 1 card. So if you target your own monster and your opponent takes control of it with "Enemy Controller", your opponent will draw 1 card.

After resolving the effect of "Kuraz the Light Monarch", it is treated as being both "When a monster is destroyed" and "When a card is drawn". The "destroy" and "draw" parts are considered to resolve simultaneously.: Are the "destroy" and the "draw"" parts of the effect of "Kuraz the Light Monarch" considered to occur simultaneously?
Example: If "Kuraz the Light Monarch" destroys "Yubel", then even if you draw a card the effect of "Yubel" does not miss the timing and can be activated, so that "Yubel - Terror Incarnate

Drawing from this effect is optional, so a player can choose not to draw.: When a card is destroyed by "Kuraz the Light Monarch", can you choose not to draw?

If a player has 2 cards destroyed by this effect, they cannot choose to only draw 1 card. The player must choose to either draw 2 or 0 cards.

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Oyster Meister: If "Oyster Meister" is Tributed to Summon "Kuraz the Light Monarch" and Kuraz' effect is activated, "Oyster Meister's" effect is Chain Link 1 and "Kuraz the Light Monarch's" effect is Chain Link 2.

Judge List Rulings

Monarch's" effects activate at the time they are successfully Tribute Summoned. Their effects are Spell Speed 1. If the opponent wants to activate a card like "Bottomless Trap Hole", it will be placed onto the Chain with the "Monarch's" effect. But "Monarchs" don't need to remain on the field to resolve their effects, so destroying them with "Bottomless Trap Hole" will not negate their effect.: Bottomless Trap Hole Vs. Monarchs