Kagetokage


Reptile / Effect  DARK / 4
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned by its own effect. When you Normal Summon a Level 4 monster: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. Cannot be used as Synchro Material.
1100/1500 
CARD ID: 94656263
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Kagetokage

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Number Hunters NUMH-EN018 Super Rare0.02€0.26€0.21€
OTS Tournament Pack 5 OP05-EN018 Common0.02€0.26€0.30€
Photon Shockwave PHSW-EN005 Rare0.02€0.29€0.20€
Star Pack 2013 SP13-EN009 Common0.02€0.41€0.33€
Star Pack 2013 SP13-EN009 Starfoil Rare0.04€0.15€0.44€
Super Starter: V for Victory YS13-EN016 Common0.02€0.33€0.30€

Card Trivia

 In the Viz manga adaptation, this card is sometimes referred to as Shadow Lizard, a translation of its name.
This card's appearance (a shadow with glowing, red eyes) is based off its name, as indicated above. Also, this card's effect can be understood as Kagetokage acting as the shadow of another monster.
It's likely that this card is based off of the flat lizards in Reptiles, by M. C. Escher.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



This monster is a Special Summon monster.: Kagetokage

"Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set." and "This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster." are not treated as Effect Monster effects.

If this card is successfully Special Summoned first through the correct procedure, then it can be Special Summoned by the effect of "Monster Reborn" (etc.).

You Normal Summon "Goblindbergh" during your turn. At this time, the effects of the Normal Summoned "Goblindbergh" and a "Kagetokage" in your hand are activated and the opponent activates "Torrential Tribute". In this case, first of all, it is decided whether the effect of the Normal Summoned "Goblindbergh" is activated or not; if it is, since both players want to activate other card effects, according to the chaining rules, the next player who can activate cards is the opponent, who activates "Torrential Tribute" first. Finally, the effect of the "Kagetokage" in the hand can be activated. Therefore, in this case, the following chain is formed.
Chain Link 1: The activation of the effect of your "Goblindbergh".
Chain Link 2: The activation of the opponent's "Torrential Tribute".
Chain Link 3: The activation of the effect of your "Kagetokage".: When "Goblindbergh" is Normal Summoned, if you want to activate "Kagetokage" and your opponent wants to activate "Torrential Tribute", how does it resolve?

If you Normal Summon a Level 4 monster with 1500 or more ATK during your turn, and you want to activate the effect of "Kagetokage" while your opponent wants to activate "Bottomless Trap Hole", the turn player can activate effects first. Therefore, "Kagetokage" is activated as Chain Link 1, and "Bottomless Trap Hole" is activated as Chain Link 2.: During your turn, you Normal Summoned a Level 4 monster with 1500 ATK or more. At this time, you activated the effect of "Kagetokage", and the opponent activated "Bottomless Trap Hole". In this case, which effect activates first?

If "Kagetokage" is sent from your hand or Deck to the Graveyard without being properly Special Summoned, it cannot be Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn". If "Kagetokage" is Special Summoned through the proper procedure, as long as it is sent from the field to the Graveyard, it can be Special Summoned by the effect of "Monster Reborn".: Can "Kagetokage" be Special Summoned by the effect of "Monster Reborn"?

If the effect of "Masked Chameleon" is activated, since you cannot Special Summon monsters except from the Extra Deck or by the effect of that "Masked Chameleon", the effect of "Kagetokage" in the hand cannot be activated in a chain.: Can the effect of "Kagetokage" in the hand be activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of a Normal Summoned "Masked Chameleon"?

While "A Legendary Ocean" is applying, if you Normal Summon "Eagle Shark", you can activate the effect of "Kagetokage" in your hand.: While "A Legendary Ocean" is applying, if I Normal Summon "Eagle Shark", can I activate the effect of "Kagetokage" in my hand?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Inferno Reckless Summon: If a Special Summon monster with 1500 ATK or less like "Kagetokage" is Special Summoned and there are copies of that monster that have been properly Special Summoned in the Graveyard, "Inferno Reckless Summon" can be activated. However, if there are not properly Special Summoned copies, since the remaining copies in the hand or Deck of "Kagetokage" cannot be Special Summoned with the effect of "Inferno Reckless Summon", "Inferno Reckless Summon" cannot be activated.: When a Special Summon monster with 1500 ATK or less like "Kagetokage" is Special Summoned, can "Inferno Reckless Summon" be activated?

Number S0: Utopic ZEXAL: The effect of "Number S0: Utopic ZEXAL" prevents your opponent from activating cards or effects for the rest of their turn. Continuous Effects will be applied normally, and your opponent can still Normal Summon monsters, as well as perform Special Summons, Synchro Summons, Xyz Summons, or Pendulum Summons. Special Summons that require the activation of a card or effect, such as "Rank-Up-Magic Barian's Force" or "Kagetokage", cannot be performed.: If the last effect of "Number S0: Hope ZEXAL" is being applied, can my opponent still Normal or Special Summon monsters?