Judgment Dragon

Dragon / Effect  LIGHT / 8
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by having 4 or more "Lightsworn" monsters with different names in your GY. You can pay 1000 LP; destroy all other cards on the field. Once per turn, during your End Phase: Send the top 4 cards of your Deck to the GY.
CARD ID: 57774843
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Judgment Dragon


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack Tournament Prize Cards BATT-EN017 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battles of Legend: Light's Revenge BLLR-EN041 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN070 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series 3 GLD3-EN016 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN249 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Light of Destruction LODT-EN026 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN072 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Ra Yellow Mega Pack RYMP-EN104 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Realm of Light Structure Deck SDLI-EN004 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Turbo Pack: Booster One TU01-EN000 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of Lightsworn Judgment, Michael, the Arch-Lightsworn, and Twilight Twin Dragons.
This monster has a Dark counterpart, Punishment Dragon, and a Synchro/retrained counterpart, Judgment, the Dragon of Heaven.
Realm of Light can be seen in the background of this card's artwork. It is partially destroyed, so it is likely after the effects of Light of Destruction, or possibly it was the destructive force of this card's own effect.
This monster resembles the Luck Dragon, Falkor, from The Neverending Story.
This monster also resembles a hybrid between a European gryphon and a Chinese dragon.
This monster's inclusion in Turbo Pack: Booster One was the first instance a card was printed in the TCG as an Ultimate Rare without an Ultra Rare, Super Rare or Rare counterpart and the first to have a Secret Rare counterpart that isn't a tin promo.
This monster's effect may refer to the prophecy of Judgment Day. In said prophecy, the world is destroyed by God, while in the case of Duel Monsters, Judgment Dragon, destroys all cards on the field except for itself. The presence of the word, Judgment, in this card's name further reinforces this connection.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Mermaid Archer: If “Mermaid Archer” and the monster equipped to it would be destroyed at the same time (by “Judgment Dragon,” for example), you cannot destroy the equipped monster to save “Mermaid Archer.”

Power Tool Dragon: If “Power Tool Dragon” and the card equipped to it would be destroyed at the same time (by “Judgment Dragon,” for example), you cannot send the Equip Spell Card to the Graveyard to save “Power Tool Dragon.”

OCG Rulings

After this card is Special Summoned by its "Must be Special Summoned (from your hand) by having 4 or more "Lightsworn" monsters with different names in your Graveyard, and cannot be Special Summoned by other ways" procedure, if it is sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned with "Monster Reborn".: Judgment Dragon

The effect "You can pay 1000 LP; destroy all other cards on the field" is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Paying 1000 LP is a cost to activate this effect.)

The effect "Once per turn, during your End Phase: Send the top 4 cards of your Deck to the Graveyard" is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It is only activated once during each End Phase.)

This effect is activated even if you have 3 or less cards in your Deck. (In this case, all remaining cards are sent from the Deck to the Graveyard.)

"Prime Material Dragon" cannot be chained to "Judgment Dragon"s effect which sends cards from the deck to the Graveyard (even though "Judgment Dragon"s effect is being activated, and "Judgment Dragon" has an effect which destroys monsters on the field).: When a monster with an "effect to destroy a monster(s) on the field" activates an effect which does something other than destroy, can you activate "Prime Material Dragon"?

"Obelisk the Tormentor" can be destroyed by effects that do not target, such as "Judgment Dragon", "Lightning Vortex", "Mirror Force", etc.: Can a face-up "Obelisk the Tormentor" be destroyed by effects that do not target like "Lightning Vortex"?

If "Mermaid Archer" and the equipped monster would be destroyed simultaneously by "Demise, King of Armageddon"/"Judgment Dragon"/"Final Destiny"/etc, then you cannot apply the effect of "Mermaid Archer" and destroy the equipped monster instead.: When "Mermaid Archer" and the equipped card would be destroyed simultaneously, can the equipped card be destroyed as a substitute?

For the effect of "Dark Armed Dragon" which destroys a card and the effect of "Judgment Dragon" which sends cards from the Deck to the Graveyard, these effects cannot Special Summon a monster at resolution, so "Royal Oppression" cannot be chained to these effects.: Can the effect of "Royal Oppression" be chained to the effect of a Special Summon Monster?

"Starlight Road" is activated directly in Chain to an effect which destroys two or more cards on the field.: Is "Starlight Road" activated directly in Chain to an effect which destroys?
Example: If the effect of "Judgment Dragon" is activated and "Call of the Haunted" is Chained to the effect of "Judgment Dragon", then "Starlight Road" cannot be Chained to "Call of the Haunted" since "Starlight Road" must be Chained directly to the effect of "Judgment Dragon".

Suppose you control "Malefic Stardust Dragon" and a Field Spell Card. If your opponent activates an effect like that of "Demise, King of Armageddon" or "Final Destiny" or "Judgment Dragon" which would destroy "Malefic Stardust Dragon" and the Field Spell Card simultaneously, then the Field Spell Card is not destroyed since it cannot be destroyed by card effects.: Does "Judgment Dragon" destroy both "Malefic Stardust Dragon" and the Field Spell Card?

A monster like "Dark Armed Dragon" or "Judgment Dragon" cannot be Special Summoned, except by the method stated in its text. It cannot be Special Summoned by effects like "Monster Reborn", even if it was properly Special Summoned beforehand. Also, you cannot Special Summon "Dark Armed Dragon" from the Graveyard even if there are exactly three DARK monsters in the Graveyard.: Can monsters like "Dark Armed Dragon" and "Judgment Dragon" be Special Summoned from the Graveyard?

If "Book of Moon","Interdimensional Matter Transporter" or "Compulsory Evacuation Device" was activated in a Chain to the effect of "Judgment Dragon", and furthermore, "Forbidden Chalice" was also Chained targeting "Judgment Dragon", the effects resolves as follows:
"Book of Moon": Resolving backwards, since "Book of Moon" changes "Judgment Dragon" to face-down Defense Position, the effect of "Forbidden Chalice" is no longer applied, the effect of "Judgment Dragon" is not negated and the cards on the field are destroyed.
"Interdimensional Matter Transporter": Resolving backwards, if "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" banishes "Judgment Dragon", its effect is negated.
"Compulsory Evacuation Device": Resolving backwards, if "Compulsory Evacuation Device" returns "Judgment Dragon" to the hand, its effect is negated.: "Book of Moon", "Compulsory Evacuation Device" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" is activated, and "Forbidden Chalice" is activated in a Chain. When the effect of the targeted monster resolves, is that effect negated?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Solemn Warning: "Solemn Warning" can be Chained to the activation of a card or the activation of an Effect Monster's effect such as:: Can "Solemn Warning" be Chained to a Spell or Trap Card which does not include Special Summoning?
The Normal Summon or Flip Summon of a monster, or the Special Summon of a monster like "Cyber Dragon" or "Judgment Dragon

Previously Official Rulings

Paying 1000 Life Points is a

If an effect is chained that flips "Judgment Dragon" face-down, it is not destroyed by its effect.

See “Jain, Lightsworn Paladin” for additional rulings.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Prime Material Dragon: When "Judgment Dragon's" effect to destroy all other cards on the field is activated, "Prime Material Dragon's" effect can be chained.

Solemn Judgment: "Solemn Judgment" can negate the Special Summon of a monster that is Special Summoned through its own inherent Special Summon effect that does not start a Chain, like "Judgment Dragon" .

Lightsworn Monster Card Rulings=
{{:Card Rulings:Lightsworn

Out of Date