Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

Dragon / Synchro / Effect  WATER / 7
1 Tuner + 1+ non-Tuner WATER monsters
Once per turn: You can discard up to 2 cards to the GY, then target the same number of cards your opponent controls; destroy them.

CARD ID: 65749035
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Duel Terminal 3 DT03-EN040 Duel Terminal Ultra Parallel R-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hidden Arsenal 3 HA03-EN030 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hidden Arsenal 5: Steelswarm Invasion: Special Edition H5SE-EN002 Super Rare---
Structure Deck: Freezing Chains SDFC-EN044 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 Like the other Dragon of the Ice Barrier monsters, this card gets its name from a spear. Gungnir (The Swaying One) is the spear of the war god Odin in Norse mythology. Also, the character Odin in Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's Duel Transer uses this card.
Gungnir's Chinese name is 天槍 which literally means Heavenly Spear.
This monster appears in the artworks of Synchro Baton, Void Trap Hole and Nekroz Kaleidoscope.
This is the only Ice Barrier Synchro Monster that is not a cover card for a Hidden Arsenal pack, and the only one to not be on the Forbidden and Limited List since it was released.
This is also the only Dragon of the Ice Barrier monster not to be placed on the Forbidden list as of March 1, 2013.
This card's French translation used to have a major error. It has since been corrected.
French : Une fois par tour, vous pouvez défausser jusqu'à 2 cartes au Cimetière pour sélectionner un nombre de cartes égal au nombre de cartes contrôlées par votre adversaire. Détruisez les cartes sélectionnées.
Translated : Once per turn, you can discard up to two cards to the Graveyard to select a number of cards equal to the number of cards your opponent controls. Destroy the selected cards.
This card has 2 counterparts:
lswarm: Evilswarm Ophion
Nekroz: Nekroz of Gungnir


OCG Rulings

Discarding up to two cards is a cost to activate the effect of "Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier". This effect targets a number of cards equal to the number of cards discarded.: Synchro Monster > Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier

If the effect of "Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" targets two cards and one of the cards is not on the field at resolution, then the remaining card on the field is still destroyed even though the other card cannot be destroyed.: When resolving the effect of "Gungnir, Dragon of the Ice Barrier", if only one of the targeted cards is on the field, then is the card destroyed?