Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest


Beast / Effect  EARTH / 7
If this card is in your hand or Graveyard when a face-up Beast-Type monster you control is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard (except during the Damage Step): You can pay 1000 Life Points; Special Summon this card.
2600/1800 
CARD ID: 46668237
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest

Card Trivia

 This monster has two counterparts: Yellow Baboon, Archer of the Forest and Ancient Crimson Ape.

Rulings


TCG Rulings



You cannot activate the effect of this card during the Damage Step.: Current Card Errata List, compiled as of January 5, 2010
When a Beast-Type monster is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, you can only Special Summon 1 "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest," even if multiple copies are available in your hand/Graveyard.


OCG Rulings



The effects of "Soul Taker" do not resolve simultaneously. The last thing to resolve is treated as "your opponent gains Life Points" not "the monster is destroyed". Because of this, if a Beast-Type monster is destroyed by "Soul Taker", then you cannot activate the effect of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" because you miss the timing.: Are the effects of "Soul Taker" which destroy the monster and recover Life Points resolved simultaneously?

You cannot activate the effect of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" which Special Summons itself during the Damage Step when a monster is destroyed by battle. You cannot activate the effect in chain to an effect like "Giant Rat" or "Nimble Momonga" when a Beast-Type monster is destroyed by battle.: Can you activate the effect of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" which Special Summons itself in the Damage Step?

When a Beast-Type monster is destroyed, you cannot Special Summon multiple "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest", even if you have multiple copies of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest

Previously Official Rulings


This card's effect can be activated during either player's turn.

This effect can be activated after a Beast-Type monster you control is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, if that monster was face-up and "
Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" was in your hand or Graveyard when it was destroyed.

When "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" is destroyed, you cannot use its effect to Special Summon itself.

When "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" and another Beast-Type monster are destroyed at the same time by a card's effect, like "Lightning Vortex", you cannot use "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest's" effect to Special Summon itself.

You cannot activate this effect when a face-down Beast-Type monster you control is destroyed by a card effect.: Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest Vs. face-downs, DNA Surgery

You cannot activate this effect when a Beast-Type monster treated as a Spell Card (such as one equipped to "Relinquished" or a "Crystal Beast") is destroyed.

You can activate this effect when a face-up monster you control that is treated as a Beast-Type monster (due to "DNA Surgery", etc.) is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Light and Darkness Dragon: When the effect of a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster is activated while the card is in your hand (“Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest”, etc.), the card will remain in the player’s hand when its activation is negated by “Light and Darkness Dragon”.

Queen of Thorns: . If you Special Summon a monster from your hand by using a card effect ("Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest", etc.), you pay 1000 Life Points when the effect resolves.

Judge List Rulings

You cannot activate this effect when a face-up Beast-Type monster you control that is treated as a non-Beast-Type monster (due to "DNA Surgery", etc.) is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

"Crystal Abundance" does not destroy cards. It will not trigger "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest's" effect.: green baboon vs mirror force and other cards

If a Beast-Type Token Monster is destroyed, "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest's" effect will not trigger since Monster Tokens are not placed into the Graveyard when they are destroyed.