Goblin of Greed


Fiend / Effect  EARTH / 4
As long as this card remains face-up on your side of the field, neither player can activate an effect by discarding from his/her hand.
1000/1800 
CARD ID: 00425934
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Goblin of Greed

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Crisis DCR-065 Common0.02€0.05€0.10€
Dark Crisis DCR-EN065 Common0.02€0.05€0.10€
Dark Revelation Volume 1 DR1-EN227 Common0.02€-,--€0.16€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of Upstart Goblin, Goblin Thief, Jar Robber, Goblin Out of the Frying Pan, Good Goblin Housekeeping, Heavy Slump, Second Coin Toss, Dark Factory of Mass Production, Dark Scorpion Combination, Fine, Pollinosis, Peeking Goblin, Royal Prison, Return, Bubble Crash, Single Purchase, Goblin Circus, Cash Back, Panic Shuffle, Hidden Fangs of Revenge, Battleguard Sorcery, Extra Buck, Recall, and Waking the Dragon.
Collectively, the artwork of these cards gives a rough narrative where the Goblin of Greed is obsessed with Pot of Greed and its variants, and tries to make its fortune selling or stealing them, but through misfortune or misadventure he loses his fortune and is forced to do menial jobs to make money; then a new opportunity to acquire Pot of Greed arises and the Goblin goes back to scheming, the cycle repeating.
Pot of Greed and Jar of Greed appear in this card's artwork.
Scrounging Goblin is a counterpart of this card.
The Spanish name of this card has a typo, as it was printed as Goblin de la Codícia instead of Goblin de la Codicia.
In the early days of the Spanish TCG, there were a fair number of cards which names featured diacritical marks where they shouldn't be, or a complete lack thereof. This case matches that of Jar of Greed, which was eventually corrected.

Rulings




OCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

The Tricky: "The Tricky" is not a Special Summon monster. Despite being a monster that can be Normal Summoned, it is a monster that can also be Special Summoned by performing the procedure of discarding 1 card from the hand. In other words, Special Summoning "The Tricky" from the hand by discarding 1 card from the hand does not start a Chain, and is not an effect that activates. Therefore, even if "Goblin of Greed: While "Goblin of Greed" is face-up, applying its effect that prevents effects from being activated by discarding cards, can "The Tricky" be Special Summoned by the method described in its text?

Previously Official Rulings


"
Goblin of Greed" prevents discarding as a cost, but not as part of an effect. So "Goblin of Greed" will stop "Kuriboh", but not "Mirage of Nightmare" or "Graceful Charity".

If your opponent activates an effect and discards as a cost, and you chain "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Goblin of Greed", he doesn't stop the effect because the cost was already paid.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Wicked-Breaking Flamberge - Baou:" Sending 1 card to the Graveyard is a cost. This is not "discarding"and you can pay the cost even if "Goblin of Greed" is in play.