Giant Rat


Beast / Effect  EARTH / 4
When this card is destroyed by battle and sent to the GY: You can Special Summon 1 EARTH monster with 1500 or less ATK from your Deck in Attack Position.
1400/1450 
CARD ID: 97017120
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Giant Rat

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN045 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Legends DLG1-EN068 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist League 2010 participation cards DL09-EN005 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Geargia Rampage Structure Deck SDGR-EN020 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hobby League 3 participation card A HL03-EN001 Ultra Parallel Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN232 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Magic Ruler MRL-079 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Magic Ruler MRL-E079 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Retro Pack RP01-EN067 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Speed Duel: Battle City Box SBCB-EN047 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spell Ruler SRL-079 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spell Ruler SRL-EN079 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz YS11-EN012 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Xyz Symphony YS12-EN017 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Evolution SYE-020 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yuya YS16-EN020 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Invincible Fortress SD7-EN003 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Tournament Pack 4 TP4-011 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artwork of “The Big March of Animals” and Mirror Prison.
This card is a member of the Attribute Summoner, each members has one for each Attribute in the Game, for WIND: Flying Kamakiri 1, for FIRE: UFO Turtle , For WATER: Mother Grizzly, For DARK: Mystic Tomato, and For LIGHT: Shining Angel. All of have the same 1400 ATK, but Giant Rat has the highest DEF of them all.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



"Mosaic Manticore" will only negate effects which activate on the field. It will not negate the Graveyard effects of "Sangan", "Mystic Tomato", "Giant Rat", etc.: When "Sangan" is Special Summoned by "Mosaic Manticore", is its effect which activates in the Graveyard negated?

When "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks and destroys a Defense Position "Giant Rat", "Red Dragon Archfiend"s effect destroys "Giant Rat", so "Giant Rat"s effect is not activated.: When "Red Dragon Archfiend" destroys a Defence Position monster by battle, is the monster treated as being destroyed by battle?

When "Debris Dragon"/"Black Salvo"/"Doomkaiser Dragon/Assault Mode"/etc Special Summon a monster with an effect that activates in the Graveyard like "Sangan"/"Giant Rat"/"Mystic Tomato"/etc, then that effect is not negated. This is because "Debris Dragon etc only negates effects which activate or are applied on the field.: When "Sangan" etc is Special Summoned by the effect of "Debris Dragon" etc, is its effect which activates in the Graveyard negated?

When "Jurrac Monoloph" destroys a monster like "Giant Rat" or "Mystic Tomato" by battle, if "Giant Rat" etc Special Summons a new monster, then "Jurrac Monoloph" can attack the new monster.: After "Jurak Monolov" destroys "Giant Rat" by battle, can it continue to attack the new monster?

You cannot activate the effect of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" which Special Summons itself during the Damage Step when a monster is destroyed by battle. You cannot activate the effect in chain to an effect like "Giant Rat" or "Nimble Momonga" when a Beast-Type monster is destroyed by battle.: Can you activate the effect of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" which Special Summons itself in the Damage Step?

While the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is active, only LIGHT and DARK Attribute monsters cannot be Special Summoned. The effect of "Giant Rat" can be activated because it Special Summons an EARTH Attribute monster. The effect of "Mystic Tomato" cannot be activated because it Special Summons a DARK Attribute

Previously Official Rulings


If you attack with your "
Giant Rat" and it is destroyed as a result of battle, you may attack with the monster Special Summoned by "Giant Rat" before entering Main Phase 2.

If your opponent controls your "Giant Rat" and it is destroyed as a result of battle, you get the effect of "Giant Rat" NOT your opponent.

Since the Special Summoning occurs during the Damage Step, "Torrential Tribute", etc. cannot be used.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Asura Priest: When "Asura Priest" attacks and destroys "Giant Rat"you may then attack the monster Special Summoned by the effect of those monsters.

Barrier Statue: Effects like “Giant Rat” cannot be used while a Barrier Statue is in play if they would Special Summon a monster with a barred Attribute.

Dark Ruler Ha Des: Flip Effects and effects that activate in the Graveyard WILL be negated. This includes "Giant Rat"

Diffusion Wave-Motion: A Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster selected with "Diffusion Wave-Motion" will negate: the Flip Effects of a monster it destroys as a result of battle, or the effects of "Giant Rat"

Doomcaliber Knight: When multiple Effect Monster effects activate simultaneously, "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained after determining the order of the Effect Monster effects (see the Advanced Rulings FAQ "Simultaneous Effects") and will negate the Effect Monster's effect that was placed last on the Chain.
Example 3: Player A's "Giant Rat" is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard while she has "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" in her hand and "Doomcaliber Knight" is face-up on the field. Player A can activate "Giant Rat" and/or "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest's" effect. If she activates both effects, she chooses the order the effects are placed onto the Chain, and "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate the effect that is placed highest on the Chain. If "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" is Chain Link 1 and "Giant Rat" is Chain Link 2, "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate "Giant Rat".

Element Soldier: If the only EARTH monster on the field is your opponent's "Giant Rat", and your "Element Soldier" attacks and destroys it, there is no EARTH monster on the field when "Giant Rat"s effect activates in the Graveyard, so "Element Soldier" no longer has the ability to negate monster effects and "Giant Rat"s effect resolves as normal. (Monsters destroyed by "Element Soldier" that have effects that activate in the Graveyard will only have their effects negated if an EARTH monster is on the field at the time the monster is sent to the Graveyard.)

Horn of Heaven: "Horn of Heaven" cannot be used to negate a Special Summon that results from a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster Card. You cannot use "Horn of Heaven" to negate a Special Summon from "Giant Rat", .

Necrovalley: "Necrovalley" will NOT negate effects that are activated when a card is sent TO the Graveyard or that activate IN the Graveyard or that count cards in the Graveyard. So it will NOT negate the effects of"Giant Rat"

Red Dragon Archfiend: If "Red Dragon Archfiend" attacks a Defense Position "Giant Rat," etc., and destroys it with its effect, "Giant Rat's" effect does not activate because it is destroyed by "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect before it would be sent to the Graveyard by battle.

Skill Drain: "Skill Drain" negates the effects of face-up Effect Monsters on the field, but does not negate effects that activate in the Graveyard, such as "Giant Rat"

The End of Anubis: "The End of Anubis" WILL negate the effects of "Giant Rat"

Time Machine: If a monster with an effect that activates when it is destroyed by battle is sent to the Graveyard, like "Sangan" or "Giant Rat", you can chain "Time Machine".

Torrential Tribute: "Torrential Tribute" cannot be activated during the Damage Step. This prohibits "Torrential Tribute" from being used against monsters Special Summoned by"Giant Rat"