Gearfried the Iron Knight

Warrior / Effect  EARTH / 4
If either player equips an Equip Card(s) to this card: Destroy that Equip Card(s).
CARD ID: 00423705
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Gearfried the Iron Knight


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2003 BPT-012 Secret Rare6.00€6.44€6.09€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN204 Rare0.04€0.02€0.16€
Duelist Pack: Battle City DPBC-EN022 Common0.02€0.08€0.09€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN030 Common0.08€-,--€0.20€
Legendary Decks II LDK2-ENJ12 Common0.02€0.07€0.11€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-101 Super Rare0.10€1.25€1.30€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-E101 Super Rare0.10€1.25€1.30€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-EN101 Super Rare0.10€1.25€1.30€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN025 Rare0.05€-,--€0.33€
Speed Duel Starter Decks: Duelists of Tomorrow SS02-ENB10 Common0.02€0.13€0.13€
Speed Duel Tournament Pack 1 STP1-EN009 Super Rare0.25€0.60€0.59€
Starter Deck: Joey SDJ-012 Common0.02€0.03€0.07€
Structure Deck: Warrior's Triumph SD5-EN005 Common0.02€0.08€0.11€

Card Trivia

 Joey tells the story of Gearfried the Swordmaster, in one of his Duels. According to his story, Gearfried wields a power so great, that merely holding a weapon resulted in the wide scale devastation of an entire battlefield. Fearful of his own might, he sealed himself in a suit of iron armor to limit his power (represented by this card's effect that destroys any Equip Card equipped to it). This devastation effect can been seen in the ability of Gearfried the Swordmaster to instantly destroy a monster when equipped.
This card has several counterparts, such as Lightray Gearfried, Phoenix Gearfried and the manga exclusive Gilti-Gearfried the Magical Steel Knight.
This card has a Red-Eyes counterpart: Gearfried the Red-Eyes Iron Knight.
This card appears on Dimension Explosion.
This card is similar to Power Tool Dragon, as both have armored versions of themselves that hides their true form.  Both of their effects (as well as some of the effects of their true forms) also involve Equip Spell Cards.


OCG Rulings

If "Blast with Chain" activates as Chain Link 2 or higher and is equipped to "Gearfried the Iron Knight", then "Blast with Chain"s effect will activate after "Gearfried the Iron Knight"s effect resolves.: When "Blast with Chain" equips to "Gearfried the Iron Knight" at Chain Link 2 or higher, when does the effect activate?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Release Restraint: Tributing "Gearfried the Iron Knight" is a cost: Spell Card > Release Restraint

Previously Official Rulings

If you
Special Summon "Gearfried the Iron Knight" with "Premature Burial", it is destroyed after it is Special Summoned when its effect destroys "Premature Burial".

Mentions in Other Rulings

Blast with Chain: If you equip this card to "Gearfried the Iron Knight", then this card's effect will be activated because it was destroyed by a card effect.

Blast with Chain: If a monster attacks "Gearfried the Iron Knight", and you activate "Blast with Chain" during the Damage Step, "Blast with Chain" is destroyed and gets its effect, so you can destroy the attacking monster before Damage Calculation.

Butterfly Dagger - Elma:" While "Morale Boost" is active, if you equip "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" to "Gearfried the Iron Knight", 1) Increase your Life Points for "Morale Boost", 2) destroy "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" with "Gearfried the Iron Knight"s effect, 3) inflict damage for "Morale Boost" when "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is sent to the Graveyard, 4) the owner of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" can return it to his/her hand.

Fusion Sword Murasame Blade:" If you equip this card to "Gearfried the Iron Knight" it is not destroyed.

Gearfried the Swordmaster:" If you Tribute 1 "Gearfried the Iron Knight" to activate "Release Restraint", then chain "Serial Spell", you can Special Summon 2 "Gearfried the Swordmaster" cards from your Deck.

Release Restraint:" If you do not have any copies of "Gearfried the Swordmaster" in your hand or Deck, you can still activate this card to Tribute "Gearfried the Iron Knight", but you will need to show your cards to your opponent to confirm.

Smoke Grenade of the Thief:" This card must be destroyed directly for its effect to activate, such as with the effects of "Mystical Space Typhoon", "Heavy Storm", or "Gearfried the Iron Knight". Its effect does NOT activate if the monster it is equipped to is destroyed, Tributed, flipped face-down, or removed from the field.

Out of Date

If you select your opponent's "Gearfried the Iron Knight" with "Snatch Steal", "Snatch Steal" is destroyed when it resolves and "Gearfried the Iron Knight" remains on your opponent's side of the field.The latest errata of "Gearfried the Iron Knight" makes it clear that its effect is a Trigger Effect. This ruling could only be the case if it was a Continuous Effect.