Doomcaliber Knight


Fiend / Effect  DARK / 4
Cannot be Special Summoned. During either player's turn, if a monster effect is activated: Tribute this face-up card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that monster.
1900/1800 
CARD ID: 78700060
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Doomcaliber Knight

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN141 Common0.02€0.33€0.36€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN141 Starfoil Rare0.12€0.06€0.24€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN062 Common0.05€0.31€0.33€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN062 Mosaic Rare0.09€-,--€0.50€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN056 Ultra Rare0.02€0.28€0.26€
Gold Series 4: Pyramids Edition GLD4-EN023 Gold Rare0.05€0.15€0.35€
Premium Gold: Return of the Bling PGL2-EN077 Gold Rare0.02€0.30€0.34€
Shonen Jump Championship 2008 Prize Card SJCS-EN006 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€619.95€
Turbo Pack: Booster One TU01-EN001 Ultra Rare2.99€5.19€3.80€

Card Trivia

 This card is called Des Calibur Knight or Skull Descovery Knight in some video games.
This card has Spell and Trap Card-negating counterparts: A-Team: Trap Disposal Unit and Maryokutai.
However, this card's activation is mandatory, while the others are optional.
This card's OCG/TCG artwork is taken from Yu-Gi-Oh! Millennium World - Duel 046, specifically from the panel where this monster is shown attacking Marshmallon.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



This is a Quick Effect that activates in chain to the Effect Monster's effect, regardless of whether or not the player wants this effect.: Doomcaliber Knight

Tributing this card is a cost to activate the effect.

This card's effect will even activate when your own Effect Monster's effect activates.

The effect does not target.

When 1 "Light and Darkness Dragon" and 1 "Doomcaliber Knight" are on the field, if a Spell/Trap Card is activated, then "Light and Darkness Dragon" will be Chain Link 2, and "Doomcaliber Knight" will be Chain Link 3. The effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" can only be activated once per Chain, so "Light and Darkness Dragon" will not try to negate "Doomcaliber Knight".: How do you resolve it when "Light and Darkness Dragon" and "Doomcaliber Knight" are both on the field?

When you Summon a monster with a Continuous Effect like the effect of "Jinzo"/"Perfect Machine King"/"Spell Canceller"/"Muka Muka"/"Star Boy", its effect does not start a Chain Link, so you cannot chain "Divine Wrath"/"Doomcaliber Knight" to negate the effect. In addition, the effect of "Jinzo" is already being applied, so "Divine Wrath" cannot be activated.: When a Continuous Effect Monster comes to the field, can "Divine Wrath" be activated?

"Divine Wrath"/"Doomcaliber Knight" can/will be chained to effects which activate in the Graveyard like "Sangan"/"Witch of the Black Forest"/"Giant Rat", and will negate them. However, the monster is already in the Graveyard, so it will not be destroyed.: Can "Divine Wrath" or "Doomcaliber Knight" negate effects which activate in the Graveyard?

When "Sangan" is Tributed to Tribute Summon "Mobius the Frost Monarch" while "Doomcaliber Knight" is on the field, "Sangan" is Chain Link 1 (because it is mandatory) and "Mobius the Frost Monarch" is Chain Link 2 (because it is optional). The effect of "Doomcaliber Knight" will then activate as Chain Link 3. When resolving the effect, "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate the effect of "Mobius the Frost Monarch", and then "Sangan" will resolve normally.: When "Sangan" is Tributed to Tribute Summon "Mobius the Frost Monarch" while "Doomcaliber Knight" is on the field, how do you resolve it?

If the effect of "Bujingi Crane" is activated during damage calculation when "Doomcaliber Knight" battles and the effect of "Doomcaliber Knight" is chained to the effect of "Bujingi Crane", Tributing itself, then damage calculation is not performed and the Damage Step ends. A replay does not occur.: Is damage calculation performed if "Bujingi Crane" is activated during damage calculation when "Doomcaliber Knight" battles?

Even if the activation of the effect of "Snapdragon" is negated by "Doomcaliber Knight", you cannot activate the effect of another "Snapdragon" during the same turn.: If the activation of the effect of "Snapdragon" is negated by "Doomcaliber Knight", can the effect of another "Snapdragon" be activated on the same turn?

Mentions in Other Rulings

When the effect of "Yubel" activates during the End Phase, if "Divine Wrath" is chained to negate the effect of and destroy "Yubel", then the timing is ""Yubel" was destroyed". Because of this, you can activate the effect of "Yubel" to Special Summon "Yubel - Terror Incarnate". Similarly, when the effect of "Yubel - Terror Incarnate" activates during the End Phase, if "Divine Wrath" is chained to negate the effect of and destroy "Yubel - Terror Incarnate", then the timing is ""Yubel - Terror Incarnate" was destroyed". Because of this, you can activate the effect of "Yubel - Terror Incarnate" to Special Summon "Yubel - The Ultimate Nightmare

Previously Official Rulings


"
Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is a Quick Effect. When an Effect Monster's effect is activated, "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect activates in a Chain to that effect. This effect does not target.

Tributing "Doomcaliber Knight" is a cost.

"Doomcaliber Knight's" effect can activate during the the{{sic Damage Step.

"Doomcaliber Knight's" effect will not activate while "Mask of Restrict" is active, because it cannot be Tributed.

If "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect activates while "Skill Drain" is face-up on the field, its effect is not negated because it is not on the field when its effect resolves.

If "Doomcaliber Knight" is destroyed by battle and an Effect Monster's effect activates after damage calculation ("D.D. Warrior Lady", etc.), "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect still activates.

If an Effect Monster's effect is activated while multiple "Doomcaliber Knights" are face-up on the field, they all activate and are Tributed. Their effects are chained following the rules for simultaneous effects (see the Advanced Rulings FAQ). Only the last "Doomcaliber Knight" to resolve will be applied, and the effects of the other "Doomcaliber Knights" disappear.
Example: Player A controls 2 "Doomcaliber Knights". Player B activates an Effect Monster's effect. Both of Player A's "Doomcaliber Knight" activate and form a Chain:
    Effect Monster --> Doomcaliber Knight A --> Doomcaliber Knight B
Only Doomcaliber Knight A negates the Effect Monster's effect.

When multiple Effect Monster effects activate simultaneously, "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained after determining the order of the Effect Monster effects (see the Advanced Rulings FAQ "Simultaneous Effects") and will negate the Effect Monster's effect that was placed last on the Chain.
Example 1: Player A Tributes her "Sangan" and "Witch of the Black Forest" to Tribute Summon "Dark Magician". "Sangan's" effect is Chain Link 1 and "Witch of the Black Forest's" effect is Chain Link 2. The effect of Player B's "Doomcaliber Knight" is chained, and it will negate "Witch of the Black Forest's" effect.
Example 2: Player A and Player B have "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" in their hand and Player A controls "Doomcaliber Knight". Player A activates "Card Destruction". When both copies of "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" are discarded, their effects start a Chain. Player A is the turn player, so his "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" is Chain Link 1 and Player B's is Chain Link 2. "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained, and it will negate Player B's "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World".
Example 3: "See "Out of Date""
Example 4: If "Sangan" is Tributed to Tribute Summon "Raiza the Storm Monarch" while "Doomcaliber Knight" is face-up on the field, "Sangan's" effect is Chain Link 1 and "Raiza the Storm Monarch's" effect is Chain Link 2. "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained, negating "Raiza the Storm Monarch's" effect and destroying it.
Example 5: Player A's "Sasuke Samurai #4" attacks Player B's "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" while "Doomcaliber Knight" is face-up on the field. "Sasuke Samurai #4's" effect is Chain Link 1 and "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" is Chain Link 2. "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained, and it will negate and destroy "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole".

If an Effect Monster's effect that is not optional activates, even if it would not do anything when it resolves, it will still be negated by "Doomcaliber Knight".
Example: Player A's face-down "Magician of Faith" is attacked by Player B's "Doomcaliber Knight" while Player A has no Spell Cards in his Graveyard. "Magician of Faith's" Flip Effect activates and "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect activates in a Chain to it.

If your "Doomcaliber Knight" attacks an Effect Monster with a non-continuous effect and destroys it while you control "Dark Ruler Ha Des", when the Effect Monster's effect activates "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is still chained.

If "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect would destroy a monster on the field, "My Body as a Shield" can be chained.

Even if "Book of Moon", etc., is chained to "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect and flips the Effect Monster face-down, the Effect Monster's effect is still negated by "Doomcaliber Knight" and it is still destroyed.

If "Light and Darkness Dragon" and "Doomcaliber Knight" are face-up on the field when a Spell or Trap Card is activated, "Light and Darkness Dragon's" effect is chained to the Spell or Trap Card and "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained to "Light and Darkness Dragon".

If "Doomcaliber Knight" attacks an Attack Position "Reflect Bounder", when "Reflect Bounder's" effect activates "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained. "Doomcaliber Knight" negates "Reflect Bounder's" effect and destroys it. Damage Calculation is not conducted.

If "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle's" effect is activated when it is Special Summoned and "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is activated, "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate the effect of "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" that Special Summons "Crystal Beast" monsters and destroy it. The player controlling "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" can place it into their Spell and Trap Card Zone.

Out of Date

If "Kuriboh's" effect is activated to negate the Battle Damage from "Doomcaliber Knight", "Doomcaliber Knight" is Tributed to negate "Kuriboh's" effect. Damage has already been calculated, so if "Doomcaliber Knight" was attacking a monster with equal or lower ATK that monster will be destroyed, and Battle Damage will be inflicted as normal.The latest print of "Kuriboh" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that its effect is activated at damage calculation. As per the latest , damage has not been calculated at this time, making this ruling invalid.

When multiple Effect Monster effects activate simultaneously, "Doomcaliber Knight's" effect is chained after determining the order of the Effect Monster effects (see the Advanced Rulings FAQ "Simultaneous Effects") and will negate the Effect Monster's effect that was placed last on the Chain.
Example 3: Player A's "Giant Rat" is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard while she has "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" in her hand and "Doomcaliber Knight" is face-up on the field. Player A can activate "Giant Rat" and/or "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest's" effect. If she activates both effects, she chooses the order the effects are placed onto the Chain, and "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate the effect that is placed highest on the Chain. If "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" is Chain Link 1 and "Giant Rat" is Chain Link 2, "Doomcaliber Knight" will negate "Giant Rat".The latest errata of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" states that it cannot be activated during the Damage Step. This makes "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest" an invalid example for this ruling.