Divine Wrath


  Counter / Trap
When a monster effect is activated: Discard 1 card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy that monster. 
CARD ID: 49010598
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Divine Wrath

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN054 Rare0.09€0.21€0.25€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN054 Starfoil Rare0.29€0.29€0.49€
Dark Revelation Volume 3 DR3-EN110 Super Rare0.79€0.99€1.35€
Duel Terminal 4 DT04-EN050 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel Rare0.80€-,--€0.89€
Rise of Destiny RDS-EN050 Super Rare0.05€0.40€0.32€
Rise of Destiny RDS-EN050 Ultimate Rare2.49€5.44€4.39€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA15 Common0.02€0.33€0.27€
Starter Deck: Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's 5DS1-EN038 Common0.02€0.18€0.16€
Structure Deck: Spellcaster's Judgment SD6-EN035 Common0.05€0.13€0.14€

Card Trivia

 Cannon Soldier appears in this card's artwork.
This card could be considered a counterpart to Solemn Judgment, as this card covers the only action that Solemn Judgment cannot counter.
This card has an Xyz Monster counterpart: Evolzar Dolkka.
Xyz Wrath is the Continuous Trap Card version of this, except it is Xyz Monster-based.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mention in Other Rulings

Majestic Star Dragon: If you activate the effect of the monster that "Majestic Star Dragon" negated it will start a Chain. "Divine Wrath" can be used against this effect and will destroy "Majestic Star Dragon

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
"
Stardust Dragon: If "Divine Wrath" is chained to the "During either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated that would destroy a card(s) on the field: You can Tribute this card; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy it." effect of "Stardust Dragon" and negates it, then "Stardust Dragon" will not be able to activate its effect to Special Summon itself during the End Phase.: Divine Wrath vs. Stardust Dragon



OCG Rulings



Discarding 1 card is a cost to activate this card.: Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?

This card does not target.

This card cannot be chained to effects that activate in the Main Deck.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" during the Damage Step in Chain to an Effect Monster's effect. You can also activate these cards during Damage Calculation, for example, in Chain to the effect of "Honest".: Can "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" be activated during the Damage Step?

Versus Specific Cards

Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn: If the activation of "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn"s effect is negated by "Divine Wrath" etc, then "other "Blackwing" monsters cannot attack this turn" is not applied, and other monsters can attack.: When the activation of the effect of "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn" is negated, can other monsters declare attacks?

Dark Magician of Chaos: "Divine Wrath" cannot be used against "Dark Magician of Chaos" second and third effects.: Does the effect which removes from play "Dark Magician of Chaos" begin a chain (for "Divine Wrath")?

Ehren, Lightsworn Monk: If a Flip Effect activates after "Ehren, Lightsworn Monk" returns the Flip Effect monster to the Deck, then the Flip Effect is treated as activating on the field.: If "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" is active and "Ehren, Lightsworn Monk" attacks a Flip Effect monster, then is the Flip Effect negated?
Example: If a Flip Effect activates after "Ehren, Lightsworn Monk" returns the Flip Effect monster to the Deck, then "Divine Wrath" may be Chained to the Flip Effect. The Flip Effect will be negated, but the Flip Effect monster will not be destroyed and will remain in the Deck.

Elemental HERO Absolute Zero: When "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" is returned to the Extra Deck, its effect activates, and "Divine Wrath" can be chained. "Divine Wrath" will negate the effect and "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" will be destroyed and sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard.: When the effect of "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" activates in the Extra Deck, can "Divine Wrath" be activated?

Exodia the Forbidden One: When you add the fifth piece to your hand and declare that you win the Duel, you are using a victory condition. You are not activating a monster's effect, so "Divine Wrath" and "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" cannot be activated.: Can "Divine Wrath" (etc) be activated when "Exodia the Forbidden One" (etc) are in the hand?

Freed the Matchless General: The effect of "Freed the Matchless General" can only be activated when you draw during your Draw Phase. Suppose you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General". If you activate the effect of one copy, then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy in a new Chain after the first one resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct. Thus, if you activate the effect of one copy and its activation and effect are negated by "Divine Wrath", then you cannot activate the effect of the second copy after "Divine Wrath" resolves, since the activation timing is no longer correct.: If you control two copies of "Freed the Matchless General" and "Divine Wrath" negates the activation of the effect of one copy, then can the effect of the other "Freed the Matchless General" be activated?

Majestic Star Dragon: The effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" which negates the effects of an Effect Monster is an effect which activates and starts a Chain Link. "Divine Wrath" may be Chained to this effect to negate its activation and destroy "Majestic Star Dragon".: When the effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" which negates the effects of an Effect Monster activates, does it start a Chain Link?

Stardust Dragon: Counter Trap Cards are Spell Speed 3, so you cannot activate the Spell Speed 2 effect of "Stardust Dragon" in Chain to the effect of a Counter Trap Card like "Magic Jammer", "Seven Tools of the Bandit", or "Divine Wrath".: Can the effect of "Stardust Dragon" be activated in Chain to the activation of a Counter Trap Card?

Stardust Dragon: If "Stardust Dragon" or "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" do not negate the effect of a Spell/Trap/Effect monster, during the End Phase they cannot Special Summon themselves. For example, if "Divine Wrath" negates the effect of "Stardust Dragon" or "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode", then you cannot activate the effect during the End Phase.: When "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" does not negate the activation of the effect of a card, can it Special Summon itself during the End Phase?

Sun Dragon Inti: If "Sun Dragon Inti" is destroyed and afterwards returned to your Extra Deck, then during the next Standby Phase "Divine Wrath" may be activated to negate the activation of the effect which Special Summons "Moon Dragon Quilla". The activation of the effect will be negated, but the "Sun Dragon Inti" in the Extra Deck will not be destroyed.: Can "Divine Wrath" be activated if "Sun Dragon Inti" is in the Extra Deck?

Sword Master: If a Warrior-Type monster attacks, performs damage calculation, does not destroy the other monster, and afterwards the other monster is destroyed by a card effect, then the effect of "Sword Master" which Special Summons it can still be activated.: Can "Sword Master" be Special Summoned if the attacked monster is destroyed by an effect after damage calculation?
Example: If your Warrior-Type monster attacks an opponent's "Marshmallon", and "Divine Wrath" negates the activation of the damage-inflicting effect of "Marshmallon" and destroys "Marshmallon", then you can still Special Summon "Sword Master".

The Fabled Unicore: For the effect of "The Fabled Unicore", if both players have the same number of cards when the effect of a Spell Card, a Trap Card, or an Effect Monster Card is resolving, then that activated effect is negated. Suppose you control "The Fabled Unicore":: The effect of "The Fabled Unicore" can negate an opponent's card if the hand sizes are the same at what time?
If you have five cards in your hand and the opponent has six cards in his hand, and afterwards the opponent activates "Divine Wrath" or the effect of "Honest", then when resolving the effect of "Divine Wrath" or "Honest" both players have five cards in their hands, so the effect of "The Fabled Unicore" is applied and the effect of "Divine Wrath" or "Honest" is negated.

Mentions in Other Rulings

During the Damage Step, in general, you cannot activate Spell/Trap Cards other than Counter Trap Cards and ATK/DEF-increasing/decreasing effects. Thus, you cannot activate "Book of Moon" nor "Raigeki Break", but you can activate the Counter Trap "Divine Wrath

Previously Official Rulings


If you activate "
Divine Wrath" during the Damage Step to destroy the attacking monster or the monster being attacked, the monster is destroyed. No replay occurs because a replay can only happen during the Battle Step. If damage calculation has not been performed yet, it is not performed.: Individual Card Rulings

You can activate "Divine Wrath" against "Sasuke Samurai" or "Mystic Swordsman LV2" when they attack a face-down Defense Position monster.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" to negate either effect of "Don Zaloog" and to negate the effect of "Airknight Parshath" that allows its controller to draw a card.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" to negate an effect that activates in the Graveyard, such as "Witch of the Black Forest", "Mystic Tomato", "Despair from the Dark", "Night Assailant", "Electric Snake", and "Sangan".

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when the opponent discards "Kuriboh" from his / her hand to negate the effect of "Kuriboh" and when a "Night Assailant" is discarded to negate the effect of returning a Flip Effect monster to the owner’s hand.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Exiled Force", "Black Dragon's Chick", or "Paladin of White Dragon" is Tributed for its own effect.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Dark Necrofear" activates its effect in the Graveyard during the End Phase, and since a monster in the Graveyard cannot be destroyed, "Dark Necrofear" is not destroyed by a card effect, so its effect does not activate again.

You can chain "Divine Wrath" to the effect of "King Dragun" that Special summons a Dragon-Type monster.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when the opponent uses "Relinquished"’s effect to equip itself with a monster, or when "Relinquished"’s effect inflicts damage.The latest print of "Relinquished" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its effect to inflict damage is a Continuous Effect and not a Trigger Effect.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when a Spirit monster is returned to the owner’s hand by its own effect, and the Spirit monster will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when the effect of "Helpoemer" activates in the Graveyard, and the effect of "Helpoemer" will not activate again.The latest print of "Helpoemer" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that its effect only requires it to be in the Graveyard due to being destroyed by battle, so its effect can be activated again even if its effect is negated by "Divine Wrath".

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Vampire Lord" or "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" activate their effects in the Graveyard, and their effects are negated and they are not Special Summoned; but because they cannot be "destroyed" while in the Graveyard, they are not destroyed by a card effect so their effect will not activate again.

You can chain "Divine Wrath" to the activation of "Peten the Dark Clown", and the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" will not resolve (however, the "Peten the Dark Clown" that was removed from play remains out of play).

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when the effect of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" activates that allows it to attack a second time.

You cannot chain "Divine Wrath" to Continuous Effects such as: "Perfect Machine King", "Raging Flame Sprite" (either effect)The latest print of "Raging Flame Sprite" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows that its second effect is a Trigger Effect and not a Continuous Effect., "Jinzo", "Fire Princess", "Mad Sword Beast", "Hayabusa Knight", "Cat’s Ear Tribe", "Amazoness Swords Woman", "Harpie Lady 3"Fusilier Dragon the Dual-Mode Beast", "The Fiend Megacyber", "Blade Knight" (either effect), "Patrician of Darkness", or monsters like "Element Saurus" that gain ATK continuously.

You cannot activate "Divine Wrath" when "Giant Orc", "Goblin Attack Force", or "Spear Dragon" changes to Defense Position because these are considered Continuous Effects.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Lava Golem" does damage to your Life Points, but you cannot activate it when "Lava Golem" is Special Summoned.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when any Union Monster activates its effect to equip itself to another monster, because that is an Ignition Effect. However, you cannot activate "Divine Wrath" when a Union Monster Special Summons itself back as a monster, because that is an effect of an Equip Spell Card.

You can activate "Divine Wrath" when a "LV" monster is sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon the next level version (an Ignition Effect)Some "LV" monsters have Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes it clear that the effect to Special Summon the next "LV" monster is Trigger Effect., and "Divine Wrath" will negate that effect, even though it cannot destroy the "LV" monster because it is already in the Graveyard.

After you negate the effect of "Sinister Serpent" with "Divine Wrath", your opponent can activate the effect of "Sinister Serpent" again to return it to his hand, even during the same Standby Phase.The latest print of "Sinister Serpent" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that its effect can only be used once per turn, so even if its effect is negated it cannot be activated again during that same turn. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Sinister Serpent".

Mentions in Other Rulings

Ancient Gear Beast / Ancient Gear Golem: The effect of “Ancient Gear Beast”/“Ancient Gear Golem” that prevents your opponent from activating Spell or Trap Cards is a Continuous Effect. It cannot be chained to. “Divine Wrath” cannot be activated against it.

Criosphinx: The effect of "Criosphinx" is a Trigger Effect, and can be chained to. You can activate "Divine Wrath" against it. If a monster is returned to the hand in the middle of a chain, the effect of "Criosphinx" activates as a new chain after the previous chain has finished resolving.

D.D. Survivor: You can activate "Divine Wrath" against the effect of "D.D. Survivor" when it activates during the End Phase. In this case, "D.D. Survivor" is not actually Special Summoned. "D.D. Survivor" remains removed from play (its effect doesn't activate again).

Dark World: If these cards are discarded by your opponent’s card effect, both parts of their effects resolve in a single chain link. If “Divine Wrath” is chained to these effects, it will negate both parts.

Destiny HERO - Captain Tenacious: "Divine Wrath" can be chained to "Destiny Hero - Captain Tenacious's" effect when it activates during your Standby Phase.

Destiny HERO - Diamond Dude: "Divine Wrath" can be chained to "Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude's" Ignition Effect when it is activated. You cannot chain "Divine Wrath" to the activation of the Normal Spell Card's effect during the next Main Phase (because "Destiny Hero - Diamond Dude's" effect is not activating at that time.)

Firebird: You can chain to the activation of "Firebird"s effect, including with "Divine Wrath".

Gearfried the Swordmaster: The effect of "Gearfried the Swordmaster" is a Trigger Effect that can be chained to, starting a new chain after the current chain resolves. You can chain "Divine Wrath" to the activation of this effect.

Gladiator Beast: “Divine Wrath” can be chained to the effect that returns the “Gladiator Beast” to the Deck. The effect will be negated, but the “Gladiator Beast” monster will not be destroyed because it is in the Deck.

Gyroid: The effect of "Gyroid" is a Continuous Effect that cannot be chained to (including "Divine Wrath").

King Dragun: "Divine Wrath" is NOT a card that targets, so "Divine Wrath" may be used against Dragon-Type monsters while "King Dragun" or "Lord of D." is on the field.

King Dragun: You can chain "Divine Wrath" to the effect of "King Dragun" that Special Summons a Dragon-Type monster.

Maji-Gire Panda: You can chain to the activation of "Maji-Gire Panda"s effect, including with "Divine Wrath".

Mid Shield Gardna: The first effect of "Mid Shield Gardna" is an Ignition Effect. The second is a Trigger Effect. You can chain to these effects. You can activate "Divine Wrath" against these effects.

Millennium Scorpion: The effect of "Millennium Scorpion" is a Trigger Effect. Each time it destroys a monster on your opponent's side of the field and sends it to the Graveyard as a result of battle, it activates. This effect can be chained to. You can activate "Divine Wrath" against it.

Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys: You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is Special Summoned by its own effect. Because this effect activates in the Graveyard, and is being negated while "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is in the Graveyard, "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is never Special Summoned (so the card is never moved from the Graveyard) and is never destroyed. Because it is not destroyed, its effect to Special Summon itself does not activate again.

Super-Electromagnetic Voltech Dragon: You can activate "Divine Wrath" when this card is Tribute Summoned if a "Batteryman" monster was Tributed.

Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union: When “Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union” is Fusion Summoned by “Vehicroid Connection Zone” and afterwards the “Super Vehicroid - Stealth Union” activates its effect to equip with a monster, “Divine Wrath” can be chained to negate{{SpanSuper Vehicroid - Stealth Union” will not be destroyed.

Zoma the Spirit: "Divine Wrath" cannot be chained to "Skull Zoma's" effect because it is a Trap Card in the Graveyard.

Out of Date

Uria, Lord of Searing Flames: When a player Special Summons "Uria, Lord of Searing Flames" and activates its effect to destroy a Set Spell or Trap Card, no Spell or Trap Card can be chained, including"Divine Wrath".Due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority, Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window as this ruling implies.