De-Fusion


  Quick-Play / Spell
Target 1 Fusion Monster on the field; return that target to the Extra Deck, then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your GY, you can Special Summon all of them. 
CARD ID: 95286165
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: De-Fusion

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN029 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duel Terminal 4 DT04-EN094 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel -,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Zane Truesdale DP04-EN017 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-097 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-E097 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-EN097 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN063 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection Kaiba Mega Pack LCKC-EN044 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Speed Duel: Battle City Box SBCB-EN012 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Structure Deck: Yugi Muto SDMY-EN032 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENB31 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card's effect is similar to that of De-Synchro, except with Fusion Monsters. Unlike De-Fusion, however, that card is not a Quick-Play Spell Card.
This card also has an Xyz Monster counterpart: Xyz Encore. However, it can only be used on the opponent's monsters.
In Yu-Gi-Oh! and Yu-Gi-Oh! GX, when the Point-to-Point Transfer effect of The Winged Dragon of Ra is used and the controller is fused with Ra, this card splits the two back up by giving the ATK of Ra to the controller (regardless of where the points came from) and leaving Ra with 0 ATK.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

G.B. Hunter: While “G.B. Hunter” is in play, you cannot activate effects that would return monsters to the Extra Deck, such as “De-Fusion,” “De-Synchro,” or “Compulsory Evacuation Device” targeting a Fusion or Synchro Monster.


OCG Rulings



This card targets 1 face-up Fusion Monster in your Monster Zone or your opponent's Monster Zone.: De-Fusion

This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step. The resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" and "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." are not considered to happen at the same time.

The resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" is always applied, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." is optional.

The resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied unless all the Fusion Materials that were used for the Fusion Summon are in the Graveyard of the player who activated "De-Fusion".

If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting a Fusion Monster that was Special Summoned from the Graveyard by a card effect like "Monster Reborn", then the Fusion Monster is returned to the Extra Deck, but the Fusion Materials cannot be Special Summoned from your Graveyard.: Can you Special Summon the Fusion Materials if "De-Fusion" is activated on a Fusion Monster Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn"?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Masked HERO Koga:" "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Masked HERO Koga". "Masked HERO Koga" is returned to the Extra Deck, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied. (The monster targeted by "Mask Change" is not treated as a Fusion Material.): Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Masked HERO Koga"?

"The Eye of Timaeus:" An "Amulet Dragon" Fusion Summoned by the effect of "The Eye of Timaeus" is Fusion Summoned using only "Dark Magician" as a Fusion Material instead of the Fusion Materials required for a regular Fusion Summon ("Dark Magician" + 1 Dragon-Type monster). "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Amulet Dragon", but in that case, only the resolution of "return that target to the Extra Deck" is applied. (The resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.): If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting an "Amulet Dragon" that was Fusion Summoned by the effect of "The Eye of Timaeus", what happens?

"Elemental HERO Prisma:" Suppose the name of "Elemental HERO Prisma" is changed to "Elemental HERO Neos" by its effect, and then it and a WATER monster are used as Fusion Materials to Fusion Summon "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero". Afterwards, if "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" is targeted by "De-Fusion", then you can Special Summon that "Elemental HERO Prisma" which was used as a Fusion Material, even though the name of "Elemental HERO Prisma" returned to its original name when it was sent to the Graveyard.: If you activate "De-Fusion" on a Fusion Monster which used as a Material an "Elemental HERO Prisma" whose name changed, then what happens?

"Beast-Eyes Pendulum Dragon:" If "Beast-Eyes Pendulum Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, then it is not treated as being Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon. Therefore, when the effect of "De-Fusion" is applied, "Beast-Eyes Pendulum Dragon" is returned to the Extra Deck, but since the Tributed monsters are not treated as Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon, they cannot be Special Summoned.: After "Beast-Eyes Pendulum Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, if "De-Fusion" is activated, what happens?

"Invoked Elysium:" Suppose "Invoked Elysium" was Fusion Summoned using "Invoked Magellanica" and a "Invoked Caliga" that was Special Summoned by the effect of "Instant Fusion". If you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting "Invoked Elysium", "Invoked Elysium" is returned to the Extra Deck. In that case, even if the "Invoked Magellanica" and "Invoked Caliga" that were used as Fusion Materials are in your Graveyard, since "Invoked Caliga" is no longer treated as a monster that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, the Fusion Materials of "Invoked Elysium" (1 "Eidolon Beast" monster + 1 monster that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck) are not considered to be in your Graveyard. Therefore, the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Invoked Elysium", what happens?

"Proto-Cyber Dragon:" After "Proto-Cyber Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard as a Fusion Material, its name is no longer treated as "Cyber Dragon". Therefore, even if you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting a "Cyber Twin Dragon" or "Cyber End Dragon" that used "Proto-Cyber Dragon" as Fusion Material, "Proto-Cyber Dragon" cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard. Also, even if you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting a "Cyber Twin Dragon" or "Cyber End Dragon" that used a "Phantom of Chaos" or "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" treated as "Cyber Dragon" as Fusion Material, "Phantom of Chaos" or "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard.: Can a "Proto-Cyber Dragon" in the Graveyard be Special Summoned by the effect of "De-Fusion"?

"Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio:" "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio". In that case, "Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio" is returned to the Extra Deck, but since "Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio" is not a monster that was Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon, the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Ritual Beast Ulti-Apelio"?

"Chimeratech Overdragon:" If you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting a "Chimeratech Overdragon" that was Fusion Summoned using 6 Fusion Materials, "Chimeratech Overdragon" is returned to the Extra Deck, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied. (Even if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, if "Chimeratech Overdragon" was Fusion Summoned using 6 or more Fusion Materials, you do not have enough free Monster Zones, and the resolution of "Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.): If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Chimeratech Overdragon", what happens?

"Blue-Eyes Twin Burst Dragon:" If "Blue-Eyes Twin Burst Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, then it is not treated as being Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon. Therefore, when the effect of "De-Fusion" is applied, "Blue-Eyes Twin Burst Dragon" is returned to the Extra Deck, but since the monsters sent to the Graveyard are not treated as Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon, they cannot be Special Summoned.: After "Blue-Eyes Twin Burst Dragon" is Special Summoned using its own procedure, if "De-Fusion" is activated, what happens?

"Frightfur Tiger:" If the "When this card is Fusion Summoned: You can target cards on the field, up to the number of Fusion Materials used for its Fusion Summon; destroy them." effect is activated and "De-Fusion" is chained, when the effect of "Frightfur Tiger" resolves, the targeted cards are destroyed as usual.: When resolving the effect of "Frightfur Tiger", if "Frightfur Tiger" is no longer on the field, what happens?

"The Fang of Critias:" "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting a "Doom Virus Dragon", "Mirror Force Dragon", or "Tyrant Burst Dragon" that was Special Summoned by the effect of "The Fang of Critias". In that case, the targeted monster is returned to the Extra Deck, but since a monster Special Summoned by the effect of "The Fang of Critias" is not a monster that was Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon, the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting a "Doom Virus Dragon", "Mirror Force Dragon", or "Tyrant Burst Dragon" that was Special Summoned by the effect of "The Fang of Critias"?

"Starving Venom Fusion Dragon:" Suppose "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" was Fusion Summoned using "Predaplant Drosophyllum Hydra" and "Predaplant Chlamydosundew" as Fusion Materials. If you activate "De-Fusion" by targeting "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon", "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" is returned to the Extra Deck. In that case, even if the "Predaplant Drosophyllum Hydra" and "Predaplant Chlamydosundew" that were used as Fusion Materials are in your Graveyard, since the monsters in the Graveyard are not treated as monsters on the field, the Fusion Materials of "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" (2 DARK monsters on the field, except Tokens) are not considered to be in your Graveyard. Therefore, the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.: If "De-Fusion" is activated by targeting "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon", what happens?

"Fullmetalfoes Alkahest:" When the monster effect "equip that target to this card" of "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" resolves, if the "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" itself that activated the effect has been returned to the Extra Deck and is no longer on the field (such as due to "De-Fusion"), the targeted monster cannot be equipped, so the targeted monster is sent to the Graveyard and the effect ends.: When resolving the monster effect of "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" that equips a targeted monster, if "Fullmetalfoes Alkahest" itself is no longer on the field when it resolves, how does it resolve?

"Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer:" "De-Fusion" can be activated by targeting "Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer". "Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer" is a Fusion Monster that does not use "Polymerization", and is not Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon. Therefore, "Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer" is returned to the Extra Deck, but the resolution of "then, if all the Fusion Materials that were used for its Fusion Summon are in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon all of them." cannot be applied.: Can "De-Fusion" be activated by targeting "Dinoster Power, the Mighty Dracoslayer"?

"Starving Venom Fusion Dragon:" If "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" gains the effect "This card is treated as a Normal Monster while face-up on the field or in the Graveyard." of a Gemini monster, it is treated as a Normal Monster, but it is also stil treated as a Fusion Monster. Therefore, it can be targeted by "De-Fusion".: After "Starving Venom Fusion Dragon" targeted a Gemini monster with the effect "until the end of this turn, this card's name becomes that monster's original name, and replace this effect with that monster's original effects.", can it be targeted by "De-Fusion"?

"Red Gardna:" When the opponent activates a Spell/Trap or monster effect, even if the effect will not be applied to a "Red Dragon Archfiend" monster in your Monster Zone (such as "De-Fusion" or "Drop Off"), the effect of "Red Gardna: When the opponent activates a Spell/Trap or monster effect, even if the effect will not be applied to a "Red Dragon Archfiend" monster in your Monster Zone, can the monster effect of "Red Gardna" be activated?


Previously Official Rulings


Special Summoning the
Fusion Material Monsters is an option. So you may use "De-Fusion" to return a Fusion Monster to its owner's Extra Deck even if you have only 1 or none of the appropriate Fusion Material Monsters in your Graveyard.

If you have only 1 of the Fusion Material Monsters in your Graveyard you cannot Special Summon it.

You may use "De-Fusion" to Special Summon "Goddess with the Third Eye" or "King of the Swamp" if it was used as a Fusion Material Monster for the Fusion Monster selected with "De-Fusion".

After you attack with a Fusion Monster, you may activate "De-Fusion" in the End Step of the Battle Phase to Special Summon the appropriate Fusion Material Monsters and attack with them in the same Battle Phase.

If you activate "De-Fusion" and select a Fusion Monster that was Special Summoned by "Magical Scientist" or "Metamorphosis" you can return the Fusion Monster to the owner's Extra Deck, but cannot Special Summon any Fusion Material Monsters since none were used.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Centrifugal Field: Unlike "De-Fusion", the Fusion Material Monsters Special Summoned with "Centrifugal Field" do not have to have been used to Fusion Summon the Fusion Monster. In fact, that Fusion Monster does not have to have been properly Fusion Summoned at all (it could have been Special Summoned with "Magical Scientist" or "Summoner of Illusions" instead).

Chimeratech Overdragon:" You can activate "De-Fusion" and target "Chimeratech Overdragon", but you can only Special Summon the Fusion Material Monsters if you have enough vacant Monster Card Zones for ALL of the Fusion Material Monsters you used.

Diffusion Wave-Motion:" If you Special Summon a monster during the Battle Phase after having activated "Diffusion Wave-Motion" (such as with "De-Fusion"), that monster cannot attack because "Diffusion Wave-Motion"s effect prevents all monsters other than the selected Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster from attacking.

King Dragun:" Your opponent cannot target a Dragon-Type Fusion Monster with "De-Fusion" while "King Dragun" or "Lord of D." is on the field because "De-Fusion" targets.

Proto-Cyber Dragon:" If "Proto-Cyber Dragon" is used in the Fusion Summon of "Cyber Twin Dragon", and "De-Fusion" is used on that "Cyber Twin Dragon", you cannot Special Summon the "Proto-Cyber Dragon" from the Graveyard because its name is not 1 of the listed Fusion-Material Monsters. (It's no longer treated as "Cyber Dragon" while in the Graveyard.)

Judge List Rulings

Using the second effect of "The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion" is NOT a Fusion Summon. So, if you return a Fusion Monster Special Summoned by "The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion's" effect to the Extra Deck with "De-Fusion", no monsters will be Special Summoned by "De-Fusion".: The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion vs De-Fusion