Dark Necrofear


Fiend / Effect  DARK / 8
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 3 Fiend-Type monsters from your Graveyard. During the End Phase, if this card is in the Graveyard because it was destroyed by an opponent's card this turn (by battle or card effect) and sent to your Graveyard while it was a Monster Card under your control: Target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls; equip this card to that target. While this card is equipped to a monster by this effect, take control of that monster.
2200/2800 
CARD ID: 31829185
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Dark Necrofear

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Champion Pack: Game Five CP05-EN006 Rare0.15€0.45€0.35€
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN004 Ultra Rare0.79€2.70€1.35€
Duel Terminal 2 DT02-EN056 Duel Terminal Rare Parallel Ra8.00€-,--€1.14€
Duelist League Series 2 participation cards DL2-002 Super Rare---
Duelist League Series 2 participation cards DL2-EN002 Super Rare---
Duelist Pack: Battle City DPBC-EN033 Rare0.02€0.19€0.17€
Duelist Pack: Rivals of the Pharaoh DPRP-EN040 Common0.02€0.07€0.06€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-065 Ultra Rare2.00€9.49€13.74€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-E065 Ultra Rare2.00€9.49€13.74€
Labyrinth of Nightmare LON-EN065 Ultra Rare2.00€9.49€13.74€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World LC03-EN002 Ultra Rare0.04€0.35€0.26€
Legendary Duelists: Immortal Destiny LED5-EN006 Common0.02€0.05€0.06€
Master Collection Volume 1 MC1-EN005 Secret Rare1.74€3.12€3.29€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN042 Super Rare0.29€0.73€1.04€
Speed Duel Starter Decks: Twisted Nightmares SS05-ENA01 Common0.02€0.18€0.17€

Card Trivia

text/x-wiki

Card Trivia

wikitext

Card Trivia

 This card appears in the artwork of “Sentence of Doom” while its hand appears in the OCG artwork of the “Spirit Message” cards.
In the original Weekly Shonen Jump appearance, this card was called Dark Necrophilia (「ダーク・ネクロフィリア」) instead. The name was changed during its next week's appearance onwards, due to obvious reasons.
In the Yu-Gi-Oh! GX Tag Force series, this monster spells out the message of Destiny Board after a player places Spirit Message L and is about to win.
According to the
Yu-Gi-Oh! Master Guide, this card is the Queen of all Fiend-Type monsters.
In the manga and original Japanese anime, when Bakura was about to summon
Dark Necrofear, he states that she is the Queen of the World of the Dead.
This card's
OCG/TCG artwork is taken from Yu-Gi-Oh! Duelist - Duel 145, specifically from the panel where it is shown being Summoned.
This card has a retrained version
Curse Necrofear"

Rulings

text/x-wiki

wikitext

Other=Dungeon Dice Monsters

Previously Official Rulings


You only remove the 3
Fiend-Type monsters in your Graveyard from play when you Special Summon "Dark Necrofear" from your hand. If you successfully Special Summon it using this method, and then wish to use "Monster Reborn" to Special Summon it from the Graveyard, you do not have to remove 3 more Fiend-Type monsters from the Graveyard.

If "Banisher of the Light" is on the field when "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed, the "Dark Necrofear" is removed from play and does not return as an Equip Spell Card.

If "Imperial Order" is active when "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed while a Monster Card, it must still be equipped to your opponent's monster, but you will not gain control of it because its effect is negated by "Imperial Order".

If all 5 of your Spell / Trap Card Zones are full during your End Phase of the turn "Dark Necrofear" was destroyed while a Monster Card, you cannot activate its effect, and the effect disappears.

If "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed, you can Special Summon it from your Graveyard with "Monster Reborn", "Premature Burial", etc. before your End Phase, and its effect will be reset.

If this card was discarded from your hand by an opponent's card effect, such as "Confiscation" it does not become an Equip Spell Card during the End Phase, since it was not destroyed.

If it is destroyed by your opponent's "Harpie's Feather Duster", "Dust Tornado", etc. while it is an Equip Spell Card, "Dark Necrofear" will NOT return during the End Phase since it was NOT destroyed while a Monster Card.

If your "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed on your opponent's side of the field, by either player's card effect, it will not activate during the End Phase. It must be on your side of the field and sent to your Graveyard when it is destroyed for its effect to activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

A Hero Emerges: You can Special Summon a high-level monster, like "Dark Magician", with "A Hero Emerges". But if your opponent selects a Special Summon-only monster like "Dark Necrofear", it is sent to the Graveyard.

Black Horn of Heaven: It can be used against inherent Special Summon effects like "Dark Necrofear".

Chaos Command Magician: If "Chaos Command Magician" is targeted by "Dark Necrofear", that effect selects 1 target so the effect of "Dark Necrofear" is negated and it is not equipped to "Chaos Command Magician".

Diffusion Wave-Motion: A Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster selected with "Diffusion Wave-Motion" will negatethe effects of"Dark Necrofear"

Divine Wrath: You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Dark Necrofear" activates its effect in the Graveyard during the End Phase, and since a monster in the Graveyard cannot be destroyed, "Dark Necrofear" is not destroyed by a card effect, so its effect does not activate again.

Fire Princess: If you have "Soul Absorption" and "Fire Princess" face-up on the field when your opponent removes 3 monsters from their Graveyard to Summon "Dark Necrofear" you will gain 1500 Life Points and "Fire Princess's" effect will deal 500 damage to your opponent.

Horn of Heaven: "Horn of Heaven" can be used to negate the Special Summon of a monster with an inherent Special Summon effect that does not start a Chain, like "Dark Necrofear", .

Last Turn: You cannot Special Summon a monster for "Last Turn" that is a "Special Summon-only" monster like "Dark Necrofear"

Last Turn: If you activate "Last Turn" and select your "Dark Necrofear", and it's destroyed during the special Battle Phase, you can select which effect resolves first during the End Phase: "Dark Necrofear" or "Last Turn". So you can choose to resolve "Dark Necrofear" first, equip it to your opponent's monster and take control of it, then resolve "Last Turn" and win because only you control a monster.

Lone Wolf: "Dark Necrofear" in the Graveyard can activate their effects and target "Monk Fighter" targeted by "Lone Wolf". This is because they activate as Monster Cards, equip to the target monster, become treated as Equip Spell Cards, and then apply their effects (by which point they are now treated as Equip Spell Cards).

Necrovalley: "Necrovalley" will prevent a player from removing cards in the Graveyard from play to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear"

Royal Oppression: There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster. The first way is with a Spell Card like "Monster Reborn", a Trap Card like "Call of the Haunted", or an Effect Monster like "Magical Scientist". The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as "Dark Necrofear". "Royal Oppression" can negate both of these types of Special Summon In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment").

Solemn Judgment: "Solemn Judgment" can negate the Special Summon of a monster that is Special Summoned through its own inherent Special Summon effect that does not start a Chain, like "Dark Necrofear" .

Soul Absorption: "Soul Absorption's" effect is based on the number of cards, not on each "lump sum" of cards. So if 3 Fiend-Type monsters are removed from the Graveyard to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear", the controller of "Soul Absorption" gains 1500 Life Points.

Soul Absorption: However, you receive the Life Points from "Soul Absorption" as a "lump sum", so in the case of "Dark Necrofear" you gain 1500 Life Points but your "Fire Princess" would only do 500 points of damage.

Soul Absorption: If "Soul Absorption's" effect activates in response to the Special Summon of a monster like "Dark Necrofear" "Soul Absorption's" effect activates after the monster is Special Summoned.

Spell Canceller: When "Spell Canceller" is face-up on the field, you can activate the Graveyard effect of "Dark Necrofear" (because it is a monster effect) and equip it to a monster, but the effect of "Dark Necrofear" after it is equipped will be negated because it is then an Equip Spell Card.

Spirit Elimination: Any conditions set on the Monster Cards that would be removed from the Graveyard must still be fulfilled on the Monsters removed from your side of the field. For example, to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear" you must remove 3 Fiend-Type Monsters from your side of the field.

The End of Anubis: "The End of Anubis" will negate "Dark Necrofear's" ability to return from the Graveyard

The End of Anubis: "The End of Anubis" will not negate the Special Summon of "Dark Necrofear" (because these involve costs, not effects, and "The End of Anubis" cannot negate paying costs)

Tribute Doll: You cannot use "Tribute Doll" to Special Summon a "Special Summon-only" monster like "Dark Necrofear".

Out of Date

If the Special Summoning of "Dark Necrofear" is negated and "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed by the effect of "Solemn Judgment" or "Horn of Heaven", it will become an Equip Spell Card during the End Phase.The latest print of "Dark Necrofear" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that it can only activate its effect if it is destroyed as a Monster Card under its owner's control. Monsters about to be Summoned are not considered to be on the field, so the effect of "Dark Necrofear" will not activate if its Summon is negated.

"Tailor of the Fickle" or "Collected Power" can be used to move "Dark Necrofear" from one monster to another after it is an Equip Spell Card. "Fairy's Hand Mirror" or "Shift" cannot be used when "Dark Necrofear" first becomes an Equip Spell Card and is equipped to your opponent's monster. states that monsters treated as Equip Cards (except Union monsters equipped by their own effects) cannot have their equip target changed.

Mentions in Other Rulings

A Deal with Dark Ruler: You can activate "A Deal with Dark Ruler" if your Level 8 or higher monster that is an Equip Spell Card is sent from your side of the field to the Graveyard (such as "Dark Necrofear" destroyed by "Heavy Storm").The latest print of "A Deal with Dark Ruler" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which indicates that the card must be a Level 8 monster both on the field and in the Graveyard in order to activate "A Deal with Dark Ruler".

Necrovalley: "Necrovalley" will not negate effects that do not target a card or cards in the Graveyard. So "Necrovalley" will not negate the effects of "Dark Necrofear" (when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard)The latest print of "Necrovalley" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that it negates the effects of cards that move cards in the Graveyard to other locations, regardless of whether or not they target.

Royal Oppression: If you have "Royal Oppression" face-up on your side of the field, and your opponent attempts to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear", and you activate the effect of your "Royal Oppression", then "Dark Necrofear" will activate its effect in the Graveyard and return to the field as an Equip Spell Card. But if your opponent had "Royal Oppression" face-up on their side of the field, and you activate the effect of your opponent's "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon of your opponent's "Dark Necrofear", then "Dark Necrofear" does not activate its effect in the Graveyard, because it was destroyed by an effect controlled by its owner, not by its owner's opponent (even though the owner did not activate the effect, they still control the "Royal Oppression" card).