Dark Hole

  Normal / Spell
Destroy all monsters on the field. 
CARD ID: 53129443
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Dark Hole


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
2-Player Starter Deck: Yuya & Declan YS15-ENY12 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN113 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Legion Starter Deck YS15-ENL14 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Demo Deck 2016 DEM3-EN012 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Destiny Soldiers DESO-EN042 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Gold Series: Haunted Mine GLD5-EN037 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-052 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-E041 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legend of Blue Eyes White Dragon LOB-EN052 Super Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN053 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN283 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Hero Decks LEHD-ENB21 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Hero Decks LEHD-ENC15 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Noble Knights of the Round Table Box Set NKRT-EN024 Platinum Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
OTS Tournament Pack 12 OP12-EN022 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
OTS Tournament Pack 12 (POR) OP12-PT022 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold: Return of the Bling PGL2-EN089 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Realm of the Sea Emperor Structure Deck SDRE-EN031 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Saber Force Starter Deck YS15-ENF13 Shatterfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Samurai Warlords Structure Deck SDWA-EN023 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Space-Time Showdown Power-Up Pack YS14-ENA10 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Codebreaker YS18-EN025 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Joey SDJ-026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Kaiba SDK-022 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Kaiba SDK-E021 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Kaiba Reloaded YSKR-EN028 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Link Strike YS17-EN023 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Pegasus SDP-026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi SDY-022 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi SDY-E020 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Evolution SYE-026 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Starter Deck: Yugi Reloaded YSYR-EN025 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Turbo Pack: Booster Five TU05-EN001 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Turbo Pack: Booster Four TU04-EN017 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 The black hole of this card's artwork also appears in the artwork of Non-Spellcasting Area.
In all languages apart from English and Spanish, this card's names translate to Black Hole and reference an invisible mass in astronomy that swallows anything that comes too close, both in its translated name, its artwork and its effect.
White Hole was specifically designed to counter this card.
This card has two counterparts, a one sided removal known as “Raigeki” and a Spell/Trap removal known as “Heavy Storm”.
Chaos End and Special Hurricane have a more restricted version of this card's effect.
It is also similar to the Magic: The Gathering card Wrath of God, which destroys all personality (Monsters, Creatures, etc) cards in play.
This card was Forbidden for nine formats before becoming Limited once more, which was the most of any card before Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning, Tsukuyomi, Magician of Faith (in the TCG) and Cyber-Stein (in the OCG) surpassed it with twelve, thirteen, and sixteen, respectively.


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Morphtronic Forcefield: You can chain “Morphtronic Forcefield” to effects that do not target, like “Dark Hole”.

Trap Monster: While active, a Trap Monster can be destroyed by effects that affect Monsters and/or Spells/Traps. (You can use either "Dark Hole" or "Heavy Storm

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
Grandmaster of the Six Samurai: If "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" is destroyed simultaneously with other "Six Samurai" monsters by an effect like "Dark Hole", the effect of "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" activates and adds 1 "Six Samurai" monster that is currently in the Graveyard to the hand. This does include the "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" and the other "Six Samurai" monsters that were destroyed by "Dark Hole".: DARK HOLE vs. GRANDMASTER - KIZAN -YAICHI!!!!

Scrap Dragon: In order for the 2nd effect of "Scrap Dragon" to activate, you must be both the owner and controller of the card when it is sent to the Graveyard.
Example: If Player A has a "Scrap Dragon" in their Graveyard and Player B Special Summons it to their side of the field with an effect like "Monster Reborn". If "Scrap Dragon" is destroyed by a Player B's effect (like "Dark Hole", "Torrential Tribute", etc), then since Player B is not the owner of "Scrap Dragon", neither player will be able to activate the effect of "Scrap Dragon" when it is sent to the Graveyard.: Scrap Dragon taken by oponnent and destroyed by his card

Starlight Road: You can only activate "Starlight Road" if the effect that is activated will destroy 2 or more cards you control (per the card text). Even though "Dark Hole" has the potential to destroy up to 5 cards you control, if it is only destroying 1, you cannot activate "Starlight Road".: starlight road v heavy/torrential/dark hole+

OCG Rulings

You cannot activate a card if it would do nothing. For example, you cannot activate "Dark Hole" if there are no monsters on the field.: Can you activate a Spell/Trap Card if you cannot apply its effect?: When there is no valid target, is it possible to activate "Hammer Shot"?

If multiple cards are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, then the player can choose the order in which those cards are placed in the Graveyard. If "Dark Hole"/"Painful Choice"/etc send multiple cards to the Graveyard, then after you sent the cards to the Graveyard, "Dark Hole" is sent to the Graveyard last.: When multiple cards are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously, can you choose the order in which they are placed in the Graveyard?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Acid Trap Hole: A Flip Effect Monster flipped by "Acid Trap Hole" has its Flip Effect activate after the current Chain resolves. If "Acid Trap Hole" is Chained to "Dark Hole" and flips "Cyber Jar", then the effect of "Cyber Jar" activates after "Dark Hole" resolves.: If "Acid Trap Hole" is Chained to "Dark Hole" and targets and flips "Cyber Jar", how does it resolve?

Banisher of the Light: If "Banisher of the Light"/"Banisher of the Radiance"/etc and other monsters are destroyed simultaneously by "Dark Hole", then all destroyed monsters and "Dark Hole" are sent to the Graveyard.: Is a monster destroyed by "Dark Hole" removed from play by "Banisher of the Light"?

Crystal Beast: If a face-down "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" etc is destroyed by "Dark Hole"/"Torrential Tribute"/etc, then it cannot be placed in your Spell & Trap Card Zone as a Continuous Spell Card.: When a face-down "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" is destroyed, can it be placed in your Spell & Trap Card Zone as a Continuous Spell Card?

Exodia the Forbidden One: Suppose that two copies of "Sangan" are destroyed simultaneously by "Dark Hole" while both players have four pieces of "Exodia the Forbidden One" in their hands. Both cards' effects activate and form a Chain, with the opponent's "Sangan" as Chain Link 2. Resolving backwards, the opponent adds a piece of "Exodia the Forbidden One" to his hand, causing him to win the Duel.: Who wins the Duel if both players use the effect of "Sangan" to complete "Exodia the Forbidden One"?

Sangan: If each player has a "Sangan" sent to the Graveyard simultaneously by "Dark Hole" etc, the two form a Chain and you resolve backwards. The Turn Player's "Sangan" is Chain Link 1, and the opponent's is Chain Link 2. If each player has four pieces of "Exodia" in his hand, then Chain Link 2 resolves first and the opponent is declared the winner before Chain Link 1 resolves.: If both players' "Sangan"s activate simultaneously and both complete "Exodia the Forbidden One", who is the winner?

The Six Samurai: When all "Six Samurai" monsters (and "Great Shogun Shien") would be destroyed simultaneously by "Torrential Tribute"/"Dark Hole"/etc, you cannot use the substitution effect to destroy another "Six Samurai

Previously Official Rulings

If "
Dark Hole" or "Raigeki" is activated and a monster is face-down, the monster is affected. All monsters are destroyed, regardless of Battle Position.: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS""

Mentions in Other Rulings

Big Shield Gardna: A face-down "Big Shield Gardna" can only negate a Spell Card that targets 1 face-down monster, so it cannot negate"Dark Hole"

Coffin Seller: If multiple monsters are sent to the Graveyard at the same time (due to "Dark Hole", etc.) then inflict 300 damage only because it is considered as 1 time.

Dramatic Rescue: You can activate "Dramatic Rescue" when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted but not when cards like…"Dark Hole" are used.

Fire Princess: If you have a face-up "Fire Princess" and a Set "Poison of the Old Man" when your opponent activates "Dark Hole" you may chain "Poison of the Old Man" to increase your Life Points and the effect of "Fire Princess" will deal 500 damage to your opponent even though she is then destroyed by "Dark Hole", because the effect of "Fire Princess" is a Continuous Effect.

Freed the Matchless General: The effect of this card will not negate"Dark Hole"or similar Spell Cards that do not target.

Heart of Clear Water: A monster equipped with this card can still be destroyed by effects that do not target, such as the effects of"Dark Hole"

Lord of D.: "Lord of D." will NOT stop "Dark Hole"nor will he protect your Dragon-Type monsters from their effects, since these cards affect the whole field and do not select targets.

Maiden of the Aqua: If you have "Maiden of the Aqua" (with her effect active) and "The Legendary Fisherman" or "Deepsea Warrior" on your side of the field, and "Dark Hole" is activated, "The Legendary Fisherman" and "Deepsea Warrior" will not be destroyed.

My Body as a Shield: "My Body as a Shield" will negate cards such as "Dark Hole"

Riryoku Field: This card cannot be used against"Dark Hole" because these cards do not target.

Ryu Senshi: The effect of this card will not negate"Dark Hole"or similar cards that do not target.

Skull Invitation: If "Dark Hole" destroys monsters controlled by both players, the damage from "Skull Invitation" is applied to both players simultaneously.