Cyber Jar


Rock / Effect  DARK / 3
FLIP: Destroy all monsters on the field, then both players reveal the top 5 cards from their Decks, then Special Summon all revealed Level 4 or lower monsters in face-up Attack Position or face-down Defense Position, also add any remaining cards to their hand. (If either player has less than 5 cards in their Deck, reveal as many as possible.)
900/900 
CARD ID: 34124316
STATUS TCG: Limited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Cyber Jar

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN002 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN002 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN007 Mosaic Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN007 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN043 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Kaiba DPKB-EN010 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Hobby League 2 participation card A HL2-EN001 Ultra Parallel Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Magic Ruler MRL-077 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Magic Ruler MRL-E077 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spell Ruler SRL-077 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Spell Ruler SRL-EN077 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card is the first DARK Rock-Type monster.
The anime depicts Cyber Jar's effect as having the Jar's eye open a black hole that sucks in all monsters. Then it self destructs. Although in some episodes, it will instead fire a beam from its eye, destroying all other monsters, before vanishing itself.
This card may have been inspired by the Death Star from the Star Wars franchise, due to similar design.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Chimera the Flying Mythical Beast: If "Chimera the Flying Mythical Beast" is destroyed by "Cyber Jar" you will miss the timing to activate its effect.


OCG Rulings



If the effect of "Cyber Jar" activates while "Dark Simorgh" is on the field, then the effect of "Dark Simorgh" which prevents Setting is no longer applied as soon as "Dark Simorgh" is destroyed. Thus, players may use the effect of "Cyber Jar" to Set monsters. For "Morphing Jar #2", the effect of "Dark Simorgh" is no longer applied as soon as "Dark Simorgh" is returned to the Deck, so the opponent may Set monsters in face-down Defense Position.: Can you use the effect of "Cyber Jar" or "Morphing Jar #2" to Set cards while "Dark Simorgh" is on the field?

When resolving the effects of "Magical Merchant" and "Cyber Jar", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, you send to the Graveyard the card(s) which would be added to your hand.: What happens when the effects of "Magical Merchant" or "Cyber Jar" activate while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?

If the effect of "Cyber Jar" activates while "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is on the field, then "Cyber Jar" will first destroy "Koa'ki Meiru Drago". Then, "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is not on the field, so its effect is not applied, so the monster will be Special Summoned normally. However, if "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is not destroyed by the effect of "Cyber Jar", then LIGHT/DARK monsters to be Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar" will be sent to the Graveyard instead.: Can LIGHT/DARK monsters be Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar" while "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is on the field?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Torrential Tribute: You can activate "Torrential Tribute" even if a monster(s) is Special Summoned face-down by an effect like "The Shallow Grave" or "Cyber Jar

Previously Official Rulings


Spirit monsters, Toon Monsters, Ritual Monsters, etc. are sent to your hand as they cannot be Special Summoned, or must be Special Summoned is{{sic a specific way.

Both players reveal all 5 cards to each other, and then the turn player may Special Summon his monsters, then the opponent. After revealing the cards, you may shuffle them around so you can Special Summon monsters face-down without the opponent knowing which monster is which.

If "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest" was destroyed by "Cyber Jar"’s effect, Special Summon monsters first and then complete "Sangan"’s effect.

If you attacked your opponent’s face-down "Cyber Jar", after its effect resolves you can then attack with any monsters you Special Summoned in Attack Position before you enter your Main Phase 2.

"Torrential Tribute" can be used on monsters Summoned by "Cyber Jar" but not if "Cyber Jar" was flipped face-up in the Damage Step, since "Torrential Tribute" cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

If a player has less than 5 cards in their Deck, they do not lose (since you are picking-up cards, not drawing), they pick up however many cards they have and continue with "Cyber Jar"’s effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

A Legendary Ocean: When the effect of "Cyber Jar" is activated and "A Legendary Ocean" is on the field, you cannot Special Summon Level 5 WATER monsters picked-up by the effect of "Cyber Jar". This is because the effect of "A Legendary Ocean" does not include Monster Cards in the Deck.

Adhesion Trap Hole: When "Cyber Jar" is activated, you may use "Adhesion Trap Hole" against all monsters your opponent Special Summons in face-up Attack Position, but "Adhesion Trap Hole" has no effect on any monsters your opponent Special Summons face-down.

Amazoness Archers: If you activate "Amazoness Archers" during the Battle Phase and your opponent Special Summons another monster afterwards (such as if "Cyber Jar" is flipped), the newly-Summoned monster is not affected by "Amazoness Archers" and does not suffer the -500 ATK reduction nor does it have to attack.

Amazoness Tiger: If you pick up 2 "Amazoness Tigers" with "Cyber Jar", you must place both face-down, or place 1 face-up and 1 face-down.

Ancient Gear Castle: For “Ancient Gear Castle”, “Set” means to Set from the hand. It does not include Special Summoning a monster in face-down Defense Position with “Cyber Jar”

Axe of Despair:" If all your monsters are sent to the Graveyard simultaneously by the effect of "Cyber Jar"and "Axe of Despair" is equipped to one of them, you cannot Tribute one of those monsters to return "Axe of Despair" to the top of your Deck. You also cannot Tribute one of the monsters Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar" since the timing has passed.

Bottomless Trap Hole:" If "Cyber Jar" is flipped during a Main Phase, and the opponent Special Summons "Dark Blade", "Luster Dragon", "Magical Scientist" and a face-down monster, you can activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" and both "Luster Dragon" and "Dark Blade" will be removed from play. The "Magical Scientist", face-down monster, and all monsters you Summoned will remain on the field.

Bottomless Trap Hole:" If "Cyber Jar" is flipped as a result of being attacked, you cannot activate "Bottomless Trap Hole" because it cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

Chain Energy:" "Chain Energy" applies only to cards played or Set from your hand, not cards that are activated when already Set on the field, or to cards placed onto the field by effects like "Cyber Jar"s Flip Effect.

D.D. Trap Hole:" If your opponent Sets more than 1 monster simultaneously, as with "Cyber Jar", you cannot activate "D.D. Trap Hole". You can only activate it when your opponent Sets 1 (and only 1) monster

Dark Magic Curtain: If the effect of “Cyber Jar” activates during the same turn you activated “Dark Magic Curtain”, you will not be able to Special Summon the Level 4 or lower monsters that you pick up from “Cyber Jar's” effect. The Level 4 or lower monsters that you pick up will be sent to the Graveyard instead of being Special Summoned.

Dark Magician of Chaos:" If "Dark Magician of Chaos" attacks a face-down"Cyber Jar", the Jar is removed from play but its effect is activated.

Gradius' Option:"If you pick up "Gradius' Option" by the effect of "Cyber Jar" you cannot Special Summon it, even if "Gradius" is also in the 5 cards you picked up. It is placed in your hand instead.

Guard Dog:" If your "Guard Dog's" Flip Effect resolves, and then later "Cyber Jar" is flipped face-up, your opponent will not be able to Special Summon any of the monsters they pick up, and any monsters that would normally be Special Summoned will be destroyed instead.

Guardian Angel Joan:" When "Guardian Angel Joan" attacks "Cyber Jar", "Guardian Angel Joan"s effect is not activated because she is destroyed before "Cyber Jar" is sent to the Graveyard.

Guardian: If "Cyber Jar" resolves and you pick up "Guardian Elma" without "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" on your side of the field, "Guardian Elma" is added to your hand.

Horn of Heaven: "Horn of Heaven" cannot be used to negate a Special Summon that results from a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster Card. You cannot use "Horn of Heaven" to negate a Special Summon from "Cyber Jar", .

Inferno:" If "Inferno" attacks a face-down "Cyber Jar", "Inferno" is destroyed by the effect of "Cyber Jar" and "Inferno"s effect is not activated.

Jam Breeding Machine:" If the effect of "Cyber Jar" is activated when you have this card active on your side of the field, monsters that you pick up which could normally be Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar" are destroyed instead. Other monsters, such as Level 5 and above monsters, and monsters that can only be Special Summoned, are still added to your hand.

Jowgen the Spiritualist:" If "Jowgen the Spiritualist" is Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar", all monsters that are Special Summoned by that "Cyber Jar" are Summoned successfully.

Kaiser Colosseum:" When "Kaiser Colosseum" is active, and "Cyber Jar" is activated, if your opponent would control more monsters than you, your opponent has to destroy monsters equal to the difference; the excess monsters are never actually Summoned and instead are sent from the Deck to the Graveyard (so "Witch of the Black Forest" does not get its effect, etc.). So the monsters are destroyed after they are picked up, but before any monsters are Special Summoned for the effect of "Cyber Jar".

King Tiger Wanghu:" When "King Tiger Wanghu" is Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar", other monsters with ATK 1400 or less that are Special Summoned by the same "Cyber Jar" are destroyed if they are Special Summoned in face-up Attack Position.

King Tiger Wanghu:" If "King Tiger Wanghu" is Normal Summoned or Special Summoned, and its own ATK is reduced below 1400 by a pre-existing effect, then it destroys itself when Summoned. (Example: "King Tiger Wanghu" and "Bladefly" are Special Summoned simultaneously by "Cyber Jar". "King Tiger Wanghu"s ATK is 1300, and it is destroyed by its own effect (and "Bladefly" is also destroyed by "King Tiger Wanghu"s effect).

Legacy Hunter:" If "Legacy Hunter" attacks a face-down"Cyber Jar", "Legacy Hunter"s effect is not applied because "Legacy Hunter"s effect activates when the monster he destroyed is sent to the Graveyard, and "Legacy Hunter" will no longer be on the field in these instances.

Lesser Fiend:" This card does not negate the effects of monsters it destroys as a result of battle, so a Flip Effect like "Cyber Jar"will still be activated. "Cyber Jar" would still be removed from play in this example, since damage calculation occurs normally.

Light of Intervention:" While this card is on the field, if a monster would be Special Summoned in face-down Defense Position (such as with "Cyber Jar"), it is instead Special Summoned in face-up Defense Position.

My Body as a Shield:" "My Body as a Shield" will negate cards such as "Cyber Jar"

My Body as a Shield:" You cannot activate "My Body as a Shield" during the Damage Step, so you cannot use it against"Cyber Jar" flipped by an attack, but you can use it when these monsters are Flip Summoned.

Non Aggression Area:" If your opponent Flip Summons "Cyber JarNon-Aggression AreaSpecial Summon, the cards he would normally Summon that were picked up are destroyed. All the cards picked up with "Cyber Jar" that would not normally be Special Summoned (such as high-level monsters, Spell and Trap Cards, and monsters that are Special Summon-only) remain in the hand and are not destroyed.

Peten the Dark Clown:" If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed by "Cyber Jar", the last thing that happened was that monsters were Summoned to the field, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

Pharaoh's Treasure:" If you pick up a face-up "Pharaoh's Treasure" because of "Cyber Jar", this is not drawing so the effect is not activated; you may Set the "Pharaoh's Treasure" you picked up and activate it again (placing it back into your Deck, etc.).

Prohibition: If a declared Monster Card is Special Summoned face-down (by "Cyber Jar", etc.), when it is flipped face-up its effects are not applied. If it has a Flip Effect, the Flip Effect does not activate.

Prohibition: A Level 4 or lower Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" can be Special Summoned by "Cyber Jar", but it "cannot be used" so its effects are not applied and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually.

Rivalry of Warlordsdestroy monsters to make it 1 Type.Monsters sent to the Graveyard by "Rivalry of Warlords" due to their Type are not destroyed.

Royal Oppression:" Example 2: If "Cyber Jar" is Flip Summoned and its Flip Effect activates, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" in a chain to the Flip Effect. The effect of "Cyber Jar" is negated, no monsters on the field are destroyed by its effect, no cards are picked up, no monsters are Special Summoned, and "Cyber Jar" is destroyed by the effect of "Royal Oppression".

Royal Oppression:" The effects of face-up Trap Cards cannot be activated during the Damage Step, so this card's effect cannot negate the Special Summoning of a monster by the effect of"Cyber Jar" flipped face-up by an attack.

Royal Oppression:" You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate an effect thatSummons multiple monsterslike "Cyber Jar"

Scapegoat:" If the effect of "Cyber Jar" is activated during the turn you already activated "Scapegoat" all monsters that could be Special Summoned will be sent to the Graveyard.

Scapegoat:" If you have already Summoned a monster, including a Special Summon caused by the effect of your opponent's "Cyber Jar" you cannot activate "Scapegoat".

Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower:" If "Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower" and several other Zombie-Type monsters are Special Summoned simultaneously (with "Cyber Jar"), that Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower's effect is not applied.

Spatial Collapse:" When "Cyber Jar" is activated while "Spatial Collapse" is active, if the number of cards exceeds 5, each player selects cards to send to the Graveyard to make the number 5.

Spirit Reaper:" "Spirit Reaper" has a special effect for when it isn't destroyed (as a result of battle), and a special effect for an extra reason to destroy it (when targeted by an effect). But it can still be destroyed by all other normal effects that would destroy a monster: "Cyber Jar"

Thunder Nyan Nyan:" You can Special Summon "Thunder Nyan Nyan" with the effect of "Cyber Jar" but if you Summon another non-LIGHT monster face-up she will be destroyed.

Torrential Tribute:" "Torrential Tribute" can be activated after a monster is Summoned through another card's effect, such as"Cyber Jar" (if Flip Summoned)

Torrential Tribute:" "Torrential Tribute" cannot be activated during the Damage Step. This prohibits "Torrential Tribute" from being used against "Cyber Jar"that is flipped face-up by an attack.

Trap Monster:" If you pick up “Embodiment of Apophis” for “Cyber Jar”, it is added to your hand.