Ceasefire


  Normal / Trap
If a face-down Defense Position monster or an Effect Monster is on the field: Change all face-down Defense Position monsters on the field to face-up Defense Position (Flip monsters' effects are not activated at this time), also inflict 500 damage to your opponent for each Effect Monster on the field. 
CARD ID: 36468556
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Ceasefire

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Astral Pack Six AP06-EN026 Common0.05€0.26€0.28€
Champion Pack: Game Two CP02-EN014 Common0.15€0.49€0.55€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN083 Super Rare0.18€0.53€0.54€
Machina Mayhem Structure Deck SDMM-EN035 Common0.02€0.19€0.18€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-030 Ultra Rare0.35€2.61€3.73€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-E030 Ultra Rare0.35€2.61€3.73€
Pharaoh's Servant PSV-EN030 Ultra Rare0.35€2.61€3.73€
Premium Gold: Return of the Bling PGL2-EN062 Gold Rare0.05€0.27€0.24€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN009 Rare0.20€0.45€0.45€
Starter Deck: Yuya YS16-EN034 Common0.02€0.12€0.14€
Structure Deck: Dragon's Roar SD1-EN022 Common0.02€0.13€0.16€

Card Trivia

 The man in the green robes in this card's artwork also appears in the artwork of Forced Ceasefire.
This card appears in the artwork of Chain Close.
This card has a counterpart: The Spell Absorbing Life.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Dragon Knight Draco-Equiste: If both players control "Dragon Knight Draco-Equiste" and you activate "Ceasefire", you will take the damage from your "Ceasefire".

Machina Sniper: If a face-down “Machina” monster is attacked while “Machina Sniper” is on the field, but the monster is flipped face-up by “Ceasefire” before the Damage Step, the attack is cancelled because of “Machina Sniper’s” effect.


OCG Rulings



This card can be activated if there is a face-down Defense Position monster or a face-up Effect Monster on the field:: Ceasefire

This card does not target.

This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

"Change all face-down Defense Position monsters on the field to face-up Defense Position (Flip monsters' effects are not activated at this time)" and "inflict 500 damage to your opponent for each Effect Monster on the field." are considered to happen simultaneously.

If "Alligator's Sword Dragon" attacks directly, and your opponent activates "Ceasefire" and causes a non-EARTH/WATER/FIRE monster to be flipped face-up, then "Alligator's Sword Dragon" cannot attack directly and a replay occurs.: When "Alligator's Sword Dragon" attacks and "Ceasefire" makes a monster face-up, does a Replay occur?

A Flip Effect Monster is an Effect Monster with "FLIP:" in its text. "Nightmare Penguin" and "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" lack this text, so they are not Flip Effect Monsters. Thus, when a face-down "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" is flipped by "Ceasefire", its effect will activate.: Is "Fossil Dyna Pachycephalo" a Flip Effect Monster?

"Mecha Bunny"s first effect will trigger when it is flipped by "Ceasefire".: Is "Mecha Bunny" a Flip Effect Monster?

"If this card is flipped face-up" effects of Flip monsters are not activated when they are flipped face-up by this card's effect. Since the effect of "Worm Linx" does not start a Chain Link when it is flipped face-up, after it is flipped face-up by "Ceasefire", its effect can be activated during each End Phase.: When "Worm Linx" is flipped by the effect of "Ceasefire", does the drawing effect activate during the End Phase?

If "Junk Collector" is the only monster on the field, then you cannot remove from play "Ceasefire" to activate its effect; if you did, then there would be no monsters on the field after activation, so the damage-inflicting effect cannot be applied. Likewise, if "Junk Collector" is Summoned and is the only monster on the field, then you cannot remove from play "Torrential Tribute

Previously Official Rulings


"
Ceasefire" can be activated if there is at least 1 face-down Defense Position monster and/or at least 1 face-up Effect Monster.

Monsters flipped by "Ceasefire" are not Flip Summoned, so the effect of "Mysterious Puppeteer" does not activate.

If you chain "Ceasefire" to the Flip Effect of a monster, the Flip Effect is not negated.

If "Jinzo" is flipped by "Ceasefire", the damage from "Ceasefire's" effect is still inflicted.

Monster Tokens and monsters being treated as Equip Cards are not counted as Effect Monsters.

Mentions in Other Rulings

8-Claws Scorpion: The effect of "8-Claws Scorpion" is a Trigger Effect that is applied if the condition is correct on activation ("8-Claws Scorpion" declared an attack against a face-down Defense Position monster.) The target monster does not have to be in face-down Defense Position when the effect of "8-Claws Scorpion" is resolved. So if "Ceasefire" flips the monster face-up, "8-Claws Scorpion" still gets its 2400 ATK.

Barrel Behind the Door: You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against effects if you don't know for certain that they will inflict damage when the effect is activated. So you cannot activate it against "Dice Jar", "Judgment of Anubis", "Time Wizard" or "Ante". Your{{sic cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Ceasefire" if all monsters on the field are face-down, or if all monsters on the field are face-up Normal Monsters, but you can activate it against "Ceasefire" if there is at least 1 face-up Effect Monster on the field.

Batteryman Micro-Cell: If "Batteryman Micro-Cell" is flipped face-up with "Ceasefire", etc., you will still draw 1 card when it is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard.

Blindly Loyal Goblin: If your opponent tries to use "Change of Heart" on your face-down "Blindly Loyal Goblin", and you chain "Ceasefire" to flip it face-up, the effect of "Change of Heart" is negated.

Byser Shock: A Trap Card like "Ceasefire" that is chained to the activation of "Byser Shock"s effect is not returned to the hand.

D.D. Trap Hole: "Set", as an adjective (as in the second sentence of "D.D. Trap Hole"), means a face-down monster. So if "Ceasefire" is chained to "D.D. Trap Hole", the effect of "D.D. Trap Hole" disappears because the opponent's monster is no longer Set.

Embodiment of Apophis: "Embodiment of Apophis" is considered a Normal Monster. It does not inflict damage for "Ceasefire". You can use "Delta Attacker" if you have 3 "Embodiment of Apophis" monsters. You can Tribute "Embodiment of Apophis" for "Sword of the Soul-Eater" while it is a monster.

Gora Turtle of Illusion: When your opponent activates a Spell Card that targets a face-down "Gora Turtle of Illusion" as a target, and "Ceasefire" is activated as a chain, "Gora Turtle of Illusion" is flipped face-up and the Spell Card's effect is negated.

Granmarg the Rock Monarch: As with most targeting effects that have specific conditions, if the targeted card is flipped face-up in a chain (for example, if it is a monster and "Ceasefire" is activated, or if it is a Trap Card and is chained to the effect of "Granmarg the Rock Monarch"), then the effect of "Granmarg the Rock Monarch" disappears.

Last Turn: Suppose that "Ceasefire" is activated (Chain Link 1), and "Last Turn" is chained to it (Chain Link 2). In this case, "Last Turn" resolves first, the activating player selects 1 monster on their side of the field, and all other cards are sent to the Graveyard. Then resolve the effect of "Ceasefire" (Chain Link 1). After "Ceasefire" resolves, the turn player Special Summons a monster for "Last Turn", then the special Battle Phase occurs, then in the End Phase the victory check is applied. This is an example of how the special nature of "Last Turn" works: the only thing that happens when "Last Turn" resolves is to select 1 monster and send all other cards to the Graveyard.

Legacy Hunter: The monster that "Legacy Hunter" attacks must be face-down at the start of the Damage Step for "Legacy Hunter's" effect to activate. So if "Legacy Hunter" attacks a face-down Defense Position monster and your opponent activates "Ceasefire" to flip the monster face-up, "Legacy Hunter's" effect is NOT applied. Also, if "Legacy Hunter" attacks a face-up monster and "Book of Moon" flips it face-down, "Legacy Hunter's" effect DOES apply.

Marshmallon Glasses: While you control a face-down “Marshmallon” and a face-up “Marshmallon Glasses”, if your opponent declares an attack against a monster other than “Marshmallon” and you activate “Ceasefire”, your opponent’s monster will still attack its original intended target because the attack has already been declared.

Mystic Swordsman LV6: If "Mystic Swordsman LV6" attacks a face-down monster, its effect activates at the beginning of the Damage Step, before the monster is flipped face-up. If "Ceasefire" was activated during the Battle Step to flip the monster face-up, then the effect of "Mystic Swordsman LV6" is not activated.

Ninja Grandmaster Sasuke: If "Ninja Grandmaster Sasuke" attacks a face-down Defense Position monster, and "Ceasefire" is activated during the Battle Step, the monster is face-up at the start of the Damage Step so it will be destroyed by "Ninja Grandmaster Sasuke"s effect.

Pandemonium Watchbear: When your "Pandemonium" is going to be destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon", you can chain "Ceasefire" to flip your "Pandemonium Watchbear" face-up, and "Pandemonium" will not be destroyed.

Sasuke Samurai: If "Sasuke Samurai" attacks a face-down monster, and "Ceasefire" is activated during the Battle Step to flip it face-up, "Sasuke Samurai" does not destroy it with its effect and damage calculation is applied normally. The monster must be face-down at the beginning of the Damage Step in order for "Sasuke Samurai" to activate its effect.

The Spell Absorbing Life: The "Spell Absorbing Life" is like "Ceasefire" except it gives you Life Points instead of damaging your opponent.