Book of Life

  Normal / Spell
Target 1 Zombie monster in your GY and 1 monster in your opponent's GY; Special Summon the first target, also banish the second target. 
CARD ID: 02204140
Powered by
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Book of Life


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN145 Common0.02€0.19€0.16€
Battle Pack 3: Monster League BP03-EN145 Shatterfoil Rare0.35€0.82€0.96€
Dark Beginning 2 DB2-EN230 Super Rare0.65€1.14€0.98€
Duelist League 17 participation cards DL17-EN014 Rare0.85€-,--€1.39€
Gold Series: Haunted Mine GLD5-EN039 Common0.02€0.40€0.28€
Legendary Collection 4: Joey's World Mega Pack LCJW-EN211 Ultra Rare0.50€2.04€2.07€
OTS Tournament Pack 7 OP07-EN017 Common0.02€0.23€0.29€
Pharaonic Guardian PGD-033 Super Rare1.00€2.45€3.18€
Speed Duel: Scars of Battle SBSC-EN012 Ultra Rare5.55€6.96€6.50€
Structure Deck: Zombie Horde SR07-EN027 Common0.02€0.22€0.16€
Structure Deck: Zombie Madness SD2-EN021 Common0.02€0.16€0.19€
Tournament Pack 5 TP5-EN008 Rare0.50€0.74€0.97€
Zombie World Structure Deck SDZW-EN023 Common0.02€0.29€0.21€

Card Trivia

 This card is a reference to the real ancient Egyptian book, the Book of the Dead. This book supposedly helped people in their journey to the after-life. Thus, this card being the Book of Life would similarly help people return to the world of the living.
This card has three other counterparts:
Book of Taiyou, Book of Moon and Book of Eclipse". This is the only card out of the four that does not change the battle position of monsters. This card is also the only one with effect that affects only one specific Type - in this case, Zombie.


OCG Rulings

You cannot activate "Book of Life" if there are (1) no monsters in your opponent's Graveyard and/or (2) no Zombie-Type monster in your Graveyard.: Spell Card > Book of Life

The effects targets the two Monsters.

If "Imperial Iron Wall" is active, "Book of Life" cannot be activated. If "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained to "Book of Life", then the Zombie-Type monster will still be Special Summoned, but the other monster will remain in the Graveyard.: While "Imperial Iron Wall" is active, can you Special Summon a monster with "Boof of Life"?

If the Zombie-Type monster targeted by an effect like "Book of Life" or "Mezuki" or "Zombie Master" is not a Zombie-Type monster at resolution - for example, "Mystical Space Typhoon" was chained and destroyed "Zombie World" - then the effect which Special Summons the monster from the Graveyard is not applied. Also, for "Book of Life", its effect which removes from play one card in your opponent's Graveyard is still applied.: When resolving the effect of "Book of Moon

Previously Official Rulings

You cannot activate "
Book of Life" if there is no monster in the Graveyard to remove from play.

You cannot activate "Book of Life" if your opponent controls "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer".

If you activate "Book of Life" and your opponent chains "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer", you still get to Special Summon 1 Zombie with Book of Life's effect (but do not remove 1 monster from your opponent’s Graveyard).

Judge List Rulings

Removing from play the opponent's monster is not a cost. The effect targets two monsters.: Book of Life Question

If an effect is chained to the activation of "Book of Life" and removes the targeted Zombie-type monster in your Graveyard, the other targeted monster in your opponent's graveyard is still removed from play and you can't choose another target. If an effect is chained to the activation of "Book of Life" and removes your opponent's targeted monster in their Graveyard, you will still Special Summon the targeted Zombie-type monster in your Graveyard, but you cannot remove from play a different monster.: Book of Life Resolution Issue

Mentions in Other Rulings

Imperial Iron Wall: "Book of Life" cannot be activated while "Imperial Iron Wall" is active. If "Book of Life" is activated and "Imperial Iron Wall" is chained, the Zombie-Type monster is Special Summoned, but the opponent's monster is not removed from play.

Necrovalley: If "Necrovalley" is active, neither player may activate "Book of Life".