Black Rose Dragon


Dragon / Synchro / Effect  FIRE / 7
1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
When this card is Synchro Summoned: You can destroy all cards on the field. Once per turn: You can banish 1 Plant-Type monster from your Graveyard, then target 1 Defense Position monster your opponent controls; change that target to face-up Attack Position, and if you do, its ATK becomes 0 until the end of this turn.

2400/1800 
CARD ID: 73580471
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Black Rose Dragon

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Collectible Tins 2008 Wave 2 CT05-EN003 Secret Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Crossroads of Chaos CSOC-EN039 Ghost Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Crossroads of Chaos CSOC-EN039 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Crossroads of Chaos CSOC-EN039 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN077 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 5D's LC05-EN004 Ultra Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 5D's Mega Pack LC5D-EN099 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Premium Gold: Infinite Gold PGL3-EN059 Gold Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This monster is the cover card for Crossroads of Chaos.
This is the only card that was reprinted two times with DUEL TERMINAL written on it without actually being in one of the Duel Terminal sets.
This card was the first of the Signer Dragons to be Limited on September 1, 2009.  It went back to Unlimited one year later.
This monster's name appears to contradict its appearance, given that the roses which adorn this dragon's body are red rather than black. However, when one examines the name more closely, one notices that this monster's skin is actually black in color, and the name can be taken as a more literal description of this monster's nature.
To elaborate: Because the name says that this is a Black Rose Dragon, it is assumed that it is a dragon of black roses and thus the name does not adequately describe the appearance. However, it actually means that this is a Black Rose Dragon – a black-colored variety of a species of dragon that adorns its body with roses – which is an accurate description of the monster.
This card is the first of the
Signer Dragons whose effect relates to a specific Type, as well as the first to have a specific support card (in this case, Thorn of Malice).
This card is the first of the
Signer Dragons to be Level 7 instead of 8, as opposed to Stardust Dragon, Life Stream Dragon, Red Dragon Archfiend and Black-Winged Dragon. Ancient Fairy Dragon would later follow.
All male Signers have Level 8
Signer Dragons, while both female Signers' Dragons are Level 7.
Just like
Stardust Dragon has a younger counterpart in Debris Dragon, this monster also has a younger counterpart, Blue Rose Dragon.
This card has the lowest combined ATK and DEF out of all
Signer Dragon monsters.
In the anime, this card,
Red Dragon Archfiend, and Life Stream Dragon are the only Signer Dragons that have not been absorbed by any of the Meklord monsters at least once.
This card is notably the only
Signer Dragon to never be used against any of the Meklord monsters at least once. This is because Akiza never battled any of Aporia's embodiments or Aporia himself.
This card has been the featured card of an anime episode 4 times, more than any others.
This card has a
Duel Dragon counterpart: Black Rose Moonlight Dragon.
This card's effects mirror Akiza's initial personality.
This is one of four
Signer Dragons that technically never got an upgrade throughout the Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's series; the other three being Ancient Fairy Dragon, Black-Winged Dragon, and Life Stream Dragon".

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Supervise: If you send a monster equipped with “Supervise” to the Graveyard as a Synchro Material Monster for “Black Rose Dragon” you can activate the effect of that Synchro Monster in a Chain with the effect of “Supervise.” The mandatory effect of “Supervise

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
If a
Synchro Monster with an Optional Trigger Effect like "Black Rose Dragon" or "Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" is Synchro Summoned in the middle of a Chain by an effect like "Formula Synchron" (as Chain Link 2 or higher), then the effects of "Black Rose Dragon" or "Trishula, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" will miss the timing.: Formula Synchron to Black Rose Dragon

Blue Rose Dragon: If the "Black Rose Dragon" was not properly Synchro Summoned initially, you will not be able to Special Summon it with the effect of "Blue Rose Dragon".
Example: If the Synchro Summon of "Black Rose Dragon" was negated by "Solemn Judgment", it cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with cards like "Monster Reborn", "Blue Rose Dragon", and "Call of the Haunted".: Blue Rose Dragon

Solemn Warning: "Solemn Warning" does not have the same activation timing as Trigger Effects that activate after a monster is Summoned ("Swift Birdman Joe", "Black Rose Dragon", etc) or Trigger Effects that activate when the monster is sent to the Graveyard as a Tribute for a Tribute Summon or used as Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon ("Dandylion", "Reborn Tengu", etc). Those effects do not activate in the middle of the Summon, they must wait until after the Summon is either successful or negated before they can activate.: Solemn Warning VS Summon and Effect That Summons



OCG Rulings



When this card is Synchro Summoned, its effect also destroys itself.: Synchro Monster > Black Rose Dragon: For the effect of "Black Rose Dragon" which destroys all cards on the field, is "Black Rose Dragon" also destroyed?

Removing from play 1 Plant-Type monster is a cost to change a monster to ATK mode and make its ATK 0. This effect targets the opponent's monster.

If the monster targeted by "Black Rose Dragon"s effect is changed to Attack Position by "Final Attack Orders", then you do not reduce the monster's ATK to 0.: When resolving "Black Rose Dragon"s effect, if the monster is in Attack Position, is the monster's ATK reduced to 0?

After the Monster's ATK has been reduced to 0 by "Black Rose Dragon"s effect, its ATK may be changed normally.: When a monster's ATK has been reduced to 0 by "Black Rose Dragon", does it continue to be 0 even if its ATK is increased?
Example: If "Rush Recklessly" is later activated, the monster's ATK will be 700.

You can target a face-down monster with "Black Rose Dragon"s effect. If the monster has a Flip Effect, then the effect begins a new chain after "Black Rose Dragon"s effect resolves.: Can a face-down monster be selected as a target of "Black Rose Dragon"s effect?

If "Sangan"/"Goblin Zombie"/etc are used for a Synchro Summon, then their effects are mandatory, and must activate as soon as the Synchro Summon is successful.: When "Goblin Zombie" is used as a Synchro Material for "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Boundary", can its Ignition Effect be activated at the time of its successful Synchro Summon?
If "Goblin Zombie"/etc is used for the Synchro Summon" of a monster with an optional Trigger Effect like "Black Rose Dragon", then the mandatory effect of "Goblin Zombie" must activate as Chain Link 1 and the effect of "Black Rose Dragon" may be activated as Chain Link 2.

If a Gemini Monster which is equipped with "Supervise" is used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon, then the mandatory effect of "Supervise" activates as soon as the Synchro Summon is successful.: Can the Ignition Effect of "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier" be activated when one of the Synchro Material Monsters for the Synchro Summon is equipped with "Supervise"?
If "Black Rose Dragon" is Synchro Summoned, then the optional effect of "Black Rose Dragon" can activate in addition to the effect of "Supervise". The mandatory effect of "Supervise" will be Chain Link 1, and then the optional effect of "Black Rose Dragon" can be activated as Chain Link 2.

If "Zombie World" or "DNA Surgery", ect, is face-up on the field and makes all monsters on the field Zombie-Type, and the effect of "Archfiend Zombie-Skull" is applied that prevents the Zombie-Type monsters from being destroyed by card effects, then when "Black Rose Dragon" is Synchro Summon{{SpanArchfiend Zombie-Skull" and "Zombie World" would be destroyed simultaneously, "Black Rose Dragon" still treated as a Zombie-Type: If "Zombie World" and "Archfiend Zombie-Skull" are on the field, is "Black Rose Dragon" destroyed by its own effect?


Previously Official Rulings


Removing 1
Plant-Type monster in your Graveyard from play is a cost.

"Black Rose Dragon's" second effect targets 1 monster your opponent controls.

If the monster targeted by "Black Rose Dragon's" second effect is not changed to Attack Position by "Black Rose Dragon's" effect, its ATK is not reduced to 0.

If you target a face-down Defense Position monster, its Flip Effect will activate after "Black Rose Dragon's" effect resolves.

After a monster's ATK is reduced to 0 by "Black Rose Dragon's" second effect, if another effect increases its ATK it will be applied to the 0 ATK.

If "Black Rose Dragon" activates its first effect, it is also destroyed.