Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning


Warrior / Effect  LIGHT / 8
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard. Once per turn, you can activate 1 of these effects.
● Target 1 monster on the field; banish that target face-up. This card cannot attack the turn this effect is activated.
● If this attacking card destroys an opponent's monster by battle, after damage calculation: It can make a second attack in a row.

3000/2500 
CARD ID: 72989439
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
2013 Collectible Tins Wave 1 CT10-EN005 Super Rare6.99€9.18€9.44€
Dark Revelation Volume 2 DR2-EN025 Ultra Rare29.99€34.00€22.51€
Duelist Saga DUSA-EN053 Ultra Rare8.99€12.46€12.50€
Gold Series 4: Pyramids Edition GLD4-EN013 Gold Rare9.97€11.49€11.80€
Invasion of Chaos IOC-025 Ultra Rare14.99€27.53€26.82€
Invasion of Chaos IOC-EN025 Ultra Rare14.99€27.53€26.82€
Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World Mega Pack LCYW-EN025 Secret Rare25.00€29.86€29.39€
Master Collection Volume 2 MC2-EN004 Secret Rare34.00€33.10€33.25€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN085 Gold Rare8.70€10.86€11.21€
Yugi's Legendary Decks YGLD-ENA02 Common6.00€8.21€7.71€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artwork of Primal Seed.
This card appears in the artwork of E☆HERO Pit Boss.
This card is a retrained version of Black Luster Soldier. It also has a counterpart: Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Evening Twilight and a younger counterpart, Beginning Knight.
This card was Forbidden for twelve formats before becoming Limited once more, which was the most of any card (surpassing Dark Holes nine). It shared this distinction with Tsukuyomi, although both were surpassed by Magician of Faiths thirteen in the TCG and Cyber-Steins sixteen in the OCG.
This is one of the cover cards for Dark Revelation Volume 2.
Both this card and Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End, have less powerful versions of themselves known as the Sky Scourges, Sky Scourge Enrise and Sky Scourge Norleras respectively. The Sky Scourges have similar effects and Summoning requirements to the Envoys as well, although the banishment of monsters from the Graveyard is both Type- and Attribute-specific.
Black Luster Soldier and Magician of Black Chaos, the cards that this card and Dark Magician of Chaos are derived from, are used in Yugi's Deck during the events of Yu-Gi-Oh!. Oddly enough, they seemed to be replaced by this card and Dark Magician of Chaos, as seen when Dimitri Duels Jaden Yuki with Yugi's Deck in Yu-Gi-Oh! GX.
Despite the fact that this card (in the Yu-Gi-Oh! GX anime) is so rare it was thought not to exist (as stated during Dimitri's Duel with Jaden Yuki), in episode 49, it is seen in what appears to be Solomon Muto's card shop, being viewed by two kids when Kagemaru begins to absorb Duel Spirits.
This card's artwork is taken from , specifically from the panel showing Dark Yugi with Black Luster Soldier, after said monster destroyed Harpies' Pet Dragon by battle. However, only its upper body is visible, in contrast to this card's artwork.

Rulings

TCG Rulings


Previously Official Rulings

"Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" is treated as a different card from "Black Luster Soldier". So, hypothetically, you can have 3 copies of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" and 3 copies of "Black Luster Soldier" in your Deck & Side Deck combined.

"Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" can remove itself from play using its first effect.

The first effect of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" can be activated during your Main Phase 1 or Main Phase 2. The second effect can be activated during the Damage Step in your Battle Phase, and can be chained to.

If you activate "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"s first effect, and "Skill Drain" is chained to it to negate the effect, or if "Skill Drain" was active before you activated the effect, you cannot attack with "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" that turn because the activation of the effect was not negated and the condition that is included will not be negated by "Skill Drain".

If you use the first effect of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning", then remove him from play and return him to play, or destroy him and Special Summon him again, or flip him face-down then face-up again, you can activate his effect again that same turn.

If "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" attacks, and its attack is negated by "Magic Cylinder" or "Negate Attack", you cannot activate his first effect during Main Phase 2.

When a card is removed from play by "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"s first effect, it is removed from play face-up.

If "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" destroys your opponent's only monster with his first attack, he can attack your opponent directly for the second attack.

If "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" attacks and destroys your opponent's monster, then attacks a second time and destroys another monster, it does not get to attack any more that turn.

Even if you equip him with "Twin Swords of Flashing Light - Tryce", "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" only gets a maximum of 2 attacks.

When "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" conducts a second attack using his second effect, his effect activates during the first attack's Damage Step, and the attack is declared in the next Battle Step. The second attack must come consecutively after the first attack; other monsters' attacks cannot come in-between.

This card cannot be fused with Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon since it has "Envoy of the Beginning" in its name.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Divine Wrath: You can activate "Divine Wrath" when the effect of "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" activates that allows it to attack a second time.

Grave Protector: If "Grave Protector" is on the field when a monster like "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"(with an effect based on when they destroy a monster in battle) battles and destroys a monster, then the "Great Dezard", etc., still gets the reward for destroying the monster even though the destroyed monster was shuffled into the Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard.

Mirror Wall: If a monster attacks twice (over 2 turns, or if "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" attacks twice in a row, etc.), its ATK is still only reduced by half once. So "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" will have 1500 ATK for both of its attacks, for example.

Necrovalley: "Necrovalley" WILL prevent a player from removing cards in the Graveyard from play to Special Summon"Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"

Primal Seed: The required card only needs to be face-up on the field. It does not need to be a Monster Card, so if "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" is equipped to "Relinquished", you can activate "Primal Seed".

Royal Oppression: There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" or "Dark Necrofear". "Royal Oppression" can negate both of these types of Special Summon. In the first case, you chain the activation of "Royal Oppression"s effect to the activation of the Spell, Trap, or Monster Card's effect, and negate the effect. In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment").

The Dark Door: A single monster may still attack more than once while this card is on the field, such as"Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"

The End of Anubis: "The End of Anubis" WILL NOT negate the Special Summon of"Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"

Trap Monster: When "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"Skull Zoma" by battle, it can activate its effect to attack once again.

The Warrior Returning Alive: You may select any Warrior-Type monster to return to your hand, regardless of its Summoning requirements. So you may select a "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" even if it was never properly Summoned.



OCG Rulings



"Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must first be Special Summoned (from your hand) by banishing 1 LIGHT and 1 DARK monster from your Graveyard." is not treated as an effect. (Banishing monsters from the Graveyard and Special Summoning this card are not considered to happen at the same time. This card's Special Summon is performed using the procedure written in its text. Special Summoning this card this way does not start a Chain Link.): Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning

If this card is sent to the Graveyard after being Special Summoned using the procedure written in its text, it can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of "Monster Reborn".

The effect "Target 1 monster on the field; banish that target face-up. This card cannot attack the turn you activate this effect." is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 monster in your opponent's Monster Zone. It cannot be activated during the turn in which "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" already attacked.)

The effect "If this attacking card destroys an opponent's monster by battle, after damage calculation: It can make a second attack in a row." is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. It can be activated at the end of the Damage Step in which "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" destroyed an opponent's monster by battle.)