Barrel Behind the Door


  Counter / Trap
Activate only when a card's effect that would inflict damage to you is activated. Your opponent takes the damage instead. 
CARD ID: 78783370
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Barrel Behind the Door

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Revelation Volume 1 DR1-EN043 Rare0.37€1.00€0.82€
Pharaonic Guardian PGD-095 Super Rare0.99€1.90€2.28€
Retro Pack 2 RP02-EN080 Common0.20€1.37€0.97€

Card Trivia

 Crimson Fire is a specialized, but more powerful version of this card.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Damage Translation: If the effect of “Damage Translation” is being applied and you switch damage you would have taken to your opponent with “Barrel Behind the Door” the damage is halved. (Example: I activate “Damage Translation.” Later in the turn, you activate “Ookazi” and I Chain with “Barrel Behind the Door.” You will only take 400 damage.)

Nightmare Archfiends: When a “Nightmare Archfiend Token” is destroyed, the effect to inflict damage does not start a chain, so cards like “Barrel Behind the Door” cannot be activated.


OCG Rulings



If "Damage Translation" has already resolved, then the damage inflicted by your opponent's "Ookazi" will be halved from 800 to 400 damage. Afterwards, if "Barrel Behind the Door" is activated, the damage will remain at 400, so that 400 damage will be inflicted to your opponent.: How much damage is inflicted when "Barrel Behind the Door" is activated while applying the effect of "Damage Translation"?

"Barrel Behind the Door", "Trap of Board Eraser", and similar cards cannot be activated in Chain to the effect of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card that activates and will inflict damage, such as when a "Wave-Motion Cannon" or "Ominous Fortunetelling" which is already face-up has its effect activate.: Can "Barrel Behind the Door" be activated when you take damage from a Continuous Spell or Trap Card, or from a monster's Continuous Effect?

"Barrel Behind the Door", "Trap of Board Eraser", and similar Counter Trap cards must be activated in Chain to an effect which inflicts damage. If the effect of a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster Card like "Spell Chronicle", "Curse of Darkness", or "Fire Princess" would inflict damage but does not start a Chain, then you cannot activate a card like "Barrel Behind the Door

Previously Official Rulings


"
Barrel Behind the Door" can only be activated against an effect that inflicts damage to YOUR Life Points.

"Barrel Behind the Door" can only be activated against DAMAGE. It cannot be activated against costs like "Imperial Order" or "Wall of Revealing Light". It cannot be activated against effects that cause you to lose Life Points like "The Immortal of Thunder". It cannot be activated against effects that switch damage, like another "Barrel Behind the Door", because they do not inflict damage, they simply transfer it.

You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against a Continuous Spell or Trap Card, an Equip Spell Card, or a Field Spell Card. So you cannot activate it against "Magical Thorn", "Dark Snake Syndrome", "Wave-Motion Cannon", or "Black Pendant".

You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against a Continuous Effect Monster like "Gravekeeper's Vassal" or "Fire Princess" (even if an effect like "Gift of the Mystical Elf" is activated while "Fire Princess" is on the field).

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against Normal and Quick-Play Spell and Trap Cards, such as "Tremendous Fire" or "Attack and Receive".

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against Trigger Effects like "Lava Golem", "Giant Germ", "Relinquished" (when it inflicts effect damage, since "Barrel Behind the Door" can be activated during the Damage Step because it is a Counter Trap Card),The newest errata of "Relinquished" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its effect to inflict damage is a Continuous Effect and not a Trigger Effect. "Minar" (when discarded), "Parasite Paracide" (when it inflicts effect damage), "Bowganian", "Mushroom Man #2", "Reflect Bounder" (when it is attacked), "Shinato, King of a Higher Plane" (when it attacks and destroys a Defense Position monster and sends it to the Graveyard), "Granadora" (when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard), "Balloon Lizard" (when destroyed), "KA-2 Des Scissors", "Needle Burrower", "Atomic Firefly", "Elephant Statue of Disaster", and "Ameba".

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against Ignition Effects like "Cannon Soldier", "Catapult Turtle", "The Agent of Judgment - Saturn", and "Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End".

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against Flip Effects like "Princess of Tsurugi", "Fire Sorcerer", "Needle Ball", "Des Koala", and "Lady Assailant of Flames".

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Jigen Bakudan". You don't activate "Barrel Behind the Door" when the Flip Effect activates, you activate "Barrel Behind the Door" when "Jigen Bakudan" activates its effect during the next Standby Phase to inflict damage.

"Barrel Behind the Door" cannot be activated against cards that do not inflict damage when the card resolves, such as "Graverobber", which inflicts damage later.

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Ring of Destruction", and then your opponent will take all of the damage (the damage inflicted to him and the damage that would have been inflicted to you). The same is true for "Tremendous Fire".

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Magic Cylinder". The attack will be negated and the damage transferred to the opponent.

You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against effects if you don’t know for certain that they will inflict damage when the effect is activated. So you cannot activate it against "Dice Jar", "Judgment of Anubis", "Time Wizard" or "Ante". Your{{sic cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Ceasefire" if all monsters on the field are face-down, or if all monsters on the field are face-up Normal Monsters, but you can activate it against "Ceasefire" if there is at least 1 face-up Effect Monster on the field.

You can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" during the Damage Step against appropriate effects, such as "Princess of Tsurugi", because it is a Counter Trap.

Remember that the effects that Counter Traps are chained to must immediately precede them in the chain. So if you activate "Ring of Destruction", and intend to chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to it, if your opponent chains something in-between (even an unrelated effect like "Jar of Greed"), then you cannot chain "Barrel Behind the Door" because "Ring of Destruction" is no longer the preceding step in the chain.

If one player’s "Giant Germ" attacks another "Giant Germ" so that both effects activating during the Damage Step, they form a chain. If both players control "Barrel Behind the Door, only 1 player can chain theirs. The turn player will be able to chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to the opponent's "Giant Germ" because it is Step 2 of the chain.

If "Bad Reaction to Simochi" is active, you can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against effects that would normally cause a Life Point increase, because they inflict damage instead.

If you re-direct damage to your opponent using "Barrel Behind the Door", and you have "Dark Room of Nightmare" on the field, then "Dark Room of Nightmare" inflicts 300 more damage.

For effects like "Princess of Tsurugi"{{sic "Thunder Crash", and "Restructer Revolution", where damage is added up, "Barrel Behind the Door" re-directs the entire sum of damage.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Abare Ushioni: You cannot chain “Barrel Behind the Door” to the effect of “Abare Ushioni” because you don’t know yet if you will take damage or not from the effect.

Amazoness Swords Woman"Amazoness Swordswoman"s effect is activated is Battle Damage, so the opponent cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door".

Ancient Gear Cannon: The restriction on Trap Cards is tied to “Ancient Gear Cannon” inflicting damage. If “Barrel Behind the Door” is chained to the effect of “Ancient Gear Cannon”, the rest of “Ancient Gear Cannon”’s effect is not applied and Trap Cards can still be activated.

Ante: You cannot chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to "Ante" because you don't know for certain whether you will take damage.

Atomic Firefly:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Atomic Firefly"s effect.

Balloon Lizard:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Balloon Lizard"s effect.

Bowganian:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Bowganian"s effect.

Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End:" "Barrel Behind the Door"can be chained to "Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End"s effect. "Barrel Behind the Door" is, itself, sent to the Graveyard by "Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End"s effect and counts for an additional 300 points as a result.

Chthonian Blast:" You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to "Chthonian Blast".

Cyclone Boomerang:" When a monster equipped with "Cyclone Boomerang" is destroyed by a card effect, its effect starts a chain. "Barrel Behind the Door" can be activated in response.

Des Koala:" You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to "Des Koala"s Flip Effect.

Destiny HERO - Diamond Dude:" Since the Spell Card itself is not activated (only its effect is), your opponent cannot chain"Barrel Behind the Door" or any other card that has to be chained to the activation of a Spell Card.

Dora of Fate:" You cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Dora of Fate".

Elephant Statue of Disaster:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against the effect of "Elephant Statue of Disaster".

Falling Down:" You cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door" against the damage from "Falling Down" because you cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door" against a Continuous or Equip Spell Card.

Giant Kozaky:" You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to the Trigger Effect (the damage) of "Giant Kozaky".

Goblin Thief:" You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to "Goblin Thief".

Granadora:" When your "Granadora" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, you can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against the damage.

Grand Convergence:" "Barrel Behind the Door" can be chained to this card.

Gravekeeper's Vassal:" You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against damage inflicted by "Gravekeeper's Vassal" because its effect is a Continuous Effect and you cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against Continuous Effects.

Judgment of Anubis:" You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Judgment of Anubis" because when "Judgment of Anubis" is activated, it has not been confirmed that the damage-inflicting effect will happen.

KA-2 Des Scissors:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "KA-2 Des Scissors" effect.

Marshmallon: “Barrel Behind the Door” can be chained to the effect of “Marshmallon” that inflicts damage.

Mecha-Dog Marron:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against either effect of "Mecha-Dog Marron".

Needle Burrower:" You can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Needle Burrower"s effect.

Oxygeddon:" This card's effect is a Trigger Effect. It can be chained to with "Barrel Behind the Door".

Poison Fangs:" You cannot activate "Barrel Behind the Door" against the damage caused by "Poison Fangs", since it is a Continuous Spell Card.

Power Bond:" You cannot use "Barrel Behind the Door" against the damage from "Power Bond" because the damage happens much later than the activation of the "Power Bond" card.

Rainbow Life: After activating "Rainbow Life", you cannot chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to an effect that would inflict damage to your Life Points because you will gain Life Points instead.

Reflect Bounder:" When your opponent attacks your Attack Position "Reflect Bounder", your opponent can use "Barrel Behind the Door" against "Reflect Bounder"s effect.

Shinato, King of a Higher Plane:" When "Shinato, King of a Higher Plane" destroys a Defense Position monster, your opponent can activate "Barrel Behind the Door" as a chain to "Shinato, King of a Higher Plane"s effect.

Solar Flare Dragon:" You can apply "Barrel Behind the Door" to the effect of "Solar Flare Dragon".

The Agent of Judgment - Saturn:" You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to "The Agent of Judgment - Saturn"s effect.

Winged Kuriboh LV10:" The Multi-Trigger Effect of "Winged Kuriboh LV10" can be chained to. You can chain "Barrel Behind the Door"to the effect.

Zoma the Spirit:" "Barrel Behind the Door" cannot be chained to "Skull Zoma's" effect.