Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins


  Field / Spell
You must have this many "Crystal Beast" cards in your Spell & Trap Zone to activate and to resolve these effects.
● 1+: This card cannot be destroyed by card effects.
● 2+: Once per turn (including the opponent's) you can halve the battle damage you take.
● 3+: When a Spell/Trap Card is activated: You can send 1 "Crystal Beast" monster you control to the GY; negate the activation, and if you do, destroy it.
● 4+: Once per turn, during your Main Phase: You can draw 1 card.
● 5: Once per turn, during your Main Phase: You can target 1 "Crystal Beast" card in your Spell & Trap Zone; Special Summon that target.
 
CARD ID: 34487429
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack Tournament Prize Cards BATT-EN006 Starfoil Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Jesse Anderson DP07-EN017 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Force of the Breaker FOTB-EN045 Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Force of the Breaker FOTB-EN045 Ultimate Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN168 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Legendary Duelists: Season 1 LDS1-EN103 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Ra Yellow Mega Pack RYMP-EN053 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 This card shares the same artwork with Rainbow Bridge, but with a different perspective.
This card's artwork depicts a Colosseum.
This is the only legal Spell Card with a Quick-Like effect.

Rulings




OCG Rulings



The effects of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" can only be activated by its controller. The opponent cannot activate activate its effects.: Can the opponent use the effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins"?

The "2+", "4+", and "5+" effects can each be activated once per turn. (It is not "once per turn, you can activate one effect".): For the once per turn effects of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins", is it a total of once per turn?

When an old Field Spell Card is destroyed when a new one is activated, the old one is not considered to be destroyed by an effect. The "1+" effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" will not prevent it from being destroyed when a new Field Spell Card is activated.: When "Ancient City Rainbow Ruins" cannot be destroyed by a card effect, is it destroyed when the opponent activates a Field Spell Card?

"Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" accumulates the effects. For example, if you have 4 "Crystal Beast" cards in your Spell/Trap Zone, then the "1+", "2+", "3+", and "4+" effect are applied.: Do the effects of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" overlap?

If "Demise, King of Armageddon"/"Heavy Storm"/"Malevolent Catastrophe"/etc would destroy "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" and at least 1 "Crystal Beast" card in your opponent's Spell/Trap Zone, then "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" is not destroyed because of the "Crystal Beast" card.: When "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" cannot be destroyed by its effect, is it destroyed with "Heavy Storm"?

The "3+" effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" is a Spell Speed 2 effect that activates in chain to the Spell/Trap Card. The effect is Spell Speed 2, so it cannot be used against Counter Trap Cards.: Please explain the details of the third effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" which negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card and destroys it.

For the "3+" effect, you have to send a "Crystal Beast" Monster to the Graveyard. You cannot send a "Crystal Beast" Spell Card. This is a cost.

You cannot activate the "3+" effect during the Damage Step.

You can activate the "3+" effect multiple times during the same Chain.

The effect of "Royal Oppression" can be activated neither when "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" is first activated nor when the "3+:" and "4+:" effects are activated. However, "Royal Oppression" can be activated in Chain to the "5+:" effect which Special Summons a monster being treated as a Continuous Spell Card. The "1+:" effect of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" will prevent it from being destroyed, but the effect which Special Summons a "Crystal Beast" monster will be negated.: Can "Royal Oppression" negate the different effects of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" and destroy it?

If the effect of "Ancient Fairy Dragon" does not destroy the Field Spell Card - such as if "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" has its "1+" effect active - then do not resolve the other effects of "Ancient Fairy Dragon

Previously Official Rulings


These effects are cumulative. For example, if you have 4 or more "
Crystal Beast" monsters in your Spell & Trap Card Zone, this card gets all of these effects except the last one.

Only the controller of this card can use these effects.

If this card’s first effect, “This card cannot be destroyed by a card effect.” is active, this card can be targeted by “Mystical Space Typhoon,” etc., but this card will not be destroyed.

If you control this card and have at least 1 “Crystal Beast” in your Spell & Trap Card Zones, and they would all be destroyed at the same time then “Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins” is not destroyed.

This card’s effects are not applied until its activation is resolved. If you have 1 "Crystal Beast" monster in your Spell & Trap Card Zones when you activate this card, and your opponent Chains “Mystical Space Typhoon,” etc., this card will be destroyed.

If “Crystal Beast” monsters in your Spell & Trap Card Zones are destroyed in a Chain to the activation of any of this card’s effects that can be chained to, then this card’s effect is not applied. The correct number of “Crystal Beast” monsters must be in your Spell & Trap Card Zones when the effect resolves.

This card’s effect “Once per turn, you can halve the Battle Damage you take.” does not start a Chain. You choose whether or not to activate it during Damage Calculation, when you would take Battle Damage.

This card’s effect “You can send 1 "Crystal Beast" monster you control to the Graveyard to negate the activation of a Spell or Trap Card and destroy it.” is activated in a Chain to a Spell or Trap Card. It is treated as Spell Speed 2, so you cannot Chain this effect to a Counter-Trap Card. You can activate it multiple times in the same Chain. Sending a “Crystal Beast” monster you control to the Graveyard is a cost to activate this effect.

This card’s effect “Once per turn, during your Main Phase, you can draw 1 card.” starts a Chain. It can only be used once a turn, even if the number of “Crystal Beast” cards in your Spell & Trap Card Zones becomes less than 4, and then becomes 4 or more again after you have used it in a given turn.

This card’s effect “Once per turn, during your Main Phase, you can Special Summon 1 "Crystal Beast" card from your Spell & Trap Card Zone” starts a Chain. It targets 1 “Crystal Beast” card in your Spell & Trap Card Zones.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Field Barrier: This card only prevents the activation of Field Spell Cards themselves. The effects of a Field Spell Card already on the field (like “Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins”) can still be activated while this card is in play.

Last Resort: This card is resolved as follows: First, select 1 “Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins” from your Deck and place it in your Field Spell Card Zone, then your opponent’s Field Spell Card is destroyed and they draw one card.

Last Resort: You can activate “Last Resort” while you have a Field Spell Card in your Field Spell Card Zone. When “Last Resort” resolves, the Field Spell Card in your Field Spell Card Zone is destroyedAccording to the , if you activate a new Field Spell Card to replace another, then the old one is sent to the Graveyard, not destroyed. and “Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins” is placed into your Field Spell Card Zone.

Light and Darkness Dragon: “Light and Darkness Dragon” cannot negate the activation of the Ignition-like effect of Continuous Spell or Trap Cards{{SpanField Spell Cards (“Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins”, etc.). “Light and Darkness Dragon’s” second effect activates when a Spell or Trap Card is first activated (placed face-up onto the field or flipped face-up).

Judge List Rulings

The "3+" effect of this card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.: Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins effect three

A card like "Magic Jammer" can only be chained to "the initial activation" of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins". If "the effect" of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" is activated then "Magic Jammer", ect, cannot be chained.: Ancient city vs negation

If you have "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" face-up on the field and your opponent activates another Field Spell Card you can chain "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins's" third effect to negate the activation of the Field Spell Card and "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" will not be destroyed by game mechanics.: Active Field Card versus Set Field Card

If you activate "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" while you have a face-up "Crystal Beast" card in your Spell & Trap Card Zone and the opponent chains with "Mystical Space Typhoon", then "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" will be destroyed. "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins's" first effect is not applied since "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" hasn't resolved yet, so it does not protect "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" from "Mystical Space Typhoon's" effect.

Out of Date

This card will be destroyed if your opponent plays a Field Spell Card, even if the effect “This card cannot be destroyed by a card effect.” is active.According to the , now both players can have an active Field Spell Card on their field at the same time, so the other player's Field Spell Card will not be destroyed if their opponent plays one.



Out of Date